We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sick... In a good way.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grampa Grunts Lodge
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
13
Reviewed March 18, 2006

If you are a afraid of bed bugs. Beware. However, if you are looking for a cheap place to stay, a great breakfast, and great hospitality, this is the place.

PS - Bring your own bud.

Stayed: March 2006
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Damariscotta, Maine
14
Reviewed March 9, 2006

Have you ever wondered why some hotels and resorts don’t put a picture of their facility on local brochures? Well my friends and I found out that in the case of Grandpa Grunts there is no picture because the place is a urine hole. Gramps claims that there is a community BYOB lounge for people to enjoy. He only asks that you put your cigarettes out in the sandboxes nailed to the walls. The reason it is BYOB is be cause you have to be wasted to even want to hangout down there. There is a kitchen facility that smells of propane and looks like it came out of a burned down restaurant. The rooms are a whole different story, there was a 4 by 6 room with two beds, one wall outlet, one window and two broken folding chairs. The walls were furnished with stained carpet. The linens were of the random yard sale variety with a handful of stains to choose from. The rickety old barn according to grump can hold 40 people you better hope that there are not that many people when you go. Also id bring your own sleeping bag and tent and plan on spending the night outside, it will be much cleaner. PS. If you bring some trash bags you can collect the beer cans in the bathroom sinks to make a little extra cash.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad Q, Owner at Grampa Grunts Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

We have worked very hard to improve customer experience since 2006. We do cater to mostly college students and do our best to stay on top of things. Most of our business is repeat customers who really enjoy the Grunts experience. Though we are constantly upgrading all our amenities, we are still "Dorm" style Lodging which is not really suitable for families with young children. None the less, we are constantly reinvesting in guest comfort and have had lots of positive feedback in the past five years because of it. Life is Good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Damariscotta ME
11
Reviewed March 9, 2006

Picture a barn that hasn't been maintained in years. You walk in to a place where the lighting is non existant except for a giant fish tank in the hall. If your lucky you'll get room number 13 like my friends and i did. It's a gem. Third floor, one tiny window, two flourecent bulbs mounted to the ceiliing with flies buzzing around them constantly what more could you ask for. Once you can get by the fact that the room is the size of a crackerjack box for two than your worries have just started. The stained carpeted walls are a nice touch. Or maybe it was the unwashed sheets with brown stains on them. Or could it have been the community bathrooms on the floor below us with half empty beers and socks actually in the toothpaste spit covered sinks. This place was a mannure heap. Oh yeah don't plan on all the nice accomodations that are suppose to come with the stay that are listed on the brochure. If you see a TV advertisement on the brochure, it's not for your own room it's for the "community lounge" which consists of a dirt infested room with a broken trundle bed used as a couch. (P.S. bring your own batteries for the remote.)

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashua NH
13
Reviewed September 12, 2005

great for college students, really low key, relaxed place... Grampa is the man! Going to make it an annual occurence with my close friends to come and stay at GGs during winter break.

  • Stayed: December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAKA0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
6.6 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
6.6 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
0.2 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Rendezvous Bed and Breakfast
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grampa Grunts Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampa Grunts Lodge

Address: 53 Begnoche Farm Road, PO Box 231, Montgomery Center, VT 05471
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Montgomery Center
Price Range: $42 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustic but comfortable lodge especially appeals to college students. Located just 8 miles from Jay Peak, Grampa Grunts can accommodate up to 50 students. Featuring one of a kind ammenities such as: The BYOB lounge, Famous all you can eat breakfast, a cedar sauna, pool table, a cozy wood stove, as well as water beds, refrigerators and satellite receivers in 8 of our 16 rooms. We also feature two skiers apartments, the "Happenin" sleeps 8-10 and "Grampas Too" sleeps 6-8. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grampa Grunts Hotel Montgomery Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing