We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Our Personal Vacation Home”
Review of Frog Meadow Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frog Meadow Farm
Reviewed April 12, 2014

As a couple of New Yorkers, we find the need to flee the concrete every few weeks, and Frog Meadow has become one of our favorite escapes. The owners, Scott and Dave, have created a property for gay men that perfectly balances rustic simplicity with high-end accommodations.

The B&B sits on a beautifully landscaped plot tucked away in the woods. When you're on the property, the rest of world disappears. You can hike the secluded trails, take a swim in the pond, relax in the wood-fired hot tub, or just sit on the patio and watch the hummingbirds and chipmunks. And be sure to take advantage of the outdoor shower--it offers a spectacular view at sunrise.

We've stayed in both the main house and the converted barn suite, and both were excellent. The barn suite--our favorite room--offers a private bath, kitchenette, and a private deck with access to a grill. We've had a lot of fun hitting the little food markets in the area and then comping back to Frog Meadow for a BBQ. If you're not a chef, Scott & Dave have lots of recommendations for places to eat nearby.

Each morning Dave will make a big breakfast that incorporates many locally-sourced ingredients. We've had omelets made with asparagus harvested from the garden, honey from their apiary, and apple cider made with fruit from their little orchard. Everything feels very special and deliberate.

While it is a hike from NYC--about 4 hours each way--we always come back so relaxed that it's worth the trip. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you're looking for something more 'unplugged', check out the Brook Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norwalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

"Frog Meadow" is the right name for this great place. As soon as the sun went down the frogs and millions of fireflies came out and filled the meadow with lights and sound.

I truly needed to find a place to relax for a few days and this place was the perfect spot. The fact that there were no screaming kids doubled the peacefulness. The hosts are two truly great people and perfect for owning a B&B.

I stayed there this past June for three nights, it rained at dusk which was good as it cooled off the hot days.

Room Tip: Be sure to follow the hosts driving directions, do not try to find it by GPS as some of the roads do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had a fabulous three day weekend with David and Scott at their Inn in Newfane Vermont . it was so Calming, the air was so clear and the service was so caring and excellent and the cleanliness and the hospitality and the food were absolutely amazing :/ when you get waffles in the morning with fresh blueberries picked on the property amidst the flowers it's a real amazing experience, nice people, five star Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank faldango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: je vous conseille la main house south
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Albi_Toul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newfane
11.0 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
356 reviews
11.5 mi away
Old Red Mill
Old Red Mill
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
42 reviews
9.6 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
343 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Columns Inn
Four Columns Inn
#1 of 5 in Newfane
67 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Meadow Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Meadow Farm

Address: 34 Upper Spring Hill Road, P.O. Box 332, Newfane, VT 05345
Location: United States > Vermont > Newfane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Newfane
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frog Meadow Farm B&B and Massage for Men: A welcoming, non-judgmental place for men of all backgrounds to unwind and shed the trappings of busy modern life. Situated on 63 acres in Southeastern Vermont with mountain views, perennial gardens, and a wood fired hot tub, 30 minutes from either Mount Snow or Stratton Mountain and only 4 miles from the popular Rock River swimming hole. Amenities: Private & Shared Bath Nonsmoking Facility Wireless in Room Forest, Mountain Views No Handicap Access No Children No Pets Full Brkfst, Dinner Rooms/Rental Units: 5 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Frog Meadow Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing