We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Horses and a Historic Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of UVM Morgan Horse Farm

UVM Morgan Horse Farm
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Redding, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful Horses and a Historic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Morgan Horse Farm is wonderful! Surrounded by rolling green meadows, the historic white barn is a beautiful sight, with the Morgan horse statue standing prominently in front. A mare and adorable colt relaxed in a paddock close by. We had a great tour with Kevin, and watched trainer Steve work with the horses. The gift shop has great stuff, too. The display cases, photos, and history of the place is fascinating.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
524 reviews
305 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“For those who love horses and those who want to learn about them!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Run by the University of Vermont this horse farm is out in the boondocks. Really, it's not that hard to find and it's worth the effort. I don't know a lot about horses but I know a beautiful horse when I see one and the Morgan horse is proud and beautiful. They have a small museum and you can watch the Morgan's being trained. They will give you a tour and don't be afraid to ask questions,they know everything about this breed. The grounds are pretty and it makes for a nice two hour stop on your way to the next Vermont attraction.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Was a bit skeptical - but was convinced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife really wanted to see the horses - not being a horse person, I thought I'd stay in the car. However, after sitting in the car about 10 minutes, I felt the urge to get out, pay the admission fee and see the sights. What changed my mind - the grounds are absolutely beautiful. Worth the visit simply for the nice stroll.
Note, when we were visiting they were rebuilding the Middlebury wooden bridge, GPS didn't know about the detour... check if it's finished before heading that direction.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank teachernate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Who doesn't love horses? And the Morgans are beautiful. It is well worth stopping by to see the horses, watch them being groomed & trained, and to see the young ones.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gjcooper7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UVM Morgan Horse Farm also viewed

 

Been to UVM Morgan Horse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing