We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 16, 2008

The accomodations at the Phineas Swann were great! From the fantastic antiques, DVD collection, warm and inviting staff, and even the in house guide to the many local attractions, we had no shortage of optional trips while we relaxed in front of the toasty gas stove. So much effort was put forth to make us feel welcome and at home by Emmy, Karen & Jay that we are planning our next trip, with friends!
The "dog friendly" atmosphere was such a nice feature that our yellow lab,Lucy, will always accompany us on future trips. Oh, and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic. (Thank You Karen!)
Definitely a destination to get away from it all in a quiet country setting.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mommytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 880 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2008

This is one of the most beautiful places, we've ever stayed. My mom, dad and I came up to celebrate our birthdays( all within a week of eachother). When you arrive you enter into one of the most inviting, warm and beautifully decorated inns. We were greeted by Jay (one of the Owners) who had the patience of a saint , was charming and funny as well as fantastic taste in decor ( my dad kept calling for directions cause he'd get lost in closet) who waited up for us to get there. Our room that we stayed in was fantastic and had all the luxuries of bieng home down to slippers by the door and a mit to clean mud off your doggy's paws after a walk, but the view of the creek and nature from our back deck was incredible. Our breakfast in the morning was also amazing , Karen our fabulous chef made the best and crispiest bacon I have ever tasted and each morning there was something amazing on the menu like Banana pecan pancakes or frenchtoast with fresh black berries , rasberries and jam in between. Most bed and breakfasts you get a dry donut or some cornflakes if you're lucky. Emmy the hotel manager was also amazing making sure to see if we had everything we needed at all times. The best part of all was that this beautiful place is very pet friendly . Our pets were in heaven and Karen and Emmy made sure to peek in on them to see if they were ok. Now that's amazing! Don't miss out on the Phineas Swann , we will definitly make coming here a family tradition : )

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank loqnesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We booked our stay online, initially based on the fact that our labradoodle "Bo" was also welcome. This dog friendly bed and breakfast offered a beautiful welcoming atmosphere with an outstanding breakfast nestled in a lovely northern Vermont village. One of the owners "Jay" welcomed us in person, giving us a tour of the Inn, pointing out the many amenities, which included homemade cookies & brownies, soft drinks, and many varieties of coffees and teas, as well as hot chocolate. There were "dog towels" and a dog bed waiting for our pet, as well as feeding bowls. Everything was clean as a whistle. Emmy and Jenn who assist with serving the breakfast and keeping everything clean added to the "welcome to our home" atmosphere. We felt as though we really connected with everyone at the Inn and highly recommend the Phineas Swann to anyone who is traveling in the area...whether or not you take your pooch with you! We will definitely return there to stay.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank Bonnie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

I had the pleasure to visit northern vermont to view the autumn foliage. Beautiful country. On a referral from a friend I booked a room at Phineas-Swann. It is a very pretty home. Quite comfortable. Fresh coffee or tea at all times. Snacks. Internet access. Phone. We lacked nothing. Jay, our host, was most welcoming. He made us feel "at home". He is very pleasant. He showed us around, then left the house to us. And yet, he or John(our other host) are always available if needed. We celebrated a birthday this particular weekend and Jay and John went out of their way to make it special, with flowers and connecting us with a local baker(the same person who prepares their very special in house dinners). This was absolutely the best chocolate cake that I have ever tasted. The property is just as beautiful as the house. The weather was great and we spent many an hour sitting on the deck or down by the river. There are nice Adirondack chairs on the river to sit in and just listen to the water roll by. And although we didn't take advantage of it, wood is available to build a fire right there on the river. Morning brings a delicious breakfast prepared by John. Emmy and Jenny are eager to serve and ensure that their guests are content, and can suggest many of the sights and activities in the area. Phineas-Swann is tastefully operated. I will return. Oh, and don't forget to take a walk to Bernies for a dinner that will surprise you.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank spikejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at Phineas Swann! Jay and John made us feel welcome from the moment of our arrival. The inn was immaculate and filled with the comforts of home. They did not leave out any details, ex. fresh coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fresh baked goods 24/7, a HUGE assortments of movies, incredibly soft bedding, wine and beer, and delicious breakfasts! On top of it all, they put together a large, very well-organized guide book to the inn and surrounding area. It was far better than any book I've seen at either a B&B or large hotel. The area is quite secluded and quiet, but you certainly won't be without wonderful area restaurants and local attractions. Karen and Jenny were so welcoming, friendly, and wonderful as well. AND, we even managed to take one of the Westies, Bo Bo, on a day hike with us on the Long Trail. (We loved Emma just as much, though!)
All in all, we would HIGHLY recommend Phineas Swann.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IheartMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Last year, we were looking for a dog-friendly inn in Vermont and found Phineas Swann. We had such a great time that we returned this year. The inn is in a charming town and is a wonderful place to unwind. The staff is very accommodating and sincere. Emmy, kept us well fed and even took our dog for a walk one afternoon so we could venture along the Wine Route in Canada! There are lots of hiking trails of varying degrees, streams and a number of covered bridges. The inn has a huge video library which came in handy on a rainy day. They have snacks out around the clock and the breakfasts are fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pctrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

I have relied on Trip Advisor extensively when booking accomodations , and have not been steered wrong yet. My stay at Phineas Swann B&B was no exception. I'd have to say this is the best B&B experience I've had to date. I stayed in the main house, in the Blue Room, which was very comfortable. My husband & I were the only guests that night, and thus were able to take a look at the other rooms, all of which appeared equally as inviting.
We found the hosts to be very helpful, but not overbearing, and in fact, felt like we had the house to ourselves. Being dog lovers,the 2 resident Westies were a bonus !
The house decor was fantastic ; lots to look at, and very well done!
It was wonderful to have access to tea, coffee and snack food at all times, and more importantly, to feel comfortable availing ourselves of this service.
The breakfast was great...and plentiful! You would be set for a full day of skiing afterwards!
Definitely rates 5/5 !

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank justwannatravel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
15.8 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
77 reviews
19.8 mi away
Governor's House in Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range: $185 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann b&b Inn
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing