We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Peaceful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Holly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifford Country Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Mount Holly B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 25, 2014

What can be said about a wonderful hostess in a charming home. Emily made us feel like we slipped on a comfortable pair of slippers! Her home is surrounded by beautiful vistas that kept us mesmerized. Our stay went by too quickly and hope to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Emily Clifford at her Mount Holly B and B and wished we could have stayed a few more nights. The property has amazing views to the north; Emily is also a birder and she has done much to attract birds to her home. Her home is very comfortable; the bedroom was well appointed with very nice linens. Emily was so welcoming and wonderful to speak with over breakfast the next morning. The breakfast was highlighted by her home made muffins. Her home was just off route 103 -- convenient to Ludlow and Rutland. Thank you Emily. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50Will50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Secluded, suburban-style comfort amid rolling farmlands, woods for long walks and 4-corner villages for places to go. Some very nice restaurants just far enough away to make it interesting, but easy. Hostess Emily Clifford Jackson is punctual, discreet and informative. She's also very accommodating; upon request, our breakfasts included gluten-free breads and raw milk. My wife and I booked carte-blanche off the Internet for our first-time visit in June. Within two weeks of returning home, we booked for another long-weekend in August. What better recommendation than to say, "The experience was so good, we wanted to do it again."

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Old_House324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A beautiful garden surrounds this country house on a pretty country road. Once inside the splendor continues. The rooms are appointed with treasures from old and the conveniences of modern day. The smell of fresh brewed coffee awakens you and the breakfast that is served is equally aromatic. Fresh homemade breads and muffins that you can top with locally made preserves and flavored butters. Your hostess, Emily, perfects the fresh farm eggs with additions from her garden of vegetables and herbs all the while keeping you informed of local events and tales of historical lore. Two outdoor porches and one sunroom give you plenty of places to sit and soak in the peace and quiet of the beautiful surrounding mountain views. This casual country charmer is a slice of heaven on earth. I'm so glad I found Clifford Country Bed and Breakfast and I'll be returning as often as I possibly can.

Room Tip: Back of the house rooms have the better views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vyvashuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Located on a quiet country lane in the picturesque village of Mount Holly
Clifford Country Bed and Breakfast will be the gateway to your visit to
the "Real Vermont"
Visitors are treated to clean charming accomodations including lovely
gardens and grounds. Your day begins with a delicious country breakfast
featuring fresh veggies from the garden, delicious homemade breads, muffins,
including fresh eggs, bacon, milk and maple syrup from neighboring farms..
Your hostess Emily Clifford Jackson is a life long Vermonter and a truly delightful
charming women. Before breakfast is over,you'll feel like family!
This year was my 4th. visit to Clifford Country and I plan to return again next summer.
I hightly recommend Clifford Country B & B to anyone planning to visit the Okemo
Valley area.

John Wood Jr.
South Yarmouth, MA.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Emily was warm and welcoming to us from our first contact to the moment we waved good-bye at the end of our stay. She sent us information about restaurants, upcoming events and attractions in the area---including the Perseid Meteor Shower, which was at its peak during our visit to Vermont. Emily made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. Breakfasts were happy, delicious times, and during the days we were free to explore the woods, sit on the porches, admire the beautiful surroundings, or go off on jaunts in the area. (Bonus: We could get cell phone reception from the B&B.) Our room was comfortable and clean, with a splendid view of Emily's gardens and the fields and mountains of Vermont. Nights at Clifford B&B are quiet and peaceful. Though the location is rural, it is not difficult to find, and it is close to many towns, parks and mountains of central Vermont. We recommend it highly and plan to return when we visit Vermont again.

Room Tip: The queen bed room has a private bath. The other two rooms share a bath, which is close to both of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

hi there,

this was the second year we went to Emily's place at Clifford Country B&B. The place and surroundings are awesome. Natural beauty enchants you. Backyard view of mountains is simply stunning. The Apple Cidar Days are one of my favourites...

Host Emily is a very sweet and polite. She is the best guide to provide you information about the place and what to see during the stay. I love her handmade bread breakfast especially the sour dough bread and French bread.

Highly Recommended!!!!
Santosh Gaikwad!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santosh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clifford Country Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifford Country Bed & Breakfast

Address: 476 Cole Rd, Mount Holly, VT 05758-9581
Location: United States > Vermont > Mount Holly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Holly
Price Range: $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, modern home-style Bed & Breakfast, bright rooms with views, surrounded by gardens and countryside. Activities packages available. Home baked breakfast goodies. Ideal for families with children, visitors seeking quiet accommodations in the country. Two night minimum, well behaved pets welcome. Open May through October, closed winter. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing