We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berkson Farms(Enosburg Falls)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craftsbury Outdoor Center(Craftsbury Common)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Deer Run Motor Inn(Jeffersonville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveler rating
855
34
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
855
34
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjay peakthe main houseb bnorthern vermonthot tubcarriage housephineas swanthe blue roomdog treatshoneymoon suitedog bednortheast kingdomtrout riverliving roomgranola barsdelicious breakfastevery morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 895 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We totally enjoyed our stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast. Jay couldn't have been nicer and more welcoming. We stayed on the first floor in the house out back that sits right on the river. Our Golden, Riley loved going for a swim and fetching sticks for us. All the comforts of home, they had everything you could possibly need. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and there was plenty of food to go around. We would totally stay there again when back in VT! Highly recommend to others with pets.

Room Tip: I didn't see the rooms in the main inn, but I loved staying in the house out back, right on the river, so relaxing and quiet there!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We discovered this Pet Friendly Inn nestled in upsate Vermont and were more than surprised by how wonderful our stay was. Our first floor suite was spacious and we had everything provided that we needed (including tasty snacks left on the kitchen counter and wine in the fridge). Jay and John were amazingly gracious hosts and their attention to detail made the stay memorable. But let's not forget the delicious gourmet breakfasts! Our dogs Bailey and Baxter gave it two paws up!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

From the minute inn-keeper Jay greeted us on the back steps and welcomed us in for fresh-baked cookies and something cold to drink until we finished licking our lips of the last morsels of co-inn-keep, John's amazing blueberry pancakes and apple waffles, our stay was one of pomp and pampering. Jay and John have thought of everything a traveler could possibly want or need while out on the road and then some. Wi-fi, in-house complimentary computer use, free long distance telephoning in our rooms to ANYWHERE in the world (yep, that one really caught me off guard), hottub under a leafy canopy, complimentary juices, soft drinks, tea, hot cocoa, coffee, cookies AND candy, oh yes, and an honor-system beer and wine bar that was the ideal greeting to the end of a day of biking. Jay maintains a loaner dvd library that contains everything from slashers to stand up comedy. And John prepared us delicious dinner offerings as well as mouth-watering breakfasts that set us off in style for the next day's ride through the fall colors of northeast Vermont. With or without a bicycle, a stop at Phineas Swann is worth a trip to northern Vermont just to enjoy a visit with Jay and John. Thank you both for a lovely stay. Ruby and Jeff, Seattle, WA

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to opt for the blue room with the bath across the hallway - the jetted tub makes this option a fabulous choice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The answer is ...it can't! What a delightful B&B with every amenity you can possibly think of. From the initial call for information and booking until our departure (with a mug full of goodies in hand) we were well taken care of during our two day stay. Jay and John along with their staff have come up with the perfect balance for running a B&B. They each compliment the other so nicely and have thought of every comfort of home. We found the decor so enjoyable and the quality of their bed linens was superb. Everything is so clean, well thought out and there was never a need not met. I especially enjoyed the amazing book that John put together on anything and everything you would ever want to know about Montgomery Vermont. His attention to detail and knowledge is amazing. I wouldn't hesitate to take any of their recommendations. We even asked at the last minute to 'tour' the other rooms for future bookings (though our suite was divine), Barb graciously stopped what she was doing and showed us around the entire inn and it provided some great ideas for future trips with friends and family. I'm here to say; it doesn't get any better than this!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a first class dog friendly bed and breakfast. There is everythig from treats, bowls , a cushhy bed and even the dog's own towels in case they care to play in the river. The rooms are stuffed with antiques and John and Jay have thought of everything for people comfort. No need for toiletries everything from plush robes to shaving kit , toothpaste and brushes and a jacuzzi tub. Breakfasts are individually cooked and include fruit , juice , muffins, etc. the gardens are beautiful and the rooms on the river provide a great view. The hosts and staff are very accomidating. All in all a great place.

Room Tip: If you choose the second story river suite your dog might have trouble with the steep set of stairs. We have an older welsh corgi and we had to carry her up and down.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tibbsabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews