We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we've stayed, that's what I call customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 8, 2011

From the moment we walked in to the moment we left there was nothing but exceptional customer service! We were greeted at the door, and given a tour. We loved looking at all the antiques and dog figurines throughout the entire property. Everyone made a point of making sure we had everything we wanted or needed during our stay, and even introduced themselves to our three dogs. They were happy to have our dogs there which is important to us. Most place tolerate dogs. This place welcomes them. The dog treats, beds, food bowls, and rawhides provided in the room were hits with my dogs. Breakfast in the morning was VERY delicious. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the entire place particularly because there are dogs there all the time and you could never tell (based on how clean it was) There were lots of treats for the human guests too. Sodas, cakes, cookies, teas, coffee, and a big selection of DVDs to borrow all available 24 hours a day at no extra cost. They told us about a free pet walking service but we did not have reason to use it while we were there. We both got a massage in the suite while we were there and it was very good as well. There is nothing bad to say about this place. HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memeuume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 883 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

Let me start by saying that this was an inn for pets, which was human friendly. Never have we enjoyed a vacation more with our dog than this one. Wonderful room (we stayed in the river house 2nd floor) which had an excellent view to the river. Our dog went for a swim, and we spent time reading (they have a great collection of books, as well as high speed WiFi for the digitally minded). Very very detail oriented, the dog bowls, treats and towels for dogs were very thoughtful. Breakfast was excellent.
The nearby areas have some good (though not many) choices of restaurants. Bernie's for one had the best pasta I've had in a while. The Belfry is another hot place to eat.
There's quite a bit of stuff to do in and around the place (glider rides, glass blowing, Jay's peak tram, hikes) but given the rains, we were happy staying in and reading (though we did go for a glider ride which is about 20 miles from the inn-and highly recommended). Also the drives to Essex and Smugglers' Notch are highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgehring, Owner at Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

I am so glad you and your furry friend enjoyed the inn!! Tho many of our guests do not bring dogs, and several of our rooms as well as the entire main inn are pet free at all times, we find that our dog owners really like it here and most come back year after year. We like to travel with our dogs as well, and I find it very challenging to find places to stay that welcome dogs, and that is why we have worked so hard to make our inn welcoming to pet owners. But I would like to point out that we are equally inviting to those who don't bring their dogs. We certainly understand that not everyone loves dogs as much as we do, and we think we offer the best of both worlds here!! I look forward to your next visit!!! Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Inn: The inn is quaint and you could (and we did) spend a week there and still discover little details and neat little touches and nick-knacks, antiques and so on to look at. I wasn't sure about going to a place that had antiques and was a B&B. I tend to like my privacy and antiques aren't really something i'm too interested in..but this was the best of all worlds. The rooms are WONDERFUL and they think of every little thing you might need, and they take such good care of the place. My first thought when i got there was "how do they keep the place dust free?!?! it's beautiful!" I loved taking photos of everything, and I really enjoyed the antique aspect..they did a wonderful job.

The Inn pets are adorable and they do a great job of keeping the guests space from the animals for those who might not want to interact with them...but we did so we visited them! I must say I have never felt so happy to have a dog on a vacation before, they LOVED him and spoiled him. They even walk your dog for free when you want a day on the town (but remember to tip!). The room had a bed for the dog, bone, treats, bowls...we didn't realize how many things we didn't even need to bring with us!

The garden even after hurricane Irene had at it was just stunning...it was so much fun for a macro photo junkie like me - Thanks Jay i'll send you pictures!!!

The Room: The Room was divine...i wanted to live there forever. I might steal Jay's decorating ideas when we get a house it was that good! Vaulted open concept ceiling in the Green Mountain room. Two bedrooms..one apparently where our dog liked to sleep on the floor and the other with the highest bed ever, not to mention comfy! The bathroom was gorgeous and had a jacuzzi tub and wonderful shower head. the TV and cable in each room was nice. They even provided goodies (fresh made), and little travel kits with razors, shaving cream, toothpaste, comb, makeup remover...much more just so meticulous in the details! We were so darned impressed.

The Service: Jenny was phenomenal. She was prompt with all service and not only that she always went above and beyond for everyone. She's friendly and accommodating and her food is wonderful! She even went so far as to make me a birthday cake after finding out it was my birthday yesterday! She's a sweetheart and it was a joy to spend the week there. It also should be mentioned that she was understaffed due to an illness in the family, but never skipped a beat and was able to make our experience perfect. We would really like her to take a nap though ;)
Jay is a wonderful kind man with great taste (awesome Inn and room!) he is also very people oriented and really knows how to make anyone's trip to Vermont a memorable one. I saw a lot of bumper stickers that said "What happens in Vermont stays in Vermont...but not a lot happens here". Those people haven't spoken to Jay and Jenny! There were options for massage, dinner, lots of places to eat, Ben and Jerry Tours, Dairy farms, Art and craft stores, Sailplane flying (not sure if i have the correct term..but a plane pulls another plane up and lets you go and you sail down - with an experienced pilot of course), horseback riding, canoeing, kayaking, rent bikes, go shopping....we were playing it laid back but even in the winter it's activity packed with skidoo and dog sledding!
Karen and Emmy who made the most wonderful breakfast's were just awesome. They were friendly and made use feel special for owning a dog. They fawned over him and made Bailey's day! Our's too we are pretty proud pet owners ;) They were the two sweetest people and it was a joy to visit the inn with such wonderful staff.

Food! Oh the food...it's to die for! I think i gained all the weight i lost before the wedding back...i'm going to have to be on a treadmill for a month to work this off, but it was worth it! There is always a serving of fruit and juices and cereals. To give you an idea we had the following over our stay;
day1: bacon and quiche (veggie or sausage and veggie choice) homemade and with cabot dairy cheese! The fried red potatoes that Emmy made were so awesome!
Day 2: Sausage and crepes with strawberry jam and strawberries which was good but we preferred the ham and cheese crepes and stuffed our selves silly...we were unable to move out of the room that day!
Day 3: Blackberry stuffed french toast & Vermont syrup with bacon..mmmmmm
Day 4: Banana pancakes with walnuts and Vermont syrup..mmmm again (and if they ask if you want two say NO!! it's SOO good, but you WILL eat it and you will hurt yourself! we got wise after the crepes!)
Day 5: Apple Cinnamon waffles with blueberries and strawberries and whip cream with bacon (again only take ONE or you will die...happy but death by food!)
Day 6: Omelet with tons of veggies and ham and cheese with home fries and sausage and toast..it was a nice last meal to set us on the road and we weren't in carb shock :)

More food....Jenny makes brownies and cookies which are left out for the guest in the main house. I couldn't have them because breakfast was just too much that we normally didn't eat until late dinner! Also if your there in the next few days you will be lucky enough to try my birthday cake which Jenny slaved over! It's a spice cake with penuche icing! MMMMMMMMMM!! it was the best b-day cake i have ever had! Thanks so much Jenny!

Location: The location is good for those who don't want to go too far from the room, there are places to have dinner. And it's a good area if you want to venture all over northern Vermont like we did. It is important to note they were pretty much untouched by hurricane Irene...roads and places are all open. While we explored we only saw ONE small back road that was washed out on one side. I can't speak to the south that was hit harder but the north seemed fine.

Amenities: I probably have forgotten a few, but there is a hot tub, a fire pit and river at the back, we didn't use one of our own doggy bags the whole trip. They provided firewood, umbrellas (for the impressive rain storms!) They will walk you dog while your away for tips and for just $10 an hour they will play and hang out with them..which a lot of the time they did for free because they really do LOVE what they do and it's a pet friendly B&B for that reason.

I liked having the breakfast and chatting with the other guests about our travels and pets. It was great. I wasn't sure i would be into a social atmosphere like that but i loved it. It the inn is not that full you can have your own table, but it IS more fun to share :)

Dislikes...well leaving was one of them. I have to wrack my brain to think of something i didn't like...they were pretty environment friendly so we used dishes a lot so i can't fault them for that. Same deal with the toilet paper...it could have been a little more ply, but again i think there is a reason for it (to not clog the toilets or environment) because they are purposeful in everything they do...so the only thing i would like added is a soap holder on the wall in the green mountain room and maybe a little shelf for the tooth paste and other stuff. The nice sink makes it hard to use them and the soap slides into the sink :) Okay...well that's all i can really think of!

Thanks so much to Jenny, Jay, Emmy and Karen for giving us a wonderful memorable honeymoon!

Room Tip: Green Mountain Room had great view and was just a gorgeous room! Love the stained glass windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey_Bernedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our stay at Phineas was absolutely wonderful. The staff are very thoughtful and Jay (one of the owners) ensures that guests receive the very best in individualized attention. The decor borders on opulent while the meals are sumptuous with generous portions. Definitely worth the trip to ‘get away from it all’ in a very scenic setting!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiteBoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Upon walking thru thr front door, we were warmly greeted by Jenny. She then gave us a tour of an absolutely lovely home. The decor is eyepopping and every room is filled with historic antiques which added even more warmth if possible. The grounds and gardens are to die for. Have I mentioned the outstanding breakfast. Needless to say, we will recommend the inn to all of our friends and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaPointe57475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This place is in a small town in Vermont, located on the "main street". The people here (Jenny, Emmy, Karen, Justine) couldn't be friendlier, always making sure that our stay was going well. There is also a great restaurant across the street (Bernie's) and a great bar (Snow Shoe Lodge) down the street.

We stayed at the Riverhouse and had a great view of a beautiful stream from our back porch. A very peaceful getaway. Perfect if you’re looking for a low key vacation with really fantastic fresh food.

We also brought our dog, Mila, who had a great time. Everything here is pet friendly, especially Phineas Swann. The house we stayed in had a dog bed, rawhide and two dog bowls waiting for her when we got there. We accidently broke one of the dog bowls and the staff was very graceful in handling the situation.

Most of the other guests also brought their dogs, and were very friendly. We are likely to keep in touch with them.

Overall a great experience! We will be back for ski season.

Room Tip: We stayed in the River House and it was great if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had the best time and our dogs were treated wonderfully. Everyone there made you feel at home and we cannot wait to go back. The Inn is close to the three season trail and swimming holes. If i had a complaint it would be that we could not have dinner at the Inn. They only serve if there are four or more. Their website did not state that. However, they did refer us to another restaurant within walking distance which was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Governor's House in Hyde Park
9.7 mi away
Rendezvous Bed and Breakfast
10.1 mi away
Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 195 Main St, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-7105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery Center
Price Range: $182 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to pampered luxury at our romantic not just pet-friendly, but PET CENTRIC inn. Our all-season retreat, located only 7 miles from Jay Peak Ski and Golf Resort, offers unparalleled comfort and personal service. Rooms and suites feature four-poster beds, fine antiques, luxurious linens, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, individual climate controls with Air Conditioning (a rarity for northern Vermont), televisions with HD Cable with movie channels and DVD players in all rooms, Free local and long distance calling , and Free WiFi internet plus a guest computer in our lounge. Extensive public areas and gardens open to all guests. Unlimited all day coffee, tea, soda, hot chocolate and apple cider, snacks and treats. TV room with large screen plasma TV. Located directly on the Trout River. Outdoor Hot Tub. Dinner served with advance reservations. Hiking, Biking (home of Bike VT bicycling tours for our area), Canoeing and Guide Services in the area. Rated number one in the state on TripAdvisor overall, and rated the most pet friendly inn in New England on TripAdvisor. Incredible personalized service from on site owners who are available to help you 24 hours a day. LGBT friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phineas Swann Hotel Montgomery Center
Phineas Swann b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing