We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”

Tourterelle Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tourterelle Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in New Haven
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our Story:In the late nineties, a beautiful event planner from Brittany met a young, American chef from New York. Before long they married and their union produced first a daughter and then a culinary revolution in Brooklyn, New York. Locals flocked to Loulou, their first French bistro, as much for chef Bill's lusty cuisine, as Christine's gracious charm. Before long, Loulou beget Cocotte, another French eatery that drew crowds. Other chefs followed them, lining the streets near the Snells' restaurants with all manner of eateries.The couple turned their sights on a life-long dream: to own an inn and restaurant in Vermont. The Snells purchased the well-regarded Roland's Place in New Haven, Vermont in July 2009, changing its name to Tourterelle to reflect its romantic theme as a serene restaurant, inn, and venue for special occasions.
Middlebury, Vermont
1 review
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have been to Tourterelle several times as we are local. Great food and there is a great blance between atmosphere and service that makes you feel like part of the family. We have young children and staff are always very accommodating with food and seating. Extensive knowledge and use of local ingredients in drinks and food. I always rate restaurants on if I feel like the food was worth the money and have never left disappointed. Highly recommend this is you are in the Middlebury are and is for sure worth the short drive from where ever you are staying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good brunch, but almost too quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Friends and I had brunch at Tourterelle this past weekend. The food was excellent (with good sized portions) and the service was friendly. The dining area was simply and attractively appointed and we had a lovely view of the mountains from our table. This is a small inn in a rural area away from the city, so I wasn't expecting a crowd of people, but I was puzzled that we were the only people there for brunch. Made for a quiet meal. I do wonder why there were no other guests that morning, but I can't fault the food or sercive on this particular occasion. I will go there again and recommend it to additional friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caligal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, VT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consider the competition”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Living in New Haven, VT, I've been to Tourterelle a half dozen time. The only reason that it is rated #1 in New Haven is that the rest of the places must serve dog food. In a city with lots of options, it's doubtful that this place would be in business. The food is generally pretty good, but it is inconsistent, for sure. The service almost always is dreadful. An uneducated and disorganized wait staff will make you wonder why they are this way after a number of years. I just came back from dinner there with friends and it took 2 1/2 hours for us to be served an appetizer and an entre. Good thing our friends are interesting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had heard that this restaurant was worth visiting and we weren't disappointed. From appetizers to decadent dessert, the food was flavorful and delicious. Portions were nicely sized and the pace of service was just right. Beautiful views of the surrounding mountains added to the experience. We will definitely make a point of returning in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acpakama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service. Pricey given location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Attentive and knowledgeable service, superb food. And all this during the chaos of Middlebury College graduation weekend. Only question mark: very pricey. Prepare for NYC rates in rural VT!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Psp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tourterelle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tourterelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing