We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Prepared to be WOWED!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Be Prepared to be WOWED!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The new owners, Lynne and Darren, have taken hospitality and comfort to a whole new level! The staff are super friendly, the service is second to none and the accomodations are perfect. Great bedroom, super comfortable bed, great food and a host of complimentary items. The room has all the amenities you can think of. Great decor, air conditioning, and quiet. We would heartily recomend the Phineas Swann to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren D, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Steve, thanks so much for nice review -- and for being our first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    34
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
158
544
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

WOW! WHat a great bed and breakfast...the food was superb, the rooms lovely and immaculate...very original decor....and nice little friendly touches with homemade brownies and cookies for the people, including homemade treats for the four-legged kind too! Would stay there again for the experience....Jay and John are true dog-lovers... Jaime Alcaraz Montreal

Room Tip: The suites are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Every aspect of the Phineas Swann is warm and welcoming, from the personalized homemade dog biscuit upon arrival to the complimentary refreshments in the suites. The beds were extremely comfortable and breakfast was consistently delicious. We enjoyed walking down to the river (and our dog enjoyed wading in the water!). We only wished we could have stayed longer! This Inn would be the perfect place for a family reunion. The common spaces are as comfortable and welcoming as the suites, with snacks, movies, and games available for guests. The fire pit down by the river is a great gathering place. Jay and Jenny were there for our visit and both were friendly, easy to find, and always accommodating. Unlike many dog-friendly accommodations, you are allowed to leave your dog here while you are out for the day, and they will even walk her for a small gratuity. We made a last minute reservation, and everything was perfect. Close and convenient for Jay Peak waterpark or skiing. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a wonderful treat it was to be a guest at this bed and breakfast. Along with the outstanding food, came and outstanding room and an even more spectacular view. Having the river outback was truly a luxury (especially for my chocolate lab). I will be back again in October! I can't thank the staff enough for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glowc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just got back from my 4th straight year of vacationing at Phineas and am just as pleased as I was every other time there. Jay and John have made this place special with the help of Jenny, Emmy and Barb. Wonderful breakfasts and beautifully decorated rooms and suites make this the perfect getaway whatever your plans. Thanks again!!

Room Tip: the River House suites are right on the gently flowing river. Sit on your private deck and let your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I spent the night of June 19, 2013 at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast Inn. The present owner, Jay, was warm and welcoming, and our chef at breakfast, Barb, took excellent care of us. The inn is in immaculate condition, very clean and comfortable. Our suite overlooked the garden, and it was a short stroll down to the river. We enjoyed an extremely excellent dinner at Bernie's restaurant (recommended to us by Jay himself), which was very close to the inn. Our stay at Phineas Swann was very restful. We were on a six-week-long road trip on a Harley Davidson from Canada down to New Orleans and up to Toronto, then home to western Canada, and we appreciated a quiet and comfortable night in Montgomery Centre.
Thank you, Jay and Barb! Kathy Mercereau, Canada

Room Tip: The "Green Suite" overlooking the garden was very beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Friendly, intimate B&B; very comfortable accommodations; intricately decorated; 24-hour buffet with snacks, sodas, hot beverages. Breakfast was served "family style," so we got to know our fellow guests. Be sure to read the extensive compilation of information about the inn, the surrounding area, and the many things to do. A perfect antidote to chain hotels and resorts!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 582Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
15.8 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 6 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
15.8 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center
Phineas Swann b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing