We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 6, 2009

On a beautiful fall weekend, my girlfriend and I made our way from the routine trappings of suburban new jersey to the tranquil country hills of vermont. The autumn scenery painted a perfect picture before we arrived at The Phineas Swann B&B. As soon as we walked in we were welcomed with warm smiles and greetings. Emmy and Karen made us feel right at home, showed us about the main house, and led us to the river house that we stayed in. We were shown all the amenities at hand and everything that was there for us to use. The 1st floor of the river house is where we stayed and it was amazing. With such cold weather while we were there, nothing felt more comforting than the gas fireplace and a movie we borrowed after we walked home from dinner in town. Breakfast was simply amazing both mornings we were there, as well as the hospitality. Something to note is that this awesome expirience was made while the owners, John and Jay, were away. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. Special thanks to Emmy, Karen, Jenny, and Janis for making our stay so incredible. I cant wait to return again and get to meet the owners and thank them in person for what an amazing B&B they run.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zmm717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 883 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2009

We have stayed at many bed & breakfasts on our annual ski outings in Maine and Vermont. This by far was the best B&B we have ever stayed at! We are a family of 4 with two children 8 and 11 years old. My children were made to feel welcome and they loved the abundance of hot chocolate.
My husband and I loved the evening hot tub after a day of skiing.
The two bedroom carriage suite with a living room and bath with jacuzzi gave us the comforts of home.

The breakfasts were fantastic. Emmy made us feel welcome every morning. If we were not interested in what was on the menu, she made us what ever we wanted. She was terrific!

The handman(sorry we did not get his name) was sure to keep that hot tub in great shape.

We look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PJRwestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We were looking for a romantic place to stay while doing some cross country skiing over Christmas break, and found the Phineas Swan after searching for pet friendly lodging. This place was amazing! The attention to detail, from the decor to the extensive amenities, made us feel right at home from the very start. Our dogs had a warm bed with a bone awaiting them by the fire, and the room was beautiful, blending a welcoming country ambience with antiques. Emmy and Karen attended to our every need during our visit, from breakfast to pet sitting availability, and definitely added a personal touch to our stay. I would recommend this inn to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Seeker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

This Bed and Breakfast is the best in Vermont without any doubts! The staff is professional, personable, and friendly. The atomosphere is relaxing, romantic, and gorgeous! The rooms are beyond luxurious....comforting, quiet, and the decor is spledid. I really cannot come up with the words to do it justice. Its beautiful any time of year....fantastic food, excellent service and an ambiance that embrasses you from the moment you step through the door. There is no other B&B in Vermont that comes close. I am so lucky to have this establishment in my own state. Many praises!! Most Sincerely, Sandra Paquette, Richford, VT

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RichfordGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Excellent experience! The best Bed & Breakfast we've ever been too. Great decor, fantastic breakfasts, friendly hosts and MUCH MORE!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snoop2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

This was a girls getaway for my friend and I and we couldn't have been happier that we chose this Inn. The owners have thought of everything, from the moment you arrive to the time you (sadly) have to leave. The decor is dog, dogs and more dogs surrounded by lovely antique furniture. Jenny, Karen and Emmy were great hostesses and took care of our every need. We stayed in the Carriage house with two bedrooms and living area although next time we'd like to bring our husbands and stay in the River House next to the trout stream which is more of the guys style. The breakfast spread is fantastic, served in the sunny dining area. And Popeye, the pug we had in tow, was welcomed with open arms, right down to the dog bed and rawhide bones waiting for him when we arrived. Can't wait to return, hopefully in the spring.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank Maymeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

The Phineas Swann was the best B&B I ever stayed at. The attention to detail was astounding. They thought of EVERYTHING. They make you feel right at home. The staff, Jennie, Emma and Karen were very helpful, courteous and fun to be around. If I went on about everything I loved about that place I'd be writing a book so I'm going to make one statement that should cover it all...if anyone stays there and isn't happy then they are a person that is impossible to make happy.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank taz1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Governor's House in Hyde Park
9.7 mi away
Rendezvous Bed and Breakfast
18.8 mi away
La Chouette De Mansonville
La Chouette De Mansonville
#1 of 2 in Mansonville
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range: $181 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center
Phineas Swann b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing