We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely oasis in Newport”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gnesta B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The B and B has been restored in a very simple, swedish style. Our room was on the first floor and was completely exposed to anyone on the porch or driveway, so I would have chosen a different room. But it was very comfortable and spotless. The swedish style breakfast was delicious too. We ate "family style" with the other guests which was unusual but fun. There is not a lot to do in Newport, but it was a lovely stop on our trip to Quebec.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSarahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThurEdos, Owner at Little Gnesta B & B, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

It should be noted that Little Gnesta is in the city. As such, there are sounds from the street which can enter into the house from time to time. And Are, the room where this reviewer stayed, is on the first floor with windows at the front porch and over the parking area where other guests enter and leave by. However, Little Gnesta only has four rooms and so far our guests have tried to be quiet and considerate of others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 261 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Ruth has restored a lovely home in Newport, VT and made it into an authentic Swedish Guesthouse. This special, clean, spacious B & B has beautiful gardens surrounding the house. Ruth provides a healthful breakfast as well as information on the charming town and environment that is Newport. Check out her web-site to see the accommodations and decide if Little Gnesta is the place for you. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Front room, second floor has fabulous light. Ground floors are easier for carrying luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorinneDugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We took a trip to the Northeast Kingdom to do some bike riding and sight seeing. What a lovely place to land after each day. Lovely Swedish design, sumptuous breakfast, friendly and knowledgeable host. What more could we ask for? Nothing. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyhousewhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As nice as the website and photos are, they cannot capture the overall experience of this lovely
home and gracious innkeeper. The rooms are sublime, each one different and equal in quality. We cannot stress enough the cleanliness and good taste in all things from the furnishings, to the breakfast and the good company we experienced here. As a pleasant and relaxing way station to other destinations, it could not be better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Little Gnesta was a perfect place to stay while visiting nearby Derby Line for a business related trip. Ruth was a very attentive Innkeeper, very flexible regarding my check in time (since it was unpredictable) and offered a very clean, spacious and lovely place to stay. Ruth also made a wonderful recommendation for a place to stop for dinner (the Bee's Knee's in Morrisville) which was enroute as I was driving to the Inn. It was great to have a private bathroom in the room and a very large room (the Umea room) which is not typical of other Inns or hotels. The breakfast was delicious and relaxing which is a perfect way to start the day and not very typical for a business trip! I will definitely stay at Little Gnesta whenever I am in the area again and highly recommend Ruth and her lovely retreat!

Room Tip: The Umea room was very large and had a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Little Gnesta is a real welcoming place. The owner gives us really good advices on the local arts and restaurants. It's also a real great green place ! All local stuff for breakfast ! Even local handmade soap from Vermont. Clean, affordable and anwesome !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyriameLarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThurEdos, Owner at Little Gnesta B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

It was my great pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Peaceful simplicity of decor; immaculate, dust-free rooms, delicious fresh bread, local cheeses, and home made granola for breakfast, and a restful sleep on a comfortable bed. Ruth was sublimely hospitable and told us exactly where we could find a moose on Rte 114.

Room Tip: Ume'a on the second floor is the best room, in my opinion. I think I would have felt too expose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuddyShoesMedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThurEdos, Owner at Little Gnesta B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

I'm so thrilled you found the moose!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
14.4 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
18.7 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
12.8 mi away
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport City Inn & Suites
Show Prices

Been to Little Gnesta B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gnesta B & B

Address: 115 Prospect St, Newport, VT 05855-2027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $85 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Swedish-inspired B & B on the isthmus that is downtown Newport, just steps from international Lake Memphremagog. Four simple, yet elegant rooms, combine Gustavian and Swedish-country design elements where you'll sleep "Scandinavian" with fluffy comforters atop queen-size Carpe Diem beds imported from Sweden. A simple buffet breakfast of crusty breads, granola, yogurt, meats and cheeses. Walk to dining and shopping. Free Wifi. Private baths. Bike trail along the lake to Quebec, Canada (6 miles) only two blocks away. Some French spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing