We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capitol Plaza - Cozy, Comfortable & Clean”
Review of Capitol Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capitol Plaza
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Capitol Plaza - Cozy, Comfortable & Clean”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

When in Montpelier (Vermont's state capitol) or Barre area, don't bother trying to find any other place to stay that would be any better than the Capitol Plaza. The rooms are extraordinarily roomy and comfortable: bed and bath linens are wonderful, the beds are heavenly and the amenities are as good as you get at any 5 star resort (toiletries, bathrobe, gourmet coffee maker, bed throw). When you add in the relatively good hotel rate (@$180), the location of the hotel (right in downtown Montpelier within short walking distance of restaurants, movie theaters and shops), plus a FABULOUS steak restaurant and bar, you just can't want for more. I have stayed here off and on now for over 5 years and it remains a favorite and consistently top notch.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    125
    63
    21
    11
See reviews for
103
105
20
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I didnt book this hotel but my wife did based on what she found on Trip Advisor.

I'm not particularly picky and found this hotel in need of work to bring it into the current century. I was afraid to go to sleep because it looked like it had been a long time since anyone cleaned under and behind the bed. Made me wonder what was living back there.

Generally the hotel was ok but the rooms need to be cleaned better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovesnowmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. Both before and after the upgrades. We were so pleased to find it, especially after trying other places in the area.
We thought it was fine and a very good deal. They did a successful upgrade - not just a cosmetic one but improving the quality of the beds, the linens and the furnishings. We also enjoy the bathrobes- one less thing to pack. I have never written a review before but after seeing all the negative reviews , I felt compelled to write.
One more thing they serve a fabulous weekend brunch- at the attached restaurant- very reasonable and high quality- it seem to be the place that the locals come for brunch. very popular.We have family in Montpelier and visit often- it has become our home away from home. Also they give a discounted rate for AARP, Triple A and Military.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13robin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We spent a busy weekend in Montpelier at the Capital Plaza.

The Hotel didnt seem all that bad from the start. The Hotel Personnel were friendly but a bit stoic. The room we stayed in for the weekend was almost up to our expectations.

We did run into a couple difficulties including noisy people in the room next to us who had some overwhelming need to keep going in and out of their room very late on both nights. It wouldnt have been bad if they had been in the habit of closing the door softly but instead they hadnt been well versed in being thoughtful while in a public hotel.

Our room phone appeared to have a short in the wiring. It had so much static on it. In addition, the shower did not want to drain normally, so the water level rose rapidly while showering. Not the best weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrokebackMountainLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We recently had our wedding reception at the Capitol Plaza hotel and had a wonderful experience. The staff was great, food was very good, and rooms were clean, modern, and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was excellent as well. I would highly recommend the Capitol Plaza if you are looking for a location for your wedding reception or if you are just looking for a nice place to go for the night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R102310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Seriously, who does that? I've heard of jewelry and electronics disappearing, but the maid stole my shoes from the room and management did nothing about. Sure they were a nice pair of shoes, so yes, she has good taste, but I don't appreciate her stealing my belongings. I do not recommend this dump. I left barefoot and cold.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BizTrvlr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We attended one of the Election Parties/Gatherings on November 4th. Had never had the need to stay at Capital Plaza before and after what we went through we sure wont stay in the future.

The party itself was great. The hotel sucked. We ran across vomit in the hallway downstairs which seemed to be there for an excessive amount of time before it got cleaned up. There was vomit smell near the front desk that someone must have left earlier in the afternoon.

Our room looked like something out of an Alfred Hitchcock Movie. It was almost that scary. The lighting in the room needs a lot of improvement. The dim glow of the room left us a bit uncomfortable. The checkin desk was extremely busy of course but they were pleasant and accommodating. Would we go back to Capital Plaza. Absolutely not. There must be a jazzier place in town and we'll look next time there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazzplayer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montpelier
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
491 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
0.3 mi away
Inn at Montpelier
Inn at Montpelier
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 4 in Montpelier
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza

Property: Capitol Plaza
Address: 100 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montpelier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Montpelier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the conveniences and location of a city hotel, with the charm of a VT country inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Montpelier
Capitol Plaza Hotel Montpelier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing