We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great alternative to resort hotels”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
1 review
“A great alternative to resort hotels”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

My wife and I needed a room for one night in the Jay area. A local business contact, Don at First Trax in Montgomery recommended Sheady Acres. Shawna and Eamon were very gracious and have a great little group of cabins that have more character than the local resort.
We'll be back and will be happy to recommend Sheady acres to our Clients.

Tom McCarthy & Marie MacLeod
Green Mountain Adventure Travel
http://www.ytbtravel.com/greenmountainadventuretravel

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
109
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We found this place searching high and low for affordable pet friendly lodging in the Jay Peak area. Not only is it affordable but also the best place we have stayed in the whole area. We have been to Jay countless times, making multiple trips every year, and this is the most satisfied we have ever been and an added bonus to the whole trip was that we were able to bring our dog with us. They are less than 5 minutes from the mountain, the lodging is incredible, and the whole property has trails for hiking and exploring. So much fun. We now love Jay even more. I almost don't want to review this place so it can stay as our secret spot.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New hampshire
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2010

What a great property, super location- close to mountain and to montgomery center, peaceful and comfortable. We x-country skiied on their beautiful land when we arrived and skiied Jay the next day. Only wish we could have stayed longer! J & E

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandENewhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We found this place by accident. It was New Year's weekend and we decided to be spontaneous and ski for three days without having anywhere to stay. As we headed down the mountain, we saw a vacancy sign and decided to see how bad we were going to get screwed on a holiday weekend. It was completely affordable! We were shocked! And we are not rich, actually, we are pretty cheap. haha!

The cabin was amazing. We aren't huge into restaurants, so we were very happy to be able to stay in and cook our meals. There was a heater so we could dry all our ski equipment for the next day. They even had a rack so we could hang all our gloves and masks and socks from! All the dishes were there so all we had to do was buy food. Very cool! Even though the cabin is small, it is the perfect size for two people. I would even live there if I could. :-)

Jay Peak is like a five minute drive away. How much closer can you get for this price??? Shawna and Eamon are really friendly and nice. Last time we were there (we've been twice!) they had a bonfire going and my boyfriend and I went out and built a snowman for them. They are both really accommodating and wiling to help with anything you need.

We've been there twice within two months and plan to go back again, so what else do I need to say? This place is awesome!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaospunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We can't say enough about the simplistic comfort we found at Shaedy Acres. Shawna and Eamon were so accomodating and kind. Our cottage, the Caribbean, had everything we needed. With our blue collar budget the value far exceeded our expectations. Upon entering the Caribbean it is clear that it was built by the hands of quality craftsmen and then tastefully decorated. The cottage is sunny and welcoming and so close to Jay Peak that we could come home for lunch, no problem. It's in the perfect location-smack between Jay and Montgomery. The community was great, too. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful, and passionate about the mountain. Being locally minded people it is nice to know that money spent goes to a beautiful family who is contributing to building a strong local community.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewHampshireBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This place is great. We went there not knowing what to expect and we were very pleasantly surprised. The pictures on their website doesn't do them justice. We stayed at the Caribe cabin which was absolutely beautiful, very classy, and felt quit luxurious. Even the bathrooms were hardwood! The kitchen we very well equipped and had every thing that we needed. The owners where very warm and nice people, that tried to help us in every way they can, and I could tell once I talked to Shawna on the phone that it was a very different experience than staying at a hotel. Jay Peak was minutes away and that was just another story compared to anything we skied on the east coast. We spent their 2 days and it felt like we really took a vacation. I would defiantly go back and recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Caribe Cabin. It was very nice and well equipped with everything we needed. I had searched around for the perfect place for 2 people to stay and this was it. Shawna and Eamon were great hosts and went the extra mile to make sure we had an enjoyable visit. If/when we visit the Jay Peak area again we will definitely stay here.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Otterjpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
4.5 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
4.5 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
7.2 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
865 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rendezvous Bed and Breakfast
24.9 mi away
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheady Acres Rental Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheady Acres Rental Cottages

Property: Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
Address: 2956 Mountain Rd, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-3113
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Montgomery Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each cottage has a kitchenette which includes microwave, toaster oven with convection, double burner hot plate, fridge with freezer, coffee pot, silverware, dishes, and utensils. Each cottage has one Queen-sized, pillow-top mattress and sleeps 2-3 people. They are each 250 square feet equipped with flat screen TVs, satellite, and WIFI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing