We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% YUMMY”
Review of Birchgrove Baking

Birchgrove Baking
Ranked #2 of 3 Bakeries in Montpelier
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Birchgrove Baking is a cozy bakery located in Montpelier, Vermont. Every day, we prepare an assortment of breakfast pastries, scones, cookies, cakes, and tarts, all baked from scratch daily. We also offer house-made warm, fresh doughnuts on Sundays and, seasonally, our own ice cream pops, in addition to coffee and espresso drinks. Of course, we also offer wedding and birthday cakes and would be happy to work with you to plan the perfect cake for your event. Come by, grab a coffee and pastry and enjoy our quiet back deck overlooking the waterfall.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“100% YUMMY”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I moved to Montpelier from NYC and let's just say, humbly, that I know good eats. I don't recall how I found the Birchgrove but I will say that my life in VT changed from that moment on. I have happily bought and eaten their cakes, pastries and cookies for over 3 years now and have yet to try everything that they pristinely offer on a daily basis. Their baked goods are OUTRAGEOUSLY top notch, the space colorful and inviting and the staff and owners greet me like a true friend. If you live in Montpelier or are coming to visit us, your experience absolutely must include a visit to this bakery for some rich coffee and a perfect treat. Cheers to 100% YUMMY!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MISSGMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchgroveBakers, Owner at Birchgrove Baking, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! It's great to hear that we're doing a good job -- we try our best! Thank you so much for being a loyal customer! Always much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Bakery Ever”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stop here often for wonderful lattes and scrumptious scones, cookies, and pastries. The signature items are small desserts, priced at about $6 each, that work well if you want to sample several options. We especially like the bread pudding, key lime pie, and tres leches with mango. The staff are also friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank reneevermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchgroveBakers, Owner at Birchgrove Baking, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review! We always love to hear from loyal, repeat customers! It's nice to hear that you appreciate the tres leches cake. It's one of our personal favorites, especially now that spring is rolling around. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't go here if you want lunch!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were travelling through Vermont on our way to Montreal and were excited to stop here for lunch after reading their website and seeing the number 2 ranking. It was 2pm and there was NOTHING at all for lunch in the whole shop. The bakery case held about 8 individual items and that was it. We got coffees but they weren't great. It was very disappointing as we hoped for an easy-on/easy-off stop for non- junk food. Fortunately, we found the Cafe Brioche!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smittyandbuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchgroveBakers, Owner at Birchgrove Baking, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I'm so sorry that we weren't able to offer you more on the day that you visited. Sometimes we have an exceptionally busy day and, since we generally close at 3pm, we aren't always able to bake more items before closing. If you head our way again, please give us another try. We'd be happy to make things right for you, just ask for Jenn or John -- we're always there. Again, my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my latte and scone”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very happy to find Birchgrove Baking away from downtown Montpelier. My latte was delicious and the cheddar bacon scone was great. I highly recommend that you go here if you are in Montpelier.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchgroveBakers, Owner at Birchgrove Baking, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the short trip away from downtown to come and see us! Happy to hear you enjoyed your goodies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Love my Lattes!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Awesome lattes and great custom cakes... not to mention their delicious selection of fresh baked treats!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank usarmywife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirchgroveBakers, Owner at Birchgrove Baking, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. We love what we do and it's always great to hear that our customers enjoy what we do too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birchgrove Baking also viewed

 

Been to Birchgrove Baking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing