We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Liked It - Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
Review of Inn at Montpelier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Montpelier
Ranked #2 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We Liked It - Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Unfortunately, we were in Montpelier for a family member's funeral, and only stayed here one night. But we loved our cozy room, and had a very comfortable night's sleep.

When I spoke with the innkeeper, she said she was looking for a part-time handyman. We noticed paint flaking from the windowsill in our room, but an old home like this needs constant work. Overall, I thought it was in pretty darn good shape.

Wish we could have stayed for longer to explore the charming downtown area and what it has to offer for shopping and dining. As it was, we were happy to be somewhere quiet and just around the corner from the funeral home.

The Inn's dining room is lovely, and we enjoyed the coffee, rolls, and hard boiled eggs for breakfast.

Hopefully we will be back when the weather and other circumstances allow us to have more fun.

Room Tip: I would imagine that rooms away from the Main Street frontage would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunawayBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for this kind review, RunawayBoomer. We couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, though we wish the circumstances were different. You'll have to come back for a visit -- we'd love to have you! Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor.

All the best,
John and Karel Underwood, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
69
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our third stay and each time we return we are reminded how much we enjoy this lovely Inn. The owners, John and Karel make it a point to accomodate you in any way possible and truly make you feel you are visiting family and/or friends. They have done a remarkable job in choosing a staff that caters and cares in a manner that exemplifies warm and honest hospitality. The rooms are lovely, cozy sitting areas abound, the veranda is magnificent, and the breakfast is all homemade and irresistible! We will most certainly return and recommend you visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John U, Karel at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We love having you back here time and time again, Cindy! It's our pleasure to make the people who stay with us feel more like family and friends. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our hospitality and atmosphere. Your recommendation truly means the world to us, and we can't wait for your return.

Until then,
John and Karel Underwood, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a family function. After the 4 hr drive we found the inn to be just right. Antique & charming but well appointed room, cozy sitting rooms, 24 hr pantry with hot beverages, cookies, fruit. We could walk to everything in the downtown area. We would stay again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank HariKirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, HariKirin. It sounds like you really appreciated our atmosphere, charm and location. We're looking forward to your next stay with us.

Thanks again,
John and Karel Underwood, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a top floor room at the front. The street was noisy until quite late into the evening. Room was okay; had an old world feeling but we suspect it could have done with a spring clean, and it certainly needed a fair bit of maintenance (as could the whole place). The porch at the front of the house is certainly a very nice place to sit, apart from the traffic noise of course. Owners were quite friendly and accommodating but one had the feeling that they were "going through the motions" and didn't have there hearts in the business. Breakfast was very good. Overall, value is not good, place needs some work, reasonably friendly but otherwise not memorable.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeBandit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We're sorry to hear you felt the value and your experience didn't match up. If there's anything we can promise you it's that our hearts are 100 percent in The Inn, and we're disappointed that didn't show during your visit. We hope you'll consider giving us another chance the next time you're in Montpelier -- we'd love to give you an experience that's memorable for all of the right reasons.

All the best,
John and Karel Underwood, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely Inn. This is our third visit and were happy that things like service and pleasant staff remain the same. Rooms were warm and cheerful. Coffee, cookies are always available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for joining us for another wonderful visit! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Hope we'll see you this year!

All the best,
John and Karel Underwood, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited Montpelier on a Fall leaf peeping trip through the north east and just loved this little hotel. We would very happily stay at the Inn again and again. This is an old bulding with loads of character. If ultra modern is what you are after, then this place is not for you. But if you like the vestiges of a previous era with at least some modern comforts then the Inn is a great place to stay.

We had one of the better rooms and it was bery spacious, well furnished and extremely comfortable.

Location wise the Inn cannot be faulted. It is very convenient to the historic heart of Montpelier and a number of restaurants and cafes.

We found the staff to be fantastic and service first rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John U, Owner at Inn at Montpelier, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Sounds like our character was the star of your time with us. We couldn't be happier to hear that our service stood out as well. Thank you for choosing to spend your time in Montpelier with us!

All the best,
John and Karel Underwood, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you are looking for a high end B and B while doing some Vermont leaf peeping, the Inn at Montpelier is the place. It is a bit expensive, but the rooms are very nice and bigger than they seem on the webstie. WE had a balcony that we could have had a nice evening party on (if we had been there with enought people to have a party). This could be a great place for large groups. The morning breakfast is very nice and the staff very accomicating and super nice. The building itself makes you feel like you have travled back in time. a 2 minute walk to the heart of town. 15 minute walk to the Captiol buliding. Close drive to things like maple farms etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bricken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
0.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
0.3 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.4 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Montpelier

Property: Inn at Montpelier
Address: 147 Main St, Montpelier, VT 05602-2937
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Montpelier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Montpelier offers a classic New England experience, with charming accommodations and close proximity to local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Montpelier Hotel Montpelier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing