We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm

Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Got to the farm and from the first second fell in love with the horses. They're awesome and have great personalities!!!!! This was the first time I had ever rode English and felt extremely comfortable!!!!! The gaited "tolt" that the do is unbelievably smooth. Our guides and the scenery was amazing. I highly reckoned coming here.

Helpful?
Thank aenglard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Karen and her horses are amazing. We were not disappointed. The horses were so well matched to each riders skill level we all enjoyed the ride. The scenery was breathtaking. Can't wait to visit again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to meet beautiful horses!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

The scenes during the trail rides were beautiful, and riding the Icelandic horses was a great experience. I 'tolted' on a horse for the first time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I love these little horses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have ridden horses all over the world and I must say, riding these where the most fun! They are really little (13.1 hands or so) and technically ponies. Just don't tell that to a 6 foot 5 in Viking or he will step on you. They are very strong forward gaited horses and the tolt was just wonderful.

We did two 5 hour days of riding and the Karen was just wonderful. She sized up everyone and gave out just the right horses. Would recommend this place for any riding ability.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“Good Things Come in Small Packages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Riding at the Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm is a wonderful experience. Owner, Karen, her Mom, June, and daughters Isabelle and Amily ensure everyone, incuding each and every horse is happy and comfortable. Dad and Inn Keeper, Luc, back at the Mad River Inn, keeps the place spotless and prepares the most wonderful breakfasts to start off the day. The Icelandic horses are small but have huge hearts and Tolting is the most comfortable equine gait ever! It is a purely joyful ride. It is obvious that the horses are loved and cared for beautifully. The barn is clean and the Icelandic tack is well-cared for and comfortably authentic. The trail guides ensure that everyone has a safe, but exciting ride, through the miles of trails and dirt roads with unbelieveable views, and plenty of photo-ops. I am a riding instructor and have been riding for over 50 years - I highly recommend this adventure!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm also viewed

 

Been to Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing