We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing meal, average service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NECI on Main

NECI on Main
Reserve with OpenTable
NECI on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 57 Restaurants in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: School St.
Description: Imagine the entire state of Vermont as a food experiment or as its own laboratory where food products are grown and created for this particular climate; seasonally, organically, and sustainably. Now imagine restaurants as teaching laboratories this restaurant for instance. NECI on Main is a production lab for New England Culinary Institute. For over 30 years we have been teaching students to make connections with farmers, between the landscape and our food, and between seasons and culinary traditions. Sometimes we include food items that express a particular sense of place from outside of Vermont, or culinary traditions from other cultures, and use those items or experiences to enhance the foods grown here in Vermont. Our menu is no exception in this teaching philosophy, and reflects the best that Vermont’s farmers, and America’s next generation of young chefs offer.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing meal, average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at NECI. We were not pleased when arriving a few minutes before our reservation time, we were turned away by the hostess. If NECI was not part of our travel plans, we would not have returned because of this. But, we did return and enjoyed the wonderful meal. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    85
    37
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We happened to be passing through over the weekend just in time for Sunday brunch. The heirloom tomato caprese salad (underdressed, but I topped it with their great tapenade), potato rosti, charcuterie table and macaroons were the stand outs. Not everything was perfect – salmon en croute was not sufficiently crispy and underseasoned, but the fish was perfectly cooked, and the “babaghanoush and houmous” should just be renamed (eggplant and chickpea mash?). Still, I recommend the place highly – great value for money!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DBriones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NECI Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Restaurant is run by the New England Culinary Institute. Vermont fresh products when in season. Nice bar in basement. Always quality food but small portions.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank vtsnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Danville, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very pleasant meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The dinner we had was well cooked and imaginative. We were served by a professional waiter who acts as a role model for the student staff. His service was impeccable and added greatly to our enjoyment of the meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
210 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“NECI is Slipping Again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

One of the other reviewers described eating at NECI (also known as Main Street Bar and Grill) as sort of a "restaurant roulette" because of the uneven quality of food and service-- sometimes good, sometimes bad, sometimes just indifferent. My experience goes back years with the restaurant and includes periods of very good (or better) food and service, followed by a decline in both, and then a return to better performance, followed by . . . . You get the idea. Someone is falling down on the job at NECI, and you can see it in the ebb and flow of quality and patronage. Prices seem to be up, and you can never be sure how your meal will turn out. Most recently, we had a meal for four-- our waitress was pleasant but not particularly professional or attentive-- water glasses remained unfilled, bread ran out and was only refilled after a long delay-- the refilled bread basket arrived at the same time as desert. The food was just okay. Too bad about NECI-- it has had some great moments but is slipping again into mediocrity.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MontpelierGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NECI on Main also viewed

 

Been to NECI on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing