We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveler rating
348
147
40
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
147
40
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies maple syrup gas station bottled water no elevator front desk waffles soft drinks bacon applebee's restaurant board games room was clean off the highway right next door free long distance little extras king suite
Filter
Updating list...
444 - 449 of 563 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great hotel. Very clean. Good breakfast, friendly staff, free bottled water and soft drinks, comfortable beds, quiet room. Applebees located convienently right next door. No problems whatsoever encountered during our stay. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing place to spend the night while traveling through this area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wac0traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonterwantingsun, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear wac0traveler,

Thank you so very much for posting such a wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time to do so and truly hope you come back and visit us again soon! ~ Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and found the hotel to be average. The staff were friendly and helpful, but we were disappointed in the room. We had a 2 double bed room, which was clean but quite small as was the bathroom. I wanted a relaxing bath after traveling all day, but gave up when after waiting 15 minutes, still just had a couple of inches of water in the tub. One of the beds was too soft for my liking, the other was comfortable but the blanket and bedspread had seen better days. I requested an extra top sheet which I put over the blanket which helped. There weren't many channels on the TV, but there is free internet access which was nice. Free breakfast was good, with the usual fare. No elevator, no pool. The hotel is convenient to Montpelier and Barre. Somewhat pricey for what it is, but seems to be the only decent hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaleyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonterwantingsun, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear HaleyNewJersey,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel! We have 100% commitment to your satisfaction here at the Comfort Inn. If you are not satisfied with your accomodation or service, we ask that our Guests let the Front Desk know without delay so we can make it right. If we don't hear from you and there was an issue with your room, we can't fix it while you are here or for the next Guest. So, all comments are truly appreciated!

We hope you had a wonderful time in Central Vermont and please do not hesitate to contact me directly next time you are in the area! ~ Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The staff here is very helpful and it s a pleasant hotel. A nice common area where a few games are available. Tea and coffee are also available all day as well as soda. Cookies are put out in the afternoon and bottled water is provided every day. There is a gym (no pool) and a laundry. The rooms are nice but small. The down side is that there isn't an elevator and it is several miles to Montpelier. It is actually in Berlin, between Montpelier and Barre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonterwantingsun, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Highroads,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon! ~ Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend. From check-in to check-out, it was a wonderful experience. Rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. My second floor room overlooked a group of trees - very relaxing view! The breakfast was outstanding;, both in quality and variety; the lobby was warm and inviting, with cookies and soft drinks/tea/coffee available at no charge; staff was very helpful and friendly. They recommended some great activities and great restaurants. The location is convenient to many activities in the area. I can recommend them highly to anyone visiting in that area.
Kathy P.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonterwantingsun, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Kathy P,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon! (PS thank you for taking the time to let ChoiceHotels how we are doing as well!!!) ~ Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice clean room, good breakfast bar, complementary drinks. Applebees will deliver to the front desk. Only down side, is that there isn't an elevator. Coin laundry is on location.
Good location, close to grocery but still a short drive to town. Not noisy.
Hotel coffee is ok, but the coffee at the gas station out front is really good(it's Green Mountain). The local beer, Switchback is a must try.
The hotel has professional staff, who are on top of their game.
Food prices are high in the area, expect to pay more for your food.
Clean linens, but the pillows need replacing.
This is the only real choice for a hotel in the area, as the competing Econolodge is VERY rundown and nasty. Pull into their parking lot and you will see why(and know that it gets worse as you go inside-and keeps getting worse, and worse).
They need to expand the parking lot. This place does get packed, and book your reservation early.
The town is very trendy and hip, lot of happening places to eat at. I was here in the spring/summer time, I can imagine how lovely this place would be in the winter.
The wifi always worked, but they could always use more bandwith...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonterwantingsun, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Jonathon W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. Did you have the opportunity to try the Keurig coffee maker in your room with the Green Mountain K Cups? Next time you stay let me put together a variety pack to try in your room. (Maplewood Convenience store does have great coffee too!)

Thank you also for pointing out that we do not have an elevator! Travel tip - please let the Front Desk know you want the main floor when you reserve your room. Most folks love upstairs and we are here to help with luggage at any time.

Thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to write a wonderful review. Hope to see you again soon! ~ Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews