We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring Your Cleaning Supplies if Staying Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bring Your Cleaning Supplies if Staying Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at Betsy's. On the web site there was no mention of animals in the B&B. We declined to stay at another B&B due to cats being advertised there. I am highly allergic to cats and dogs. Even though the animals were kept in the one Victorian home, there was hair all over the area rug and the furniture along with dust in the parlor where we were staying. I could go on and on with my disappointment in this place but I feel you'll get the point.

  • Liked — The Breakfast
  • Disliked — The place was not clean
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bilntaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    22
    14
    12
See reviews for
21
45
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Greenwich, RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

This is a great place to stay and an excellent value for the biz traveler (I travel 50% per year in New England states). Warm and cozy family setting. Clean, pretty and the place even smells good. Wireless is free, fast and without problems. (It's walking distance to everything, including A+ bakeries and restaurants, banks, bookstores, copy shops, the works. Montpelier also has fun shopping to bring home presents for Mom and kids.) Fresh airy spaces, well-lit. Fantastic reading chair in my room (#3). You can control the heat and fresh air in your room, which is a huge plus for me. It's quiet all day and night, with passing cars at the usual rush hours. Today is April 30, and there were two snow showers on the tulips and daffodils. I consider this place a real treat for myself, and believe me, I've seen it all. (Frankly, I don't understand a few of the other comments I've seen here about Betsy's, and I'll let it go at that.)

  • Liked — Hospitality, breakfast, comfort of rooms.
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything I didn't like.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at Betsy's B&B and it was a negative experience. The front porch had heavily soiled furniture and cushions and there was much clutter that needed to be removed.

As we entered the B&B and saw the carpets, they were heavily soiled to a dark gray color. This coloration went on through the foyer, into the living room, and only faded as we went up the stairs approaching our room.

The living areas were highly cluttered with nicknacks and family
memorabilia which were in dire need of cleaning. Betsy herself gave a lukewarm welcome and did not seem to know that we were arriving despite our recent call for directions.

We stayed in room #2, which did appear to be vacuumed. The furniture was nice enough but the room was in need of decorating. There was a soiled hand-written envelope on the nightstand soliciting tips. There were electrical outlets missing their proper plates. The television was very small - possibly 7" screen.

The bathroom had mold around the tub. There was a poorly placed un-curtained window in the ceiling which looked directly onto the commode and our entrance/exit to the bath and then into the neighbor's window. The blow dryer blew only cool air.

I did not feel comfortable enough about the cleanliness to eat
breakfast at the inn.

It was unclear as to what areas of the inn were for the guests and what areas were private for the family. It seemed as though all areas outside of our room were for the family's private use although the web site stated otherwise. When we requested use of the inn's tv room, the family demonstrated precedence over its use.

All in all it was a very unhappy experience for us.

  • Liked — Nothing really.
  • Disliked — The window in the bathroom looking into the neighbor's house.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtom3x0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montpelier hotels

Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2006

We stayed in Room 2 and it was very comfortable. The decor is antique - I felt like I was sleeping over at my Grandma's house! The breakfast - OH WOW! When we sat down, a large coffee cake and some sort of cobbler was already on the table. We were offered a full, made-to-order breakfast, including waffles, sausage, eggs - the works! I ordered oatmeal and got a heaping bowl of "specialty" oatmeal - the grains were cut with blades. It was delicious! We really enjoyed the conversation with other guests during our meal and one of the owners came and sat down with us to "shoot the bull", also. Betsy is from Texas and is as sweet as Apple Pie! We waddled out of the place with big smiles on our faces! -Glenn & Karen Matthews

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — We ahd to climb stairs to get to our room - duh! Its a 2 story house!
  • Tips/Secrets — Talk to fellow travelers during your meal - you can get lots of good information!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank houstongal43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2006

My parents were visiting me from out of town and were extremely disappointed with the breakfast and the lack of hospitality. As for the food, the serving size was very skimpy and not very appetizing. On their first day, my parents were offered just eggs and two sausage links and were told they were "out of potatoes". They tried again the next day and said the food still tasted terrible even with the potatoes. After that, they went to town to go out to breakfast.
They could have lived with the bad breakfast had the hospitality been better. Vermonters are very polite and quite friendly but, unfortunately, Betsy is neither. She should hire someone else to greet the guests and just stick to counting her profits.
My parents stayed for almost a week and it was very embarassing for me as I had recommended Betsy's based on ONE review I had read and it left a poor impression on our lovely city. Never again...

  • Liked — Comfortable Bed
  • Disliked — Terrible Food, Poor Hospitality, not located in downtown but up semi-steep hill
  • Tips/Secrets — Not recommended
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VermontMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2006

I stayed at Betsy's on three occasions for ten days each time, while studying at Vermont College. I always felt welcome. We're not talking modern luxury here. We're talking homey and informal in a Victorian house with wonderful hot full breakfasts. I stayed in one of the houses next door to the main house. "My house" had two guest rooms per floor separated by a comfortable parlor (some floors have a cast iron stove in the parlor) and a shared kitchen. Every room has a private bath, very basic. Old fashioned cabbage rose wallpaper and a four-poster bed in my spacious room (with small tv) made my room a comfy retreat. It was always very clean, with plenty of fresh towels. Minor fix-ups could be done but don't let that stop you. It's a short walk into the center of town although up and down a steep hill (this IS Vermont after all!) and even closer to the Vermont College campus. Service is relaxed but attentive. Breakfasts are great: pancakes or french toast with bacon or sausages, bread pudding or hot fresh muffins, oatmeal, eggs and cold cereals are served daily in a homelike dining room. This is not a sophisticated city inn. It suits Montpelier.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavisSqBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Benning, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2005

Betsy's B and B needs a face lift. The place is clean but the comforters on the bed make you second guess yourself. She needs to update the carpet as well. It is a little run down and the breakfasts are nothing special. She runs out of certain things as well so get to breakfast early. With new linens and a few other things done to the place it would nice and quaint.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacks912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
0.3 mi away
Inn at Montpelier
Inn at Montpelier
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.0 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betsy's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betsy's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 E State St, Montpelier, VT 05602-3112
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features victorian furniture and home-cooked breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Betsy's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy`s Hotel Montpelier
Betsy`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing