We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly more than I expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As someone who travels frequently and stays in several variety of hotels, I was apprehensive about staying at a Comfort Inn. It seemed closer to Barre which led me to have negative first impressions. Upon arriving I was presently surprised by the hotel.

The hotel was fresh and new as I walked into the lobby. The check in process was courteous and informative as well. It was a nice touch to have unlimited complimentary beverages such as soda, water, and free cookies.

My room was clean and had a nice updated look that would appeal to any weary traveler. Fresh linens and a comfy bed were nice too.

Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: The property doesn't have an elevator.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrimeExcursionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn at Maplewood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 499 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night when attending an event at Norwich University and the Model Railroad show in Essex. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Complimentary beverages were available as noted in other reviews. If you have a family member with food allergies there is a Shaw's store with a wide variety of foods just across the road. (There is a small fridge in the room and a microwave in the breakfast area). The complimentary breakfast is more complete than many hotels office and includes a waffle maker, bacon, eggs, fruit, hard boiled eggs, yougurt...and more. Not to mention the Real Maple Syrup!

Near I-89 but quiet. Room was basic but clean and comfortable. Bathroom, recently remodeled, was clean & the fowels were fresh. I don't stay at hotels to hole up in my room - it is a safe place to sleep and grab a bite to eat between explorations, meetings, or events. This Comfort Inn was just what we needed to stage our travels. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveS_2EAT48102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend. Great three story (no elevator) motor lodge with smaller but clean room with well lit parking. Hotel is fronted by Applebees and a 24*7 Gas and Convenience Station across the street from a large new Shaw's Supermarket. Directly off the I89 while $125 per night this is a great choice for clean and generally comfortable accommodations. Area is generally quiet and while trucks seem to park in the large lot and snowmobile park adjacent to the facility you don't hear any outside noise or adjacent noise.

Room was moderately renovated with new bedding with smaller but numerous pillows. TV is LG LED with solid picture and diverse cable channels including HBO and HBO2. Small refrigerator and microwave and in closet safe are included. If you like firm bedding you will like these. Bathroom has elongated shower bar with night light, heat lamp and newer fixtures. My only issue is that while two double beds there's a small useless table in the corner. Room is too small for this setup and should be one double bed with a desk but maybe they have other configurations.

As to the service, room was immaculate. I'm a picky traveler and they did an exceptional job. Carpets are newer and were clean. As to the front desk staff friendly and constantly offering bottled water (provided for free in rooms and at desk), fresh baked cookies and decent breakfast. Did I mention rooms have a Keurig Coffee brewer with provided Green Mountain Blend and Decaf. Cool touch.

To the Management: I would recommend that the hotel offer more fruit choices than bananas and apples but generally a decent included breakfast with fair coffee. Some of the lights in the parking light have been replaced with green friendly LED's (Nice touch) but there are several that are not yet working. Hotel soap and shampoo say made in China thus suggest you bring your own..



I used this hotel as a mid point between ski resorts (1 hour to Burke, 30 minutes to Sugarbush or Bolton Valley).

Tip: Great food is less than 15 minutes away in Waterbury VT. See my review of the Reservoir.

Room Tip: All Rooms Face the Parking lot and there are no elevators. If you are a solo traveler try to get a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelluswhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here while attending girls Ice hockey playoffs at Norwich U. Used a rewards night, and had a great time. Asked for, and received, early check-in and late check-out! great breakfast set-up, complete with REAL Vermont maple syrup! Kuering coffe maker in room, with all the refills you want. Free soda and water along with afternoon fresh baked cookies was a treat! Friendly staff. Room was recently renovated, and nice and clean. Only thing lacking was an indoor pool and jacuzzi. Guess you cannot have it all! We will stay here again for sure, if we are in the area!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W38Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night while attending a conference nearby. The room was spotless clean and well appointed with a microwave, fridge, and even an ironing board. Complementary beverages is a plus! What relay make the stay great was the friendly helpful staff! It's a quick ride to downtown Montpelier and I would stay again if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerininNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrive a little late due to 5 inches of snow but were warmly welcomed, check in was easy and the room comfortable and warm!
Breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice, (Although there was a lot of peewee hockey players there that night which made it a little noisy and difficult at Breakfast with them taking up all the room!).
Overall we would gladly stay there again as it is really convenient for Montpelier and the local area.

Room Tip: Just don't go if there is a hockey team and all there parents staying too!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicos41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a cut above your average comfort inn but I didn't expect the $130 price tag. Must be the skiiers bumping up the in season price, dunno. Room was nice and clean. I thought the place was up to date. Next time I visit Norwich I will plan ahead...

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank rcb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
3.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
384 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
12.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
24.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.6 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn at Maplewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Maplewood

Address: 213 Paine Tpke N, Montpelier, VT 05602-9159
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Price Range: $104 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn at Maplewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 tastefully appointed guest rooms including 18 two room suites. Complimentary hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage and fresh waffles with Vermont maple syrup and much more to start your day! Complimentary wi-fi throughout. Each room is equipped with microwave, refrigerator, Kuerig coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, safe and voice mail. Flat screen TVs in each room with HD channels. Free bottles of water and k-cups in each room. Free long distance calls to anywhere in the US or Canada in the lobby. 24 hour fitness center and guest laundry. Located next to Applebee's Restaurant and Maplewood Convenience Store & Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn at Maplewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At Maplewood Hotel Montpelier
Comfort Inn Montpelier
Montpelier Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing