We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We found this place by accident. It was New Year's weekend and we decided to be spontaneous and ski for three days without having anywhere to stay. As we headed down the mountain, we saw a vacancy sign and decided to see how bad we were going to get screwed on a holiday weekend. It was completely affordable! We were shocked! And we are not rich, actually, we are pretty cheap. haha!

The cabin was amazing. We aren't huge into restaurants, so we were very happy to be able to stay in and cook our meals. There was a heater so we could dry all our ski equipment for the next day. They even had a rack so we could hang all our gloves and masks and socks from! All the dishes were there so all we had to do was buy food. Very cool! Even though the cabin is small, it is the perfect size for two people. I would even live there if I could. :-)

Jay Peak is like a five minute drive away. How much closer can you get for this price??? Shawna and Eamon are really friendly and nice. Last time we were there (we've been twice!) they had a bonfire going and my boyfriend and I went out and built a snowman for them. They are both really accommodating and wiling to help with anything you need.

We've been there twice within two months and plan to go back again, so what else do I need to say? This place is awesome!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaospunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 182 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2010

We can't say enough about the simplistic comfort we found at Shaedy Acres. Shawna and Eamon were so accomodating and kind. Our cottage, the Caribbean, had everything we needed. With our blue collar budget the value far exceeded our expectations. Upon entering the Caribbean it is clear that it was built by the hands of quality craftsmen and then tastefully decorated. The cottage is sunny and welcoming and so close to Jay Peak that we could come home for lunch, no problem. It's in the perfect location-smack between Jay and Montgomery. The community was great, too. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful, and passionate about the mountain. Being locally minded people it is nice to know that money spent goes to a beautiful family who is contributing to building a strong local community.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewHampshireBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This place is great. We went there not knowing what to expect and we were very pleasantly surprised. The pictures on their website doesn't do them justice. We stayed at the Caribe cabin which was absolutely beautiful, very classy, and felt quit luxurious. Even the bathrooms were hardwood! The kitchen we very well equipped and had every thing that we needed. The owners where very warm and nice people, that tried to help us in every way they can, and I could tell once I talked to Shawna on the phone that it was a very different experience than staying at a hotel. Jay Peak was minutes away and that was just another story compared to anything we skied on the east coast. We spent their 2 days and it felt like we really took a vacation. I would defiantly go back and recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Caribe Cabin. It was very nice and well equipped with everything we needed. I had searched around for the perfect place for 2 people to stay and this was it. Shawna and Eamon were great hosts and went the extra mile to make sure we had an enjoyable visit. If/when we visit the Jay Peak area again we will definitely stay here.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Otterjpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

My husband and I just came back from a three night stay at the Tea House at Sheady Acres. The three cottages that Eamon and Shawna have built are each different and uniquely themed. They are very small (about 250 square feet) but are super clean and cozy. The cottages are about a 5 minute drive from Jay Peak & they even have discount lift tickets! We took a day trip to Canada also, which was a 25 minute drive. We didn't really cook too much due to the small space, but had a great time checking out all the local restaurants and pubs. Shawna and Eamon are terrific hosts and even helped us dig out our car that was stuck in a snowbank. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenia1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed in the Sugar shack cabin for a week. There was everything you would need for an extended stay. The kitchenette was very functional, we prepared our meals all week. The clawfoot tub made for a great soak after a long day skiing and the bed was super comfortable. The craftsmanship and beautiful decor made the cabin truly feel like a home away from home, we will never stay anywhere else when skiing Jay Peak. If you're reading this and have never skied Jay, it is a must for anyone, my favorite in New England.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiglades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Sheady Acres offers cute cottages to vacation in, at a reasonable price. Right next to Jay Peak for skiing and snowboarding. So many activities are within 10 miles from this location. The owners are extremely warm people, ad eager to please. We were lucky to share a bon fire with them on New Years Eve in the snow. It was fantastic. The cottages are perfect. You can tell a lot of thought went into each one. They are just beautiful and so private. Dog friendly too.
We plan on staying here every time we venture up to Jay Peak. A great addition to the neighborhood!
We saw a moose too.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunflower654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
4.5 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
4.5 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
2.9 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Rendezvous Bed and Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
77 reviews
24.9 mi away
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheady Acres Rental Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheady Acres Rental Cottages

Address: 2956 Mountain Rd, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-3113
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Montgomery Center
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each cottage has a kitchenette which includes microwave, toaster oven with convection, double burner hot plate, fridge with freezer, coffee pot, silverware, dishes, and utensils. Each cottage has one Queen-sized, pillow-top mattress and sleeps 2-3 people. They are each 250 square feet equipped with flat screen TVs, satellite, and WIFI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing