We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was okay but some drawbacks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Montpelier B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Was okay but some drawbacks.”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our room was good, clean and had a large bathroom. Breakfast was good but not stunning. We did enjoy meeting other guests over breakfast and the service was good. We did not like the smoking area on the front porch. We would have liked to be able to have a glass of wine on the porch but it was filled with smokers. The air condioner in the room was an old window unit that was fairly loud and kept me awake a bit. The location was good. We walked to the Main Street Grill which is operated by the New England Culinary Institute for dinner. The B&B was okay but don't believe we will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    22
    14
    12
See reviews for
22
45
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Let me start by saying that I am most definitely NOT a B&B person. If I could've gotten into the one decent hotel in town, or the more upscale Inn, I would've. Instead, I signed on for this due to its close proximity to downtown and the fact that, compared to other Montpellier hotels and B&Bs reviewed on this site, it didn't sound awful.

And it's not.

The facility is actually two houses, and I stayed in the upper one. The room was okay - two twins, both comfortable, with a private bath (clean). There was a very small TV connected to a satellite. But the furnishings were a bit run-down, as was the house. If you arrive at night, there's very little light to help you in the door - and that door didn't strike me as particularly secure. Overall, it felt several years past what should have been a comprehensive modernization and refurbishment. Ah, and though the wireless internet is for real, it is painfully slow.

And for $125/night, roughly comparable to the only decent hotel in town's price, Betsy's is WAY over-priced. Still, nice enough if you can't get in anywhere else, or don't want to stay outside of town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeltonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Lovely Victorian house up a short climb from centre of town - maybe 10 minutes walk. The room was comfortable and clean - not luxurious but adequate. We were missing a window blind / curtain. Breakfast was good. Car parking was fine. This was a really busy weekend but everything seemed to be run just fine. I don't know what everyone is whining about in the reviews but we enjoyed ourselves.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

A charming pair of Victorian homes with superb breakfasts, gracious staff and interesting fellow-travelers. I thoroughly enjoyed my three nights there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingwoman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The parking is very limited. The owner, Jon, hit our car. We were charged for the room in spite of the time and inconvenience of having to have our car fixed. The owners never apologized. We told our waiter at dinner in town our experience. He said "Betsy wears tepats in the family. The husband, Jon, has run for mayor and gets beaten badly." Betsy's B & B was a terrible experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank caseydong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montpelier hotels

Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Betsy's house is charming, old Victorian with some beautiful woodwork, expecially the stairs area. The room upstairs in the main house was quite large with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was excellent with fresh blueberry coffee cake, eggs made to order, wheat toast, and good sausage. I personally liked the cat and found her presence a great addition. The house is very close to restaurants and attractions.
That said, I would recommend that the owners clean up the garage or close the doors as the clutter there detracted from the look of the property. Also, I felt uncomfortable that the front door was unlocked and I had to use a bathroom down the hall from my room. I knew my room had a bathroom down the hall, but didn't know the house wasn't locked with no owner on the premises. I don't know why the owners don't lock the front door and give guests a key. The house could use a deep dusting, quite a bit dirtier than just about anyplace I've stayed in the price range.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sontjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed a night at Betsy's and found it to be just fine and I'm sure we'd stay there again if we're in Montpelier again. The room was clean and well-sized, as was the bathroom (although no shampoo?). The breakfast was very good and location was close enough to walk to downtown (although it sort of seems like every part of Montpelier is within walking distance of downtown). It's not a fancy b&b but definitely a good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miniapple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
0.3 mi away
Inn at Montpelier
Inn at Montpelier
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betsy's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betsy's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 E State St, Montpelier, VT 05602-3112
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features victorian furniture and home-cooked breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Betsy's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betsy`s Hotel Montpelier
Betsy`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing