We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Morrisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2010

This was the first B&B we have ever stayed in and it will be the only place we stay in when we go back to Vermont. It was like home and Philip and Ellen made us feel like we were at home. When you go to a place like that and you get treated like that you don't complain about something as little as a crack in the wall, thats petty, the place has been around a long time and your going to find a fault if you look hard enough, but we only looked at the good and that was how we got treated, we felt like a king and queen staying there, thanks philip and Ellen

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frstclssgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

We've been staying with the Wolffs at Village Victorian for 8 years now...and have loved every minute...Ellen and Philip are only too happy to be accommodating...they're super friendly (so much so!!)...the rooms are so comfy (not "hotelish" at all!; who wants that in glorious Vermont!)...the food is fantastic, delicious and in great abundance and all the guests are super friendly and happy! In fact, this year we had a mini-reunion with lots of great folks who've been staying at V.V. for many years now and it was super-fun and nice!! Love Morrisville and Vermont and The Village Victorian!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This B&B represents a good alternative to the overpriced accommodations in Stowe. About 8 miles out of Stowe on a good fast road, Morrisville is a small town with a few restaurants and stores, and more charm than Stowe itself. We found Stowe much too touristy and when looking at the places to stay they did not seem worth anywhere near the prices being demanded.

Having said that, the Village Victorian was a little bit disappointing. The room needed some minor repairs to be done, and did not have any tea/coffee equipment or any embellishments at all aside from a TV. A bit like staying with your grandma, and decorated like that too. The worst thing was that the bed faces a window, and there is a huge street lamp outside the window that shines on your face the whole night! There are some ineffective lace curtains that do nothing to prevent this, so in the end I hung a tshirt up to block as much of the blazing light out as I could.

I have to say that the worst part about the B&B is the breakfast arrangement. Breakfast is served 'family style', which is to say that the hosts may not have the space or the resources to seat and serve guests individually, so everyone has to be down at the table at 8.30am for breakfast all together at one big table.

For us, this was difficult for a numbber of reasons. 1) Everyone takes their share of food off a platter that is brought in as food is cooked, and the platter is passed around. Inevitably this ends in barely enough food being provided because everyone is being too polite to take the portion they might desire for fear of there not being enough left for the last person. You're also at risk of not getting much because there are only a couple of choices, it's certainly not a la carte.
2) You're on holiday as a couple and suddenly you're sitting at a table with a bunch of strangers and it certainly makes for a very awkward set of silences. We could not really leave the table quick enough. 3) If you have plans, you've got to fit them around breakfast at 8.30am, not really ideal when you're paying over $100 a night for the place.

I hope that they change their way of operating, because the hosts are nice people that run a good establishment, but the breakfast arrangement really is the worst I have ever come across.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeremyCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipthewolff, Owner at Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2010

Sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Blessed that you found us a good alternative to Stowe. We have made deliberate choices to stay affordable in this economy.

Apologize for the cracks in the walls... happens in old houses with plaster walls... we were waiting for November when things quiet down here... the room has since had the cracks redone and then repainted.

Sorry again that you had to go thru the shirt thing... Ellen probably should have shown you how the venetian blinds work... we will go over that in the future with guests who stay in our Pickwick room.

Family style and staying with grandma are who we are and what we promote on our web-site. We do not want to be something else...neither a restaurant, resort or motel. Coffee and Tea are always available for our guests.... a Keurig machine was available in our guest area, along with fridge and micro-wave.

I didn't understand your breakfast concern and would have loved to have had you express your concern. The platters are filled with bacon and the hot entree for the morning. There is usually bacon left over and we keep the waffles or pancakes or french toast coming until folks say to stop. There was a home made pastry, all kinds of fruit, yogurt, cheese, cereal... and we do special things for dietary restrictions. Lot of people say really nice things about our breakfast.

8:30 was the time our survey of the guests had selected as the best time for most situations. We do an earlier seating for people who need to get out and about.

Appreciate your comments... sorry we were a disappointment... hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the U.S.

philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Family of adults took advantage of the "bed" and not the "breakfast" for the weekend to attend a wedding in the area, renting the entire house. Although not much time was spent at the house it was perfect for our needs offering; ample living space, the house was very clean and well maintained, provided comfortable sleeping arrangments, beautiful gardens as well as a great environment for our own family gathering when we returned in the evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We recently spent two nights at the this quaint Bed and Breakfast. Morrisville is about 10 miles north of Stow but an easy drive. The owners are a real delight and it is easy to see that they really enjoy what they do. Our room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the breakfast both mornings was very ample and delicous. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottsman412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

A charming, old home with an interesting history, run by a lovely and accomodating couple who go out of their way to make you feel at home. From the gift shop to the piano music, to the extensive video library, to the wonderful breakfast, complete with Vermont syrup, everything is done with excellence. The rooms are not the most elegant, but still very nice, comfortable and with a warm, homey feeling at a great price for a Bed & Breakfast. Within walking distance of the main part of Morrisville, a small town but having much character with interesting shops and eateries and an easy, scenic drive to other attractions such as Stowe and the Ben & Jerry's factory in Waterbury.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonworshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Phi and Ellen make you feel very welcome and the food was excellent. . Phil is a great cook and their Maple cream is wonderful. The dining room is beautiful and the place is cozy and very clean. We would come back again. My husband and I both love it. We also met some wonderful couples from different states. We have stay in alot of Bed and Breakfast and this one in our top of the list to stay again.

Len and Sandy from Foresthill, California

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggieForesthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 107 Union St, Morrisville, VT 05661-6061
Location: United States > Vermont > Morrisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Morrisville
Price Range: $80 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grace and charm of our 1890's Victorian in the heart of the quiet little village of Morrisville, just 7 miles from Stowe. 3 unique guest rooms, each with individual thermostats, very comfortable, top of the line, premium queen size bed, cable TV, hair dryer, nite lite, air conditioner, and TV/VCR combination with remote. Extensive movie library is available. All guest rooms have full size private bathrooms with combination tub/showers... and then there is our Aster Suite... :) Guests also have use of laundry facility, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board. Fireplace is available to enjoy in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Village Victorian Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing