We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jay Peak Resort(Jay)(Great Value!)
$119
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Sutton Brouerie(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Montagnard(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge des Appalaches(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Run Motor Inn(Jeffersonville)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveler rating
855
34
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
855
34
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjay peakthe main housenorthern vermonthot tubcarriage housephineas swanthe blue roomdog treatshoneymoon suitedog bednortheast kingdomtrout riverliving roomgranola barsdelicious breakfastevery morningcookies
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 895 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Phineas Swann just recently. Many of the other places I contacted would not allow our pets or would have "pet-friendly rooms" which means you are going to be paying for substandard quality.

The Inn is cozy, and a true luxury boutique experience. Our dogs loved to cozy up near the fireplace or walk around the property. The hosts are very friendly and go out of their way to help you find anything you need.

Delicious warm cookies are offered as a snack with free beverages. I also recommend visiting Dog Mountain if you are a dog lover like myself. So glad that we came and that we shared the experience with our wonderful dogs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snobiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We're glad both you and your pets got a chance to cozy up to your in-room fireplace, as well as enjoy a great trip to Dog Mountain. Hope we get to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was a perfect place to stay the night before going dog-sledding at Montgomery Adventures. The cozy fireplace, homemade cookies, outdoor hot tub, comfy bed, yummy breakfast, and good company of Darren and Lynne and another guest all made this a peaceful getaway in the north country.

Room Tip: The blue room was small put comfortable and nicely decorated and had a queen-sized bed.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSYandRVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Glad we were a comfortable base of operations for your exploration of the great outdoors here in northern Vermont. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I'll make it short and sweet. Our romantic New Years Eve week stay at the Phineas Swann was spoiled by a nasty virus that wiped out my girlfriend and had me feeling pretty lousy as well after the first night. Thankfully, we were booked in the very comfortable, well appointed River House, and stayed in under blankets. We kept the gas log fireplace roaring and the Kuerig brewing tons of hot liquids.
The owner Darren was kind enough to bring us a fantastic New Years Eve dinner and terrific breakfasts as we recuperated and made sure we were comfortable. He checked on us several times to see if we needed anything.
If you've ever had the misfortune of getting sick while traveling, it's rare to have any support, but Darren went above and beyond.
Although we had a tough week, we have already decided to rebook for a late summer stay- no one gets the flu in the summer, right?
Thanks, Darren.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Hystad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We felt so badly for you that your New Year's Eve celebration was dampened somewhat by you both being under the weather -- bringing you a hot prime rib dinner was the least we could do. We're looking forward to your return this summer and the chance to make even better memories for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Phineas Swann! We stayed in two suites at the Carriage House, a perfect fit for a family of five along with our dog, Holly. Everything from the cleanliness of the room, the amenities, the comfort and the friendly staff was perfect. The breakfasts were delicious and there were always fresh baked goodies available. Lynne and Darren are gracious, kind and friendly hosts! My kids enjoyed very much the warm chocolate chip cookies that Lynne baked one evening, a very nice surprise after our dinner at a local restaurant. A very relaxing five day ski vacation at the Phineas Swann!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

We enjoyed hosting your entire family for the week! You were smart to use our Family Combination Suite setup (the Terrier Suite & Green Mountain Suite can be combined into one 3-bedroom, two-bath setup for larger families) and we're glad the Phineas could be your "home base" for all you and your family were able to enjoy during your stay. Lynne appreciates the compliments on the chocolate-chip cookies, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

As a family we had a chance to spend 4 nights at the Inn in the now famous River House. Darren & Lynne were wonderful hosts to the 3 of us and our two dogs Max & Ellie. The accommodations were great the layout worked well for us and the skiing was terrific. The amenities exceeded our expectations, Darren & Lynne were always available should we need anything. We enjoyed swapping stories with other guests, sitting by the fire in the main house and the nearby dining. Just a wonderful few days. The breakfasts were very good. The staff was welcoming and helpful. All around a very fun time.

Room Tip: Speak with Darren and Lynne about your travel plans and they will help you get the room that will fit you best.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtravis814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks so much for the kind words. We had a great time with you during your visit, and hope we get to see Max & Ellie (and you guys of course) again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews