We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most rockinest!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheady Acres Rental Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Sheady Acres was a surprise bday gift from my man...I had no idea where we were going. Imagine my surprise when we rolled in Sheady Acres. It was love at first sight. The property and the cabins were picturesque. We stayed in the Carribe for two nights and loved every minute of it. Even though it was 50 and rainy in the middle of June, it didn't dampen our fun. We walked the disc golf course behind the house w/ our fur son, Bub, which was just awesome.
The proprietors, Eamon and Shannon were hospitable,kind and kindred spirits. The town of Montegomery is sweet and they gave us the low down on where to go and we had a blast.
We can't wait to come back!!!
Charlene

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlenempalfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 185 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stated at the tea house for three weeks and i had a wonderful stay.
it was very clean and peaceful, and i enjoyed it a lot .
i will recommend Shady Acres to any one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russellb155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We have a beloved but aging cat that needs medication twice per day, so we cannot travel without her, but after a year we were really desperate for a vacation. We love snowboarding, always wanted to go to Jay Peak, and were thrilled to find that Sheady Acres would let us bring our cat.

We arrived at night when Shawna and Eamon were already asleep but our cottage was ready and waiting for us. It was small but cozy and perfect for us. Other things of note:

* Since our cat was alone all day while we were skiing, we cooked dinner in the room. The kitchenette was tiny, and only had a hot-plate, but was stocked with dishes, pots, a fridge for our groceries, etc. and worked fine. We've stayed at other places with "stocked kitchens" where we had to go out and buy something, but not here. They put a lot of thought into what people use when cooking so that everything we needed was available.

* The first morning we found that the shower drain did not work. We told them about it and they explained that the pipes were probably freezing because the electric heater circuit under the cabin had failed. Even though Eamon had recently broken his collar-bone and was in a sling, he came out to the cabin and, with our help, fixed it. When we returned from skiing that night, the drain worked.

* Officially because we helped Eamon fix the pipe heater, but really we think just because they are so awesome, when we got back that first night, Shawna had left a small Christmas stocking (we were there the week ending 12/25) with a bag of treats for our cat in it! Besides being incredibly thoughtful, this turned out to be a life-saver. Our cat was getting tired off the Pill Pockets we used to give her some of her meds, but she absolutely LOVED the treats Shawna gave us. Even now, six months later, we still use that brand of treats and our cat still totally loves them.

* It snowed most of the time we were there, but the Sheady Acres road and our cottage's little driveway were always plowed when we got back from skiing.

Overall, we loved it, and definitely plan to go back. We give it two thumbs and two paws up!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Caribe" cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjaspan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

You may not have considered Vermont's Northeast Kingdom in the spring but you'll be missing out on an awe inspiring experience if you don't stay at one of Sheady Acres cottages in May and witness Vermont's glorious greens emerging all around. This was our first visit to the Jay Peak area (a gift from our daughter) and as I told her "We loved every minute of it." The whole process to rent the cabin was as smooth as silk via the internet and the Sheas couldn't have been nicer. Our's was the pet friendly Caribe; always a welcome choice when considering lodging.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingfromRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed in the Sugar House with my significant other for an impromptu weekday ski getaway. We have passed this establishment for 2 years as season pass holders to Jay Peak who drive over from upstate NY. We could not have been more impressed with the charming, clean, and just plain awesome accommodations. Shawna and Eamon went above and beyond to ensure our safe arrival during a major (ie the BEST) snowstorm of the season. Don't waste your money on the over priced hotel at Jay Peak, support a local business and get much more than expected!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The whole week at Jay Peak was awesome, which I had thought would be a gamble at best. If so, we won big, the visitors, that is, since not only did they have plenty of snow, but new snow kept coming as well. That and a bit of hot afternoon sun--all at the end of March (2011). (I also heard they got even more snow after we left, i.e. April.) My non-skiing girlfriend and I were happy in the Sugar House all week. Mr. O'Sheady (Eamon, as he is called) works and knows everyone at Jay Peak, and he helped us in numerous ways, including getting the non-skier on skis and up to the top of the mountain. (She helped herself to the JP spa afterwards, of course.) I loved the small but ample supermarket in town. We remained happy with making our own frozen pizza (which surprisingly did fit into the mini-fridge/freezer), dining at The Belfry after their official dinner hours (how nice of them to find a way to accomodate us with two complete late-evening meals). Ski instructors were awesome for me too. It might have helped that we were there mid-week toward the "end" of the season, so the place really wasn't busy and we got more attention than you might expect. If you can, shoot for mid-week and/or start/end-of-season. I could go on and on about the various snow conditions, the people, the weather, the house, the owners, the lifts, the woods, the runs, the drives... oh yes, Eamon said don't take Rt. 58 in winter...it's apparently closed...and your navigator may not be aware ;). You'll need a passport if crossing the US/Canada border, but we didn't and had no desire to. We were just ducky, chilling at the Sheady Acres.

N.B. Cell phones worked not well in the cottage, so we used Skype via WiFi. WiFi streaming was a bit sporadic in the Sugar House...not sure why. TXT messages seemed to make it through fine, however. Cell service at the JP resort and in town was fine too. Personally, I think lack of comm/tech can be a good thing on a vacation!

Room Tip: I don't think it really matters!?!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gw13007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

What a great find. We'll be sure to come back. The cabins are extremely well done. Clever, creative and very well crafted. This was a refreshing and much needed change of pace to what the Jay Peak Area. I can't say any more than the stay was perfect. Clean, restful, affordable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailsnowwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery Center
4.5 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
4.5 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
21.1 mi away
Sterling Ridge Resort
Sterling Ridge Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast Inn
Phineas Swann Bed and Breakfast ...
#1 of 2 in Montgomery Center
888 reviews
2.9 mi away
The INN
The INN
#2 of 2 in Montgomery Center
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheady Acres Rental Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheady Acres Rental Cottages

Address: 2956 Mountain Rd, Montgomery Center, VT 05471-3113
Location: United States > Vermont > Montgomery Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Montgomery Center
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each cottage has a kitchenette which includes microwave, toaster oven with convection, double burner hot plate, fridge with freezer, coffee pot, silverware, dishes, and utensils. Each cottage has one Queen-sized, pillow-top mattress and sleeps 2-3 people. They are each 250 square feet equipped with flat screen TVs, satellite, and WIFI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing