We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”

J Morgan's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
J Morgan's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tayler Street
Description: Our award winning restaurant J.Morgan's Steakhouse, not only caters to the hotel guest, it is among the top locals restaurants in the very culinary city of Montpelier. We have become known for our hand cut aged-in house steaks and the freshest seafood available in the region, homemade desserts and large portions. Our expertise in wine and great variety of our own martinis and seasonal drinks makes J.Morgan's Steakhouse a place that you will run back to.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

OK, it's in a hotel. The servings were large for lunch, but not special. In Vermont, we are sooo lucky to have great food and local meats, but this didn't seem any different than average hotel food in any city.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    115
    44
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoy the food but don't order a cocktail”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We eat here occasionally and the food is good and very consistent. The portions are huge so if you order a dessert be sure you get a couple of forks because you'll want to share.

But, the drinks are terrible. Even if I order without ice, they taste watered down.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank VermontMoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbarton, NH
Level Contributor
250 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stopped by on our way to Burlington and had a fantastic buffet brunch; lots of choices, all beautifully prepared; everything hot and fresh. The service was really good, lots of parking; really a great experience. Lots of variety in the buffet, from breakfast to lunch to dinner; a little something for everyone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlennzWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VermontTravelfamily, Manager at J Morgan's Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Glennzwife,

Thank you for stopping for Sunday Brunch. I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to our chefs. They take great pride in providing a special Sunday Brunch for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston
Level Contributor
359 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Okay, but not what you would expect with a culinary college in the neighborhood”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Service is a bit slow. I stood for 10 minutes to be seated while one of the waitresses looked for something behind the counter. A hi would of gone a long way. Salad is two ribs of lettuce with cheese, tomatoes. Tasty but taking the art deco look a bit too far. Bread a bit on the stale side (sitting out? Maybe time for a new bakery). It comes sitting in the oil (interesting) so if you want it dry ask for it on the side. We had a fish special (bass with strawberry glaze) way too sweet almost like a jam liquid on top couldnt taste the fish at all. Too bad, when you have a nice fish you really want to let it shine. I had a chicken with mushroom pasta dish. The mushrooms were wonderful! Loved the pasta and the flavors. Chicken a bit dry but it would be good without the chicken! Oh and if you are staying in the hotel, the room service menu is WAY out of date (prices and menu options) not sure when they will update this.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank votenochains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our group had 3 different steaks. They were all excellent. The sides were very good with a nice balance of color...potato, squash and asparagus.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Morgan's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Montpelier, VT
 

Been to J Morgan's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing