We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jay Peak Resort(Jay)(Great Value!)
$119
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Sutton Brouerie(Sutton)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Montagnard(Sutton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge des Appalaches(Sutton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Run Motor Inn(Jeffersonville)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
185
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea houseirish farmhousejay peakhot tubeach cottagefarm housefun spotsugar shacknearby areaski weekendgreat hostsdog friendly cottagelong trailthis past weekenda wonderful stayfire pitsmall kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 189 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at Shéady Acres, and it was every bit as lovely as the first time. First time around, we stayed at the Sugar House cabin, and this time we were at the Adobe cabin, and both are beautiful inside and out. The cabins are clean and comfortable, the beds are so very pleasant to sleep on (very, very nice mattresses!), the nearby creek and woodlands are nice for hiking about, and there are plenty of fun places to go within a reasonable driving distance -- or you can just pick up some groceries at the shop in Montgomery Center and never leave the cabin! And Eamon and Shawna are great hosts.

If you want a relaxing trip away from whatever ails you, but with the conveniences of a nice shower and a comfy bed (and, yes, the new hot tub), you will have a hard time beating this. We will be back again and again as the years go by, I am certain, and we will work our way through each of the cabins!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter; they are all excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you're looking for peace & quiet, a unique and open cottage, super friendly hosts and to be right down the road from Jay Peak look no further! We stumbled upon this little gem and were thrilled we did! We stayed in the "Irish Farmhouse" which was more then enough space for 2! It was super clean, comfortable and the sheets and bed were so enticing we slept a little too much LOL! When we weren't snowboarding or sightseeing we truly enjoyed our romps to the hot tub, walks in the forest behind and multiple friendly chats with Shawna, Eamon and their daughter Quinn. Oh, and Daisy the dog too! They also are a wealth of knowledge as far as where to go and what to do in and outside of the area. The cottages are all set apart so you have MUCH more privacy then your average condo. Plus the stay felt more like home then staying in some motel/hotel room. Now, you might say, well, having your own cottage must be expensive? It's NOT at all! The rates were more then reasonable and beat Jay Peak's prices by far (by far, far far!)! We will be back next season for sure and will recommend this to anyone headed to northern Vermont! Thanks again for making the trip memorable :) ~Lauren & Matt

Room Tip: "The Irish Farmhouse" and "The Adobe" are the two cottages best suited for families of 3 or more.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurendesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

While we all know Jay peak offers awesome skiing, not everyone has discovered the true gem that is Sheady Acres. For 2 years, we drove past weekend after weekend, making the trek from Plattsburgh, wondering what these cool little cottages were all about. We finally decided to take an impromptu mid week ski vacation in March 2011 (holy snow dump) and got to stay in the Sugar House. We loved it! Not only are the cottages absolutely charming and comfortable, Shawna and Eamon are excellent hosts that have thought of everything a person could need while staying in the cottages. On our most recent trip this past weekend, we enjoyed the Caribe cottage with our new (huge) puppy, who now loves this place as much as we do! Close by are a few cool restaurants for those who want to break away from the Jay crowds for dinner and drinks. Sheady Acres is most certainly our #1 place to stay when we want to indulge in a full weekend of skiing and mountain fun!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are unique, with really loving personal touches. Each and every one is comfortable and enjoyable.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is fantastic! We will be returning annually!
We stayed in the tea house. Perfect for a couple looking to getaway. Clean, comfortable and feels like home.
The owners of the resort are inviting, and will answer any question you have regarding the area.
The community hot tub is a nice touch. Perfect after a day in the trees at Jay Peak!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glitz_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were so pleased with our experience at Sheady Acres.

Communication
Before even arriving in VT, the email communication by the O'Shea's was excellent.

Smart design
The cabins are small, but unique and lovingly constructed. A fabulous alternative to the cookie-cutter hotel rooms up the road! We had everything we needed.

Supporting a local family
While the resort at Jay is all well and good, we prefer to stay away from the masses. We had privacy and space to do our own thing and best of all, our dollars went to a hard-working family. The O'Shea's are so likeable- you just want them to succeed. We immediately felt at ease with them.

The O'Shea's really embody a wonderful sort of entrepreneurial spirit. Happy to have discovered this little gem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews