We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and friendly - a real treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Cozy and friendly - a real treat!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at Phineas Swann and really enjoyed it! The location is wonderful, as we could walk to dinner or drinks, both upscale and casual, and it is an easy 15 minutes to Jay Peak. The hosts were unbelievably accommodating and welcoming. They had a huge movie collection, snacks and warm drinks were available in the rooms or common areas, a fire was always ready to be lit, and games and puzzles were out to enjoy. The rooms were comfortable, very clean, and neat. Breakfasts were heavenly! If we go back to Northern VT, we'll stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    34
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
160
546
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've never been to a B&B before Phineas Swann. I think they may well be the archetype for B&B's. Location: a couple rustic houses in the rural corn-covered mountains of Vermont. Decor: super-cozy, lots of ceramic canine figurines, lots of dog pillows, and snacks, oh the snacks! The year-round jacuzzi is also a big plus. Staff is super-friendly. Breakfast is just downright delicious and the menu is a bit of a democratic process among the guests I think. I was there for a couple nights for a wedding in the summer with the gf. Frankly, I wouldn't mind getting snowed in there during the winter. Definitely one of those places where you want to enjoy down time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gautam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islip ny
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed presidents break with my family. River house second floor. Place was very roomy, like our own apartment. Everything was neat and clean. Nice places to walk to, and a few minutes from Jay Peak. Excellant breakfast, nice hosts. Nicest B and B i've stayed in. Will go back for sure!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blighdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunks, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My fiance and I spent 2 night here for our anniversary. We were welcomed by Phinny the bulldog and what a great welcome it was...if you're a dog lover, this is the place for you! The Innkeepers are great! We loved our room "The Terrier Suite", the bed was like a cloud, very clean and quiet. There are several extra amenities in-room that made things very convenient. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, everything homemade such as cinnamon apple waffle and banana walnut pancakes..and VT maple syrup of course!!! Montgomery is a quaint little village...beautiful area. We dined 2 nights at "Bernie's" as it was in walking distance and the food was great, especially Mexican night! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAM2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here for a little get away and to ski. We had an amazing time, we didn't want to leave! From welcoming us at we pulled in to the warm cozy fire at night we loved it. We booked online and it was very easy. The inn is very clean and comfortable, they really make you feel welcome and comfortable. We stayed in the "Red Room" and it was a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was great! We are already excited for our next stay at the inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just got back from a perfect stay at the Phineas Swann. Jay welcomed us and immediately made us feel right at home. Our room was immaculate and had everything you could ask for and more....our own coffee maker, a great assortment of snacks, DVD's and, most importantly, an incredibly comfortable bed. The outdoor hot tub was a perfect way to end a long day traveling. It was all topped off with an absolutely delicious breakfast the next morning. Service and hospitality was spot on. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tocnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We found this gem of an Inn on line and booked a reservation over the phone. Our only regret is that we didn't allow more time to enjoy the Inn. We were passing through town. We would definitely stay again! It's a dog friendly Inn but we don't have dogs.....you would never know it.....the whole place is wicked clean! Thanks Jay & John....The pancakes were outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
15.8 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
72 reviews
9.7 mi away
Rendezvous Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann b&b Inn
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing