We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved the farm house - so cute!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Absolutely loved the farm house - so cute!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We had such a fabulous time staying at the Farm House. Sheady Acres is so adorable and Shawna and Eamon made the trip so easy. The house is beautifully constructed and Shawna thought of every detail inside. We were so appreciative of the little details like a dog bed and bowl for our dog and discounted ski passes to Jay. We would definitely recommend this place to couples looking to get away and relax.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
109
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2010

I went to Sheady Acres with my wife at the beginning of December and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Tea House and had a great time. We were just there for one night but wished we could have stayed longer. It is very conveniently set up and the attention to details makes this little cabin really fun to live in. There is a minimal kitchen but everything you need to cook yourselves a good meal (our apologies to Shawna and Eamon, we cooked scallops in there and realized afterwards that the fish smell was really strong as it stayed on all our clothes and stuff, so I guess you guys must have had to do a lot of ventilation to get rid of it...) Talking about the owners, Shawna and Eamon were very cool and welcoming people. We definetely look forward to coming back with our kids to ski.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We found them quite by accident while in the area a few months before our stay, and thought how cute the small cottages were. When we booked, we were pleased with he service and care they took to make sure everything was OK. The biggest surprise was all the little amenities they were able to provide, like a drying rack for wet ski clothes, and a drawer of games we found after saying we should have brought some. The free Wi-Fi was great, as we used it a lot! The efficiency kitchen was just enough for a few quick meals, and saved us from having to eat out every day. The place was extremely clean, and Shawna and Eamon were very gracious and made sure we had all we needed. Thanks for a great stay, and you can't go wrong for the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinFools2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I stumbled upon Sheady Acres on Craigslist and it's the best happy accident I've ever had. Shawna and Eamon O'Shea have built and decorated these cottages with their own hands, which to me, makes staying here even more magical. We chose the Sugarhouse cottage. Upon walking in we could smell the wood like the cottage had just been built, and it looked like it, too, by how impeccably clean it was. This cottage is very cozy, charming, and the O'Shea's have provided quite possibly everything you should need during your stay (i.e. knives, dishes, microwave, hot plate, toaster oven, towels, sheets, shampoo & conditioner, etc.). A few things I loved about staying in their cottages was the privacy- you're not sharing walls with anyone, front door parking, and the scenery. The land that the cottages live on is an amazing site to be seen in itself. The view from your front door (or windows) is breathtaking. I also want to mention the high level of customer service. The O'Shea's are just across the lawn and can (and willing) to provide you with anything you need, or to answer any questions you may have about what to see and do in the area. These folks are locals and can provide you with many things to do without you having to pay a lot to do so. For example, want to go snow shoeing? Eamon can suggest multiple places to do it for free. Hiking? He's your guy. Restaurant recommendations? Ask the O'Sheas. They are a tremendous resource and quite possibly the nicest couple you'll ever meet. If you want to see Vermont, visit the Northeast Kingdom, and when you do, stay at Sheady Acres. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teawithtori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

These cottages are just too cute for words. Each one is different, and the owners are the nicest people you could ever meet. I don't think there is anything you could ask of them that they wouldn't do for you within reason. Spotless housekeeping, near a main road, so access in the winter won't be a problem, and they look exactly like the pictures!!! Jay K,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We arrived in the dark on a rainy night with no reservation and Eamon was kind enough to get the "Tea Room" ready for us. What a delightful space. It had everything we needed to be comfortable and it was quiet and peaceful. What a nice respite from chain hotels. It was raining in the morning so we didn't get to enjoy the area, but we wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bechler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed in the Sugar House in mid-September and had a wonderful week. It was so relaxing but we still had plenty to do. The cottage felt very luxurious and is fully equipped with everything we needed. We cooked most of our meals here, but enjoyed some of the local eateries as well. The scenery is just breathtaking. We especially enjoyed hiking in the Big Falls State Park and my husband had a great time fishing. Eamon and Shawna went above and beyond as hosts. We will definitely be recommending Sheady Acres to all of our friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMac010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
4.5 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
4.5 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
7.2 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
865 reviews
24.9 mi away
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
7.6 mi away
Rendezvous Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheady Acres Rental Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheady Acres Rental Cottages

Property: Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
Address: 2956 Mountain Rd, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-3113
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each cottage has a kitchenette which includes microwave, toaster oven with convection, double burner hot plate, fridge with freezer, coffee pot, silverware, dishes, and utensils. Each cottage has one Queen-sized, pillow-top mattress and sleeps 2-3 people. They are each 250 square feet equipped with flat screen TVs, satellite, and WIFI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing