We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I've had good experiences with Comfort Inns until now. Although the location is quick and easy to reach from I-89 and the staff was very friendly, the overall condition of our room was shabby. We arrived late in the evening and found that the sink drain was clogged. The heater was blowing so loud that we had difficulty sleeping in the smaller-than-usual room. This might be OK if it was a cheap room but the rate we paid was just $20 less than the absolutely beautiful room we moved on to in Montreal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank useuropehybrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    128
    37
    17
    10
See reviews for
152
158
29
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were suprised that this motel did not have an elevator. We were on the second food in the middle so this was unhandy. The staff were very friendly and helpful One fellow stated a good place to eat for the night and he was right it was a great place to eat. The rooms very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was GREAT! Worth the wait on a table and food. We would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonBarling_Ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I know it's Vermont, but I was still surprised to find real maple syrup in the free breakfast room. The room opened at 6 a.m. and it was always immaculate and provided a nice selection. All the staff of the Inn were helpful and friendly and it was a pleasure to interact with them.

Bottled water is free in the rooms, and a Keurig coffee maker (Green Mountain Coffee) is provided along with a tiny refrigerator and microwave. I was surprised by the view from our room on the back side of the hotel. Since in front of the hotel is a gas station and Applebee's, I was expecting to see the highway or a more commercial area. However, when we opened our curtains, we were looking straight into the woods, and it seemed as if we were really in the mountains of Vermont.

We had no trouble with the free Wifi and the room was very clean. We would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the back side so you're looking at woods instead of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJLibrarian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear NJLibrarian_11,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel! We certainly appreciate warm compliments as the folks here work really hard to make you feel at home.

You bring up a great point to ask for the back side of the hotel if you would like a view of the maple trees. Many travelers don't ask for a specific part of the hotel for their room choice and find themselves disappointed with their experience.

Sue Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend, while attending a wedding at the Round Barn. The hotel staff was so friendly and helpful. The room and hotel in general were quite comfortable. I expected it to be a bit outdated, but was pleasantly surprised. It looks like it has been renovated fairly recently. All the accomodations and furniture seemed new.
The hotel provides beverages 24 hours and fresh cookies from midday through the evening. The free hotel breakfast was pretty good, providing both hot and cold options. It's better than the usual free breakfast.
The only drawback from our stay, was it was about a 30-40 minute drive to the Round Barn. However, the price was so reasonable it was well worth it to stay here versus some of the inns and BB's closer to the venue.
All in all, a great spot in Vermont. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellbell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear shellbell09,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review. Unfortunately I can't get TripAdvisor to get that dreaded floral bedspread photo off our site - which makes it look like we haven't updated our rooms in a while. We are renovating by going through one room at a time and there have been several changes behind the scenes. We take great pride in this place and love it when folks notice.

Sounds like you all had a wonderful time at the Round Barn. Definitely worth the drive to see, even if you are not going to an event there. Waitsfield/Warren is a beautiful part of the state.

Thank you and we truly look forward to seeing you again!

Sue Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you can get past the highway noise out front, and don't mind the view (the back of an Irving gas station), this is a good place to spend a night or two. Milk and cookies are served in the lobby every afternoon, and a variety of free amenities make the hotel a good value. Internet service was very iffy - slow at times and non-existent in some parts of the property: a real drawback to business travelers. Staff was very attentive and welcoming. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: The back side is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank table42-justus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear table52-justus,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We listen to what everyone has to say about their experience and while we can not fix the view of Maplewood convenience store - we did upgrade our wi-fi system last night. Tested it this morning and am very happy to say huge improvements have been made.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again!

Sue Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Room was great; spacious and very clean. Lovely views, easy parking, courtesy call to make sure we were happy with everything about half an hour after check in. Price was excellent, would definitely stay there again, as well as recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSMAVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear KSGVermont,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Sue Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Good value for the Montpelier area, but somewhat expensive for comfort inn, room was very up to date and comfortable. Rooms with odd numbers would be on the back side of the property and away from the parking lot noise in the morning. Limited options for dinner right at the property, with Applebees being the only on property choice. Be sure and make the time to go to Ben & Jerrys for the tour and some ice cream

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplewoodMontpelier, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Jerry061,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We really appreciate your business.

One of my favorite stops - that is just past Ben & Jerry's - is also the Cabot Annex. You can wander around and fill up on delectable cheese bites and different spreads that Cabot Cheese has to offer. Definitely don't stop by with a full tummy!

Hope that you have a chance to visit us again!

Best Regards,

Sue Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
3.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
376 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
24.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.6 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn at Maplewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Maplewood

Property: Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Address: 213 Paine Tpke N, Montpelier, VT 05602-9159
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn at Maplewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 tastefully appointed guest rooms including 18 two room suites. Complimentary hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage and fresh waffles with Vermont maple syrup and much more to start your day! Complimentary wi-fi throughout. Each room is equipped with microwave, refrigerator, Kuerig coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, safe and voice mail. Flat screen TVs in each room with HD channels. Free bottles of water and k-cups in each room. Free long distance calls to anywhere in the US or Canada in the lobby. 24 hour fitness center and guest laundry. Located next to Applebee's Restaurant and Maplewood Convenience Store & Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn at Maplewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At Maplewood Hotel Montpelier
Comfort Inn Montpelier
Montpelier Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing