We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Stop Here!”

Middlebury Natural Foods Co-op
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Middlebury
Description: The Middlebury Natural Foods Cooperative is a democratic, member-owned cooperative committed to providing healthy, competitively priced foods while encouraging ecologically sound and healthful patterns of production and consumption. Our cafe serves a variety of healthy foods including made-to-order hot and cold sandwiches, hot soups, full salad bar, hot pizza by the slice, and many house-made burritos, salads, wraps, and baked goods in our deli grab-and-go case. You can also find fresh, hot, fair-trade, organic coffee and tea.
Restaurant details
Description: The Middlebury Natural Foods Cooperative is a democratic, member-owned cooperative committed to providing healthy, competitively priced foods while encouraging ecologically sound and healthful patterns of production and consumption. Our cafe serves a variety of healthy foods including made-to-order hot and cold sandwiches, hot soups, full salad bar, hot pizza by the slice, and many house-made burritos, salads, wraps, and baked goods in our deli grab-and-go case. You can also find fresh, hot, fair-trade, organic coffee and tea.
Swampscott, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always Stop Here!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We travel to Middlebury frequently and the Coop is a gem for shopping for Vermont cheeses, fresh local produce, prepared foods and wine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All things local!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have not eaten many of their prepared foods, though what we had was good. What they do have is an amazing array of local beers, hard ciders, wines, foods and produce.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stockschatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quinessential Vermont....a must visit!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I heart this place! I'm a natural health food store junky - so naturally I had to visit this place! I could have spend hours in here if my husband hadn't dragged me out! So much to look at - lot of local, organic, non-GMO, vegan, vegetarian options! We ended up purchasing some local maple syrup, vegetarian hotdogs for dinner along with wonderful fresh baked buns and a delicious cupcake from a local bakery!
The staff were all super friendly and always willing to help with any questions. The selection of local produce and goods was astounding! I LOVE Vermont! Wish I could relocate there....sigh.
I'll be back Middlebury Co-op - and next time it'll me just me and you - I'll drop the hubby :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMandPM_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful shopping experience each time we visit”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great employees, bread, bulk, wine, cheese and general selection of foodstuffs. All the choices are very high quality and prices are surprisingly good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank scooleyrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy, natural ingredients”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place really does serve you the best of local ingredients. Fantastic sandwiches and great service (lovely people) make this a safe bet for lunch in Middlebury.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mawifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middlebury Natural Foods Co-op also viewed

 

Been to Middlebury Natural Foods Co-op? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing