We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jay Peak Resort(Jay)(Great Value!)
$119
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Sutton Brouerie(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Montagnard(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge des Appalaches(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Run Motor Inn(Jeffersonville)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveler rating
855
34
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
855
34
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjay peakthe main housenorthern vermonthot tubcarriage housephineas swanthe blue roomdog treatshoneymoon suitedog bednortheast kingdomtrout riverliving roomgranola barsdelicious breakfastevery morningcookies
Filter
Updating list...
824 - 829 of 895 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2009

On a beautiful fall weekend, my girlfriend and I made our way from the routine trappings of suburban new jersey to the tranquil country hills of vermont. The autumn scenery painted a perfect picture before we arrived at The Phineas Swann B&B. As soon as we walked in we were welcomed with warm smiles and greetings. Emmy and Karen made us feel right at home, showed us about the main house, and led us to the river house that we stayed in. We were shown all the amenities at hand and everything that was there for us to use. The 1st floor of the river house is where we stayed and it was amazing. With such cold weather while we were there, nothing felt more comforting than the gas fireplace and a movie we borrowed after we walked home from dinner in town. Breakfast was simply amazing both mornings we were there, as well as the hospitality. Something to note is that this awesome expirience was made while the owners, John and Jay, were away. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. Special thanks to Emmy, Karen, Jenny, and Janis for making our stay so incredible. I cant wait to return again and get to meet the owners and thank them in person for what an amazing B&B they run.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zmm717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We have stayed at many bed & breakfasts on our annual ski outings in Maine and Vermont. This by far was the best B&B we have ever stayed at! We are a family of 4 with two children 8 and 11 years old. My children were made to feel welcome and they loved the abundance of hot chocolate.
My husband and I loved the evening hot tub after a day of skiing.
The two bedroom carriage suite with a living room and bath with jacuzzi gave us the comforts of home.

The breakfasts were fantastic. Emmy made us feel welcome every morning. If we were not interested in what was on the menu, she made us what ever we wanted. She was terrific!

The handman(sorry we did not get his name) was sure to keep that hot tub in great shape.

We look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PJRwestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We were looking for a romantic place to stay while doing some cross country skiing over Christmas break, and found the Phineas Swan after searching for pet friendly lodging. This place was amazing! The attention to detail, from the decor to the extensive amenities, made us feel right at home from the very start. Our dogs had a warm bed with a bone awaiting them by the fire, and the room was beautiful, blending a welcoming country ambience with antiques. Emmy and Karen attended to our every need during our visit, from breakfast to pet sitting availability, and definitely added a personal touch to our stay. I would recommend this inn to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Seeker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

This Bed and Breakfast is the best in Vermont without any doubts! The staff is professional, personable, and friendly. The atomosphere is relaxing, romantic, and gorgeous! The rooms are beyond luxurious....comforting, quiet, and the decor is spledid. I really cannot come up with the words to do it justice. Its beautiful any time of year....fantastic food, excellent service and an ambiance that embrasses you from the moment you step through the door. There is no other B&B in Vermont that comes close. I am so lucky to have this establishment in my own state. Many praises!! Most Sincerely, Sandra Paquette, Richford, VT

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RichfordGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Excellent experience! The best Bed & Breakfast we've ever been too. Great decor, fantastic breakfasts, friendly hosts and MUCH MORE!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snoop2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews