We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location But Average Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Montpelier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Montpelier
Ranked #2 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Location But Average Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed one night in a premium or superior room. My review takes into account the rate we paid in relation to the quality of the room and the included breakfast. It also reflects our experience in many other inns in terms of value for money. The room was spacious but somewhat "tired" -- for example, the carpeting had seen many quests before us and the bed linens were dated. The continental breakfast was sparse and unsatisfying. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and helpful; the location is within easy walking distance to restaurants and downtown Montpelier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BushPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
67
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay, right in the heart of Montpelier. Everything is within walking distance, and this is what you are paying for. The property is well-kept, everything was very clean and comfortable. In all fairness, it is a little tired (old water stains on ceiling, wall paper peeling), but this adds to its charm, as the buildings are very old (and this did not impact our stay at all, which again was great). The front porch is wonderful for relaxing, loved the swing. The continental breakfast is good, nothing more, nothing less....(we've been to other B&B's in the same price range where there is a more substantial breakfast). Would definitely recommend for a relaxing getaway weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was my 4th stay at the Inn at Montpelier and it has always been wonderful. The Inn is a large, gracious New England style home, the highlight of which (in the summer) is an expansive front porch where guests can enjoy a glass of wine, breakfast, or just a quiet rocker. Rooms are comfortable. If they are serving the maple nut scones, grab them immediately! I'm hoping that as the economy picks up, the Inn can get a new coat of paint and a bit of an uplift. Just a tad warn. Server at brealfast was lovely, helpful and a real asset. In the evening, it was a little challenging to scare up someone to serve a glass of wine. That said, there weren't a lot of guests that evening so a little inattention was understandable, if disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Lovely place to stay.... Modern bathrooms in an antique setting! Very convenient.... Lovely walk to dinner and breakfast on the porch was wonderful! Woderful maple yogurt and granola. Very quiet. WIFI.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trypome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Ok - we've stayed at lots of Inns across the USA - this one was REALLY NICE! The present owners have been there for only 3 years . . . but they sure know how to make you feel at home! Both so nice & helpful. The house has a sweeping front porch with comfy chairs, swings and sofas outside/plus 2 different sitting rooms/lots of common "space" to make you feel like you are staying at a friend's home! Our room was in the main house and on the 2nd floor - steep stairs to climb, but also access from the back porch that wasn't bad. It's a short walk into Montpelier "town" for lots of great restaurant choices - the owners have many menus in the lobby & will make reservations for you if you want. Breakfast is served either on the porch or in the dining room - very continental, but enough. In the morning, we took a short ride to the Maple Sugarworks just a couple miles north of the Inn - fun & interesting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed for one night en-route between Montreal and Boston and whilst comfortable enough, the hotel, like Montpelier itself, felt tired and trying a bit too hard to appear historic and 'authentic'. We were maybe unlucky in that we appeared to be the only people staying at the Inn that night so the welcome was lukewarm and we felt like we were disturbing them in the morning when we turned up for breakfast. Pricey for what is effectively a B&B and a little disappointing as we were hoping for an enjoyable change to the modern chain hotels that we were staying in for the majority of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Inn at Montpelier was the perfect balance between the small B&B that can be a bit too "family/friend" orientated, and the large chain Hotels that are way too impersonal. We found the facility quite lovely, furnished with antiques and good reproductions. It is within walking distance to restaurants, stores, and other events. The innkeepers and staff were very friendly and responsive. Continental Breakfast was served in a nicely appointed dining room; a nice mix of pastries, fruit and cereal and beverages. We will definetly stay again.

Room Tip: For two, request a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
0.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
0.3 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Montpelier

Property: Inn at Montpelier
Address: 147 Main St, Montpelier, VT 05602-2937
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Montpelier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Montpelier offers a classic New England experience, with charming accommodations and close proximity to local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Montpelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Montpelier Hotel Montpelier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing