We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phineas Swann B&B - accommodations that show exquisite attention to detail.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Hampshire
1 review
“Phineas Swann B&B – accommodations that show exquisite attention to detail.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

As always...our time in Vermont was wonderful! But I must say that our stay at Phinneas Swann B&B was fantastic. We loved the decorations in the rooms and we both agreed that our comfort level was excellent. Watching TV later we felt like we were in the comfort of our home. A special treat when away!
The property was inspiring to say the least. I personally spend many hours in my gardens and appreciate the time spent and the joy they bring! A wonder of color and fragrance at Phineas Swann B&B.
BREAKFAST was awesome!
Due to the start of the Disc Golf Tournament I was competing in, we were not able to enjoy the morning breakfast. But to our unexpected pleasure a box breakfast was prepared for us. Thank you to Karen and Emmy it was better than great! Fresh fruit, egg sandwiches, blueberry muffins, fresh coffee. Believe me, I made sure I told everyone at the discgolf tournament about it. We even gave a sandwich to one of the event participants and he couldn't thank us enough! I told him where it came from. :)

Not sure when, but I know we will be back!
We really want to experience Dinner and Breakfast! :)
It was nice meeting Jay, and we look forward to meeting John.

Rich & Diane Reilly
Rochester, NH

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richrdzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    34
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
158
543
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We just got back from the Phineas Swann where we met the nicest, most hospitable people. Emmy and Karen were wonderful. They always made us feel welcome and gave us our breakfast with a smile on their face. The room was spectacular and contained everything we could possibly want. Our dog was welcomed, catered to and felt loved by everyone. We can't wait to return to this perfect, dog-friendly Vermont B & B.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

I haven't often stayed in B&Bs but, after having stayed at the Phineas Swann, I'm a convert to bed and breakfasts. Well, I'm a convert if all other B&Bs can live up to the standard of this establishment. Upon arriving, my partner and I were greeted by Jay and led through the entire house and its beautiful gardens so as to make us completely at home. Throughout our stay there, we felt like more than guests, we felt like we were home. The staff — Karen, Emmy and Barrett — were so very friendly, warm and eager to treat us like we belonged and were very much welcome in this beautiful house. The fact that this B&B is dog-friendly is a definite plus. Jay is very helpful with guidance on what to do in the area and provides a large binder rich in details on day trips, restaurants, and attractions. We will most definitely be returning. In fact, this B&B is a big reason to go back to this part of Vermont.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegletes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoofMom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Jay, John & their marvelous staff (thank you Emmy & Karen!) immediately make you feel so very welcome. They personally attend to your every want or need & chocolate craving!
Local information is always at their fingertips & they have the best suggestions for adventures in the area. Breakfasts are out of this world...think homemade hot-out-of-the oven blueberry muffins, sausage, eggs, bacon, homemade waffles, crepes - a gastronome's delight! Every room is decorated with such attention to detail and your ultimate comfort...this isn't just a bed & breakfast...it's a destination for relaxation & the good life!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoofMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

The hotel is comfortable and beautiful and the staff is friendly, helpful and was excited to have us staying there. It is situated on a cute little river with a fire pit in the back. The breakfast was fantastic - Apple Spice Waffles with blueberries and real Vermont maple syrup! Our only disappointment was that we didn't spend more time there!
Definitely would recommend this bed and breakfast to others, and I hope we will be back again soon too!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MassachusettsTripS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

The Phineas Swann B&B was our over the rainbow trip. The grounds are lovely this time of year, the rooms are exceptional with all the little details just a fingertip away. Our lovely hosts Jay and John offered five days of comfort as we returned to our childhood dream in Newport, Vermont. The staff pampered us and offered so many tips about the area and we felt we had found friends we had known all our lives! We shared laughs and conversations each day with Jay and "the girls" before taking off on our day trip among the Vermont countryside. Emmy, Karen, Barrett and Emmy's niece fed us well with John's delicious breakfast recipes. They spoiled us !Our food choices and needs were always accomodated and we were truly pampered and fed well each morning. My husband who RARELY eats breakfast, eagerly jumped up each morning and headed downstairs for the massive fruit tray and delicious rasperry stuffed french toast, blueberry pancakes, omelettes, and huge waffles! We were offered logs for a pit fire any night during our stay down by the river house and the wonderful antiques added to our intrigue of this most peaceful inn and estate. Jay and John have done an excellent job offering such a fantastic getaway to this "Northern Exposure" town. We felt so at home that we couldn't wait to get back from our day trip to enjoy a comfortable night at the Inn. This is a hidden treasure and the area offers unique locals as well as delicious food by chefs in all the area eateries. Don't miss this opportunity to stay within a day's driving distance of everywhere in Northern and Central Vermont ! We are making plans now for our next vacation to Vermont and to the Phineas Swann. We can't brag enough about the hospitality offered and the comfort we found here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totowerenotinkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

We are looking forward to the next stay. Thank you Jay, John, Emmy and Karen.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cukulala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
15.7 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#5 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
15.7 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
15.7 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#4 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center
Phineas Swann b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing