We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The attention to every detail was extraordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
1 review
“The attention to every detail was extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

My husband and I have lived in Europe and have traveled extensively through Europe and the United States. We have been very fortunate to frequently stay in 5 star hotels. Our stay at the Phineas Swann in Montgomery, Vermont reminded us of the many different 5 star hotels we have frequented. The attention that is paid to their guests, without being overbearing was refreshing. There was not one thing that we could have asked for that was not already included in our stay. The staff including Emmy, Karen & Jessica were exceptional. From the delicious breakfast to the luxurious beds, it was very hard to leave such an outstanding B&B.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    34
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
157
543
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

I've skied at Jay a few times and the Phineas Swan is a great place to stay if you're traveling with a significant other. Its only 8 miles from the mountain. Its clean, comfortable, cozy and romantic. The breakfasts are out of this world! Relaxing in the hot tub after a day of skiing was sublime. The room we stayed in (the Red Room) was small but only because the bed is so HUGE! Probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The common areas of the B&B were also very comfortable, we spent most of our time sitting by the wood burning fireplace in the evenings. Overall the stay was great, we felt very looked after by Jay and John and their wonderful staff Jim, Emma, Jessica and Karen.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

John and Jay piled the yard with snow and piled the beds with blankets.

Emmy and Karen and Jessica piled the plates with great food and even made to-go sandwiches for the early flight.(and a great tip on the French bistro in Burlington!)

Jim even kept the fireplace filled with fresh wood deep into the night.

All we had to do was eat , sleep, relax and hot tub in the cold.

Thanks to all for a great Christmas at our own "Holiday Inn"

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

We have been meaning to write our review for awhile. Feb 2009 was our second visit. We discovered the inn in January 2007 after a long day of skiing Jay Peak. We stumbled in tired and weary and pretty much felt as if we had found heaven – especially considering we were unexpected and it was a little late. The house is warm and welcoming; like you are staying with friends that happen to own the most accommodating home. The Red Room is amazing – I am still trying to get my bed as comfy. Everything is clean, clean, clean!

Our second trip was for Valentine’s Day 2009. Again in the Red Room and again it was amazing! I didn’t leave the Inn for two days (except to eat) and it was so relaxing and rejuvenating.
Jay and John are awesome. Their commitment to their Inn and their guests is second to none. They are both very knowledgeable about the area and gave us excellent recommendations on both visits.
Their guestbook is my favorite! On our second visit it had a lot more information and I read it cover to cover. The staff is incredible and the breakfast is really something not to be missed.

We plan on returning again and again – it will always be a very special place for us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forced2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Ct
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

Most relaxing stay I ever had. Beautiful rooms, grounds, loaded with antiques and figurines. Emmy & Karen give the place that real Vermont charm. They are excellent cooks and very friendly. I'll be back, just wish I could live there!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameboat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

My husband and I and our dog, Beau, had a delightful long weekend at your B&B. The breakfasts were delicious, the River House Second floor suite was lovely. Your staff are incredible - very friendly and accomadating. We had the good fortune to meet Janis, Emmy, Karen and Jessica. All of them were outstanding. This is the best B&B we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaus_wacky_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

We had an opportunity to spend two nights at the Phineas Swann. It is obvious that John and Jay have covered all details for guests, leaving no stone unturned. The inn is charming, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. A special thanks to Emmy, Karen and Gwenn for their hospitality. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxSperanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
15.7 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
15.7 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center
Phineas Swann b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing