We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience I've had in a long, long time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The front lobby is clean and welcoming. The front desk had 2 people on staff when we checked in so the process went very quickly (traveling with a co-worker so 2 rooms). Then, both of the clerks who helped us were smiling, friendly and efficient. We walked away and I made a comment to my co-worked how wonderful they were. They even called up to our rooms to make sure everything was ok.

My room was spacious and offered a fridge and microwave. Beds and pillows were very comfortable and even offered both soft and firm pillows. Room and bathroom were both clean.

Breakfast this morning was awesome. They have a dedicated person overseeing everything so everything was well stocked and she was helping to guide people to what they were looking for. Also very friendly and genuine. Food was hot and fresh and everything quite clean.

They also have in room recycle bins--love this!!!

I highly recommend this place and would stay here again in a heartbeat, based on the service and the property.

Only draw back is I wish they took pets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for writing a review for our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel! Thank you for the compliments about our breakfast too! We take pride in offering a selection of hot items including waffles with real Vermont maple syrup. Again, thank you for your time and we can't wait to see you again in the future!

Janice Beach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 507 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is not a guest friendly facility. To reach the ramp from the parking lot to the lobby, one had to go to the end of the building. No elevator...3 story facility with plenty of space to put one.

The shower changed from warm to cold at will and the air conditioner was noisy.

Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.

Bed was comfy. Rooms were was clean if you didn't look in the corners of the bath or at the shelf holding the microwave.

Room Tip: Call ahead to be sure you can get a first floor room unless you like to drag your luggage up stairs/
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate you noticing that the access to our ramp is located within our handicap parking in the middle of our building for easier access. I am also excited to tell you that while we do not yet have an elevator, we are always happy to help our guests bring their luggage to their room. We pride ourselves on customer service and know that not having an elevator can be an inconvenience to some guests, so we are always here to help.

I'm happy to inform you that we are in the process of replacing all of our heating/AC units with newer models that are quieter and more energy efficient. We're very pleased that you enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast. We take great pride in our breakfast room and housekeeping department

The main floor is more accessible than our 1st and 3rd floors and we certainly do our best to put people on the level they prefer. We help any way we can when an inconvenience or problem is brought to our attention. Customer service is our main priority.

Again, thank you for the review and we hope that you visit the area again sometime!

Janice Beach
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Inn and Suites at Maplewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Room was comfortable, clean and large. Staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great before starting out for the day. The staff in the breakfast room were helpful and kept everything full and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your kind words and will share them with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Have a great day!

Janice Beach
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Inn and Suites at Maplewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place is really clean. And... they have complimentary freshly baked cookies, soft drinks, and bottled water in the lobby. I wouldn't expect this from a Comfort Inn. The front desk staff were also very friendly. It's situated behind a gas station, next to the highway, so the views aren't great and there's not a cute center of town to walk to, or anything... but if you're trying to find a quick overnight in VT that actually has a/c, this is a good choice... and again, there are cookies!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roo12357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words! We appreciate the time you took to write a review for our hotel. We are very proud of the different free amenities that we are able to offer our guests such as freshly baked cookies every day.
While it's true we do not have a center of town that is easily accessible by walking, we do have some good places in Montpelier that are certainly worth the short drive and we look forward to sharing those with you during your next visit!

Janice Beach
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Inn and Suites at Maplewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Although listed for Montpelier VT, this hotel is actually located a few miles away in Maplewood. It's an easy drive to Montpelier. Pluses: this hotel prides itself on its cleanliness. I was struck, upon entering the lobby, that all the telephone receivers were upside down in the cradles. Same in my room. I asked at the desk about this, and they confirmed my best guess: that whenever they find the receiver placed the 'normal' way, they clean it and then turn it so that earpiece and mouthpiece face up, to emphasize their cleanliness. Other strong points: in-room K-Cup coffee makers (such an improvement over those little plastic-tray-and-coffee-packet models! - and better tasting coffee, too); excellent fresh cookies and milk available all the time. Special feature: the syrup for the waffles in the morning is REAL Vermont maple syrup. What a treat! Bed was very comfortable. Possible downsides: there is no elevator. If you have a lot of luggage and you are on the upper floor, you have to haul it up. (There are nevertheless a lot of rooms on the same level as check-in.) I would have preferred a brighter light level in the room - it was too dim for my taste and comfort. The rooms come with free bottled water and there are free cans of soda pop in the lobby; I think this may be in response to the taste of the tap water, which I did try once and seemed to have a mineral taste. Photo is of Room 343 - very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank FlamingoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! It is true that we are physically in the town of Berlin, VT. The reason we are listed as Montpelier is because we don't have a post office in Berlin, we're too small! :)

Also, thank you for noticing our uniqueness in displaying our clean phones and our use of real Vermont maple syrup as well as our other free amenities!

I apologize that the room was not bright enough. While we try to use energy efficient bulbs, they certainly take longer to warm up. And while we filter the water we use to make coffee in the lobby and breakfast areas, the tap water itself is very salty. That is why we are always happy to provide as much bottled water as you would like.

Thank you very much for the wonderful photo of the room. It shows off our brand new bedding and the overall room very well!

We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again in the future! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Janice Beach
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Inn and Suites at Maplewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is great! Easy access off the highway, restaurants close by. Very nice, helpful staff, clean rooms and a nice breakfast in the morning. About a 15 minute drive to Norwich University. I would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are almost underground, and there is no elevator to the third floor, so opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmazz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We truly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled that you had a great time here! Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Janice Beach
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Inn and Suites at Maplewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I recently stayed here after attending a nearby graduation. I was very pleased with the comfort level of the beds and the options for pillow firmness. Was pleased with the complimentary breakfast, water, coffee, sodas, and cookies; was also pleased with the free wifi. The hotel had a clean, modern, and safe feel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yennivieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! We appreciate your feedback and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Comfort Inn and Suites at Maplewood. We hope that if you are in the Montpelier area again that you will stay with us! We hope to see you in the future!

Have a great day!
Janice Beach
Assistant General Manager
Comfort Inn and Suites at Maplewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
3.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
388 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
12.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
24.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.6 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn at Maplewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Maplewood

Address: 213 Paine Tpke N, Montpelier, VT 05602-9159
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Price Range: $111 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn at Maplewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 tastefully appointed guest rooms including 18 two room suites. Complimentary hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage and fresh waffles with Vermont maple syrup and much more to start your day! Complimentary wi-fi throughout. Each room is equipped with microwave, refrigerator, Kuerig coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, safe and voice mail. Flat screen TVs in each room with HD channels. Free bottles of water and k-cups in each room. Free long distance calls to anywhere in the US or Canada in the lobby. 24 hour fitness center and guest laundry. Located next to Applebee's Restaurant and Maplewood Convenience Store & Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn at Maplewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At Maplewood Hotel Montpelier
Comfort Inn Montpelier
Montpelier Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing