We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and good food”
Review of NECI on Main

NECI on Main
Ranked #10 of 63 Restaurants in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: School St.
Description: Imagine the entire state of Vermont as a food experiment or as its own laboratory where food products are grown and created for this particular climate; seasonally, organically, and sustainably. Now imagine restaurants as teaching laboratories this restaurant for instance. NECI on Main is a production lab for New England Culinary Institute. For over 30 years we have been teaching students to make connections with farmers, between the landscape and our food, and between seasons and culinary traditions. Sometimes we include food items that express a particular sense of place from outside of Vermont, or culinary traditions from other cultures, and use those items or experiences to enhance the foods grown here in Vermont. Our menu is no exception in this teaching philosophy, and reflects the best that Vermont’s farmers, and America’s next generation of young chefs offer.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a large party from work there and they did a pretty good job. They are students so some things were a bit off from time to time--got the rotations of the orders off a couple of times so we had to figure out who had who's food--but nothing major. Food was definitely on the slow side to come out but again, we were in a large group so not unexpected.

Everyone seemed to really enjoy their food, I didn't hear any complaints. I had the prosciutto tapas and it was quite good. Followed up by the grass fed beef with green beans and mashed potatoes. Steak was cooked just as I ordered it and green beans nice and green and crispy. For dessert, a co-worker and I split the apple strudel and the creme brûlée. The flavor of both were awesome but the brûlée was on the definite thin side.

This place is worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil A, Manager at NECI on Main, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hi Kelly M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor members. We are so happy that you and your group enjoyed your time with us. We work closely with each of the students in order to get them up to speed and working as a team as quickly as possible. It is important for them to get feedback and to learn what they did right, and how to make changes that will affect the guest experience in a positive manner.

We have taken steps over the last week to address our portion sizes and we are working with the Chef Instructors and Culinary Students to make sure that you and all of our guests receive flavorful and carefully created dishes that reflect a fantastic value.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Neil Archibald
Manager/Instructor
New England Culinary Institute

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 252 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had not been here in years, and were happy to discover that they still have great food and service. We had a great meal and wish that we lived closer so that we could enjoy the experience more often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom03301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went for dinner at the NECI on Main without any reservation since we needed to survey the place before committing ourselves. That evening the restaurant was quite full however they were able to sit us in one of their tight inside table. In view of no reservation, we were very patient with their services. However after more than half an hour we had to call for their attention to order our drink. We understand that the place was known for its chefs-in-training but it was no excuse for not having proper servers. After our order of wine, nothing follow for a while. The common sense of offering bread should kept us occupied. Finally we had to raise our demand for services in order to order our meal. Controlling our temper, we enjoyed our dinner and some casual conversation with the next table. We must be the last table to leave the restaurant.

Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil A, Manager at NECI on Main, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Charn P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. I am sorry that your service was less than desirable. On behalf of NECI on Main, my staff and all of us who work very hard to make each guest feel special, I would like to apologize to you and your guests.

I have shared your comments with my staff and we will work diligently to make the changes that will provide a desirable experience for everyone who chooses to dine with us.

I would also like to extend you an offer to dine with us again as our guest. Please contact me directly at neil.archibald@neci.edu.

Again, thank you for your information.

Sincerely,
Neil Archibald
Manager/Instructor
New England Culinary Institute

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

we like to have lunch here occasionally and really like this place. it's school for the staff (new england culinary institute) so it's always an interesting experience. creative food, servers learning the trade in a very upmarket setting and a lovely outdoor dining space. it all adds up to an upscale dining experience in central vermont - worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mb300sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil A, Manager at NECI on Main, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Mb300sr,

Thank you for taking the time to review NECI on Main recently. We are proud of our tradition as a culinary school and helping our students "Learn by doing".

It is always nice to hear that we are achieving what we had set out to do.

Sincerely,

Neil Archibald
Manager/Instructor
New England Culinary Institute

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had an early dinner on a Wednesday night - which is $5 wine-by-glass night. We started with smoked salmon app and a cheese plate. Both were very good, well presented. For dinner the lady had a terrific chunk o f salmon, though the couscous was a bit bland. I had trouble choosing and ended on the chick schnitzel. It was very good. The menu choices are a bit limited - about 7 items - so avoid if you have trouble with this. Now the buts... a couple of negatives. One was the service. A couple times our wait-person came to table to bring or ask something and left without clearing obviously empty dishes or asking if we wanted re-fill of empty wine glasses. Also, there were several items on menu unavailable - brussel sprouts, asparagus, venison. This is ok - even expected in place tat works of farm-to-table - but we were not told of it until we ordered a couple of them. I hate that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil A, Manager at NECI on Main, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Morgan2010,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your meals and hope that you will visit again in the near future.

I must acknowledge and apologize for our shortcoming, however. We strive to serve only local, fresh produce and sometimes that means that we are not able to offer what is on the menu. Rest assured, this is the exception to the rule. We are working with both our Front of House and Back of House staffs to insure that changes are communicated clearly and this information gets passed along to the guest immediately.

As for your service, I am sorry it was not up to standard. We are continuously working with our staff to help them learn and perform their jobs at a high level. This information has been shared with them and Management Team and will be used to address training issues and help develop our staff to its best possible potential.

Sincerely,
Neil Archibald
Manager/Instructor
New England Culinary Institute

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NECI on Main also viewed

 

Been to NECI on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing