We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

After abandoning a shabby hotel experience we were able to book at room at this hotel for the night. Stepping in to the lobby was a sigh of relief. The entrance way was beautifully decorated in a fall theme with a massive basket of apples. Inside the lobby was complimentary mini sodas, hot cider and cookies.

The staff was quick and helpful, we were in our room in a matter of minutes. The room we had for the night was a King with living room and kitchenette. I was happy to see the room was very clean and well prepared. Lots of little extras like easy to access free wifi, Green Mountain coffee Kcups and bottled water. Large flat screen televisions in both the living room and bedroom with a comfy couch and big windows. The bed was massive and comfy, the only downside was small pillows instead of just 2-3 large ones.

The bathroom was clean with a nice size shower and tub, lots of fluffy towels.

The breakfast was your standard breakfast, though I did enjoy the make-your-own Belgian waffle with strawberry batter and real Vermont maple syrup. The pastries tasted fresh and lots of fresh fruit to grab for a snack later.

I was pleased with my stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I venture from the B&B I adore in Plainfield.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty with stairs, it would be best to request the first floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBLemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonterwantingsun, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! This is our favorite time of the year when we go all out with decorations, and incorporate the smells of UVM Ochards Apples, fresh hot cider and warm cookies. Making our Guests feel at home is what we love to do!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn at Maplewood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 499 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed one night and put in a room in the basement near the laundry. Carpet was worn and the room smelled of mold. Still I was tired and the beds were comfy. Breakfast is included and was standard fare. Better than the Hilltop but the town really needs some competition.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank luischable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonterwantingsun, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review! Unfortunately, Vermont has seen an excessive amount of rain and flooding this year. We have worked really hard to stay on top of any moisture issue in all of our rooms and do our best to make sure your room is perfect on arrival. Thankfully, we were able to determine which room you stayed in and have gone through that room looking for any evidence of mold. Please, if you are ever in the Central Vermont area again, contact us directly and ask for the Assistant General Manager. We can't fix what we don't know about and unfortunately problems surface on Trip Advisor after the fact. Our Owners and Staff all work very hard to make you feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were completely satisfied with our stay. The only drawback is that there is no stairs to the second floor, so if you have a disability then book on the first floor. But other than that everything was great. The room, and the hotel in general was very clean. The staff were friendly. Getting a late checkout was not a problem. It is easy access off the i89. The room is nice, nice furniture, good air conditioning. Lots of freebies like free internet and a PC in the lobby, free long distance phone calls in the lobby, free milk and cookies, free bottled water, free soda. Excellent free breakfast which includes bacon, eggs, waffles, real maple syrup, and a lot of other stuff. We were very impressed with this hotel and we do intend to go back next time we return to Vermont.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontario_CanadaTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonterwantingsun, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sue Martin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Montpelier is not a large city and I was leery about choosing a hotel. I felt this was the best choice in the area and I was right. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are nice and well appointed. I appreciated the room amenities especially the refrigerator and the microwave.

The breakfast was very good and a just what I needed to start my morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulEBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonterwantingsun, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate your business and if there is anything we can do for you in the future please do not hesitate to contact us directly at [--].

Management,
Comfort Inn & Suites at Maplewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Pros: Free internet, soft drinks, cookies, GREAT BREAKFAST included (highly recommend the waffles!), and nice customer service. They let us check into our room hours before schedule and within 10 min's of arriving to our room they called to see if we needed everything. A/C worked great - which was invaluable because it was HOT outside! Very affordable price as well.
Cons: Ice machine broke, TV had some grainy channels and no disney channel! Also, NO POOL.
Overall, for the price and location, I couldn't have been happier with our stay. If we are in town again we would definitely book here.

Room Tip: If you are in town for funeral, ask about funeral rate
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huskiefan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonterwantingsun, General Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Management
Comfort Inn & Suites at Maplewood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

As a Director of Sales of a high end Vermont hotel myself, I feel compelled to write my first personal review on this site. I have read some of the other reviews and find myself asking if they stayed at the same hotel that I did! Everything went as well as it could possibly have gone. We checked in early and were welcomed with open arms; we also felt no prejudice checking in as a same-sex family. Gordon was our check-in and check-out agent and he was great. I especially liked that he said "don't be afraid to touch anything in your room" when it came to no hidden fees with anything. Keurig coffee in the room, bottled water, free soda, fresh baked cookies & milk in the afternoon! Our room was one of the older rooms and it was clean and well appointed with a mini-fridge and microwave (perfect for a family!). We also enjoyed the free internet as we had just come from two nights in Burlington where we had to pay $10 a day to connect. Breakfast was fabulous with regular and chocolate waffles available! The kids were very excited about the two different kinds. We found everyone to be helpful and friendly. The week before our stay our eldest daughter needed a hotel in Montpelier so she stayed here as well. She raved about it upon returning home so we knew it was a good place to call when we decided to visit Montpelier. Although the rates had just gone up for the season, the agent on the phone was willing to match the rate we had paid the week prior. Thank you for the great customer service, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Everything was just ok. Despite our requesting early checkin, they had no record of it in their system and made no effort to get us in before 3pm even though they could see we had a four-year-old who was obviously tired. The clerks at the desk weren't very well-trained and had a bit of an attitude. The hotel is old so there is no elevator and no automatic doors which makes it all but inaccessible if you have special needs. For what they charge for rooms, you'd definitely expect more. No pool and tacky advertisements for restaurants and area businesses on all sorts of things from the channel guide to the room keys. Also, don't expect late checkout. Not very accommodating. On the plus side, they are the one hotel with availability in town when all the other hotels are booked. Not really a surprise.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWanderingArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranchguru, Manager at Comfort Inn at Maplewood, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for your honest opinion of our Hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

I sincerely apologize for the lack of understanding on our part in meeting your needs. Had Management known there was an issue, we would have stepped up and made certain that a room would have been available prior to check-in time. Our staff strives for excellent customer service and obviously we dropped the ball on your stay. We do also offer late check out - all you have to do is ask.

If you are in the area again - please contact me directly and I will ensure a wonderful stay.

Sue
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
3.3 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
384 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
12.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
24.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.6 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn at Maplewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Maplewood

Address: 213 Paine Tpke N, Montpelier, VT 05602-9159
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Price Range: $107 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn at Maplewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 tastefully appointed guest rooms including 18 two room suites. Complimentary hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage and fresh waffles with Vermont maple syrup and much more to start your day! Complimentary wi-fi throughout. Each room is equipped with microwave, refrigerator, Kuerig coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, safe and voice mail. Flat screen TVs in each room with HD channels. Free bottles of water and k-cups in each room. Free long distance calls to anywhere in the US or Canada in the lobby. 24 hour fitness center and guest laundry. Located next to Applebee's Restaurant and Maplewood Convenience Store & Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn at Maplewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At Maplewood Hotel Montpelier
Comfort Inn Montpelier
Montpelier Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing