We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”
Review of Muddy Moose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muddy Moose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Muddy Moose is a fantastic place! The owners were so welcoming and friendly. The service was great. The cabins were perfect. They were stocked with everything you could need. The grounds were beautiful. We will DEFINITELY be back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed at the Muddy Moose Jan 13 to 16 2014, 3 Nights. Stayed in Cabin # 1. It was beautiful ! As I do travel constantly, I must say that this property is a five star. I have never stayed at a property that was so clean. All of your cooking needs are all of number 1 quality. This is a little hidden Gem, and the owners .....FANTASTIC ! Very Private with the added personal touch. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.......Thank - You....it was wonderful.....

Room Tip: If you are only two people....this cabin is plenty big. Beautiful bedroom, kitchen, living room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 245Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent three wonderful days and nights in the one-bedroom cabin in October. The cabin was immaculate, well-furnished and extremely comfortable. The kitchen was fully-equipped for as much cooking as anyone would want to do. The mountain views from the porch were gorgeous and the rockers very comfortable! The other cabins were occupied as well, but the property is quiet and secluded and we never noticed our neighbors or any noise. The property contains its own extensive hiking trails, and the game room was great. The owners are friendly and thoughtful, and we thoroughly enjoyed the visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I use TripAdvisor to find all the hidden gems out there. We were looking for anything in Vermont, as a nice weekend getaway driving from MA. We found Muddy Moose and could not have been happier. We stayed in cabin 1.
The drive to the cabin is beautiful and once you finally arrive, you are greeted by the owners who are fabulous! Both Chuck and Christine were super friendly. They did not bother us at all and responded to emails within minutes!
The cabin was the perfect size and we could not find a speck of dust anywhere! Squeaky clean. In my opinion, cabin 1 has the best view and is the perfect size for a couple. We had all that we needed within the cabin; queen size bed, extra blankets, washer and dryer, fully equipped kitchen, farmers porch, and a nice gas fireplace.
We stayed in and cooked the first night and our second we ventured out to nearby Stowe (about a 20 minute drive). Burlington, VT is also about an hour away.
Needless to say, we will be coming back. I would love to see how beautiful it is during the summer.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AshleeB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days in the beginning of November. It was past peek season and foliage season so it was absolutely peaceful. Our cabin overlooked the mountains that you could enjoy on the rockers on your back porch. There are picnic tables and barbecue pits for each house and a game room cabin as well. The nature trails are gorgeous including a waterfall. The cabin was sparkling clean; it's almost as if you could eat off the floor. They also were fully equipped with every amenity. They even have heated floors and a gas stove so it stays nice and cozy. Chuck and Christine are incredibly nice and accommodating. They even left home made maple cookies in our cabin as well as some doggy treats and other items for our canine companion. We loved that we could bring her with us. The cabins are close to town where you can do some shopping or site seeing or even tour the Ben & Jerry's Factory. If you are looking for a beautiful place where you can enjoy nature and the company of your companions this is the place to be. We are definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GJRupard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a last-minute trip together in September. I'd never been to Vermont and Fall is my favorite season of the year. The timing to see the Fall foliage was just about perfect. However, finding a place at the last minute was not easy. I finally found the Muddy Moose and decided it looked like our best option.
Wow, what a great choice we made! We were there for 4 nights in early October and we loved every minute of it. We stayed in the 2-bedroom cabin, which was beautiful and seemed brand-new. It had everything we would need and more...including some of my favorite "board" games (bananagrams, Yahtzee and Boggle don't technically have boards).
The owners, Chuck and Christine, were friendly and helpful. They were available for restaurant suggestions, etc. I regret that we didn't go ask them more about how Muddy Moose came to be... it's such a great place that I'm curious.
The location is convenient to Stowe and other great places to visit. However, it's removed from the touristy area, so it feels private, quiet, romantic...The views are great as you drive to get there.
The gameroom was cool. Even there, the attention to detail was perfect...
I enjoyed walking on the trails on the property and visiting the horses that were also guests while we were there. ( I also happened to see my first porcupine in the wild...at a distance, which was ideal!!! LOVED that!)
I just can't say enough good things about the Muddy Moose!!! Can I go back there now, please?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eyrehead2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were looking for a dog friendly inn near Stowe, and happened upon the Muddy Moose. What a find! Comfortable, quiet, rustic with all the amenities, lovely hiking trails right on the property. We came once in spring and came back again this fall. Dog loved it, too. Everything thoughfully considered, warm and gracious owners.

Room Tip: There is a cabin that has a very accessible and safe bathroom/shower area, if that is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlington_MAArtist22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrisville
7.9 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,367 reviews
7.2 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
1,071 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sterling Ridge Resort
Sterling Ridge Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
345 reviews
8.8 mi away
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
#14 of 24 in Stowe
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muddy Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muddy Moose

Address: 2930 Cote Hill Rd, Morrisville, VT 05661-9149
Location: United States > Vermont > Morrisville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Morrisville
Price Range: $211 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muddy Moose 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from one, two, or three bedroom log cabins. Each spacious cabin is tastefully decorated and fully equipped. Whether you enjoy the many on-site activities or take advantage of our proximity to Stowe, your time here will be both refreshing and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Muddy Moose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing