We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
Review of Inn on the Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Green
Ranked #2 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We only stayed one night, but the staff and owners were so accommodating. We stayed at the end of September and the weather was unusually warm. The fall foliage was gorgeous. We were visiting Middlebury for an event at the college and the inn is within walking distance of the college. Breakfast was included and they brought it right to our room with fresh bakery items! We hope to stay again some time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novanative703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    22
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
61
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our quick overnight at the inn. We got their last room on a very busy weekend. The room was in the annex which is seperate from the main house. The room was clean and comfortable with a queen and win bed. I would have given the inn a higher score but i would have preferred a full breakfast. Not sure of the reason for the continental breakfast but at least they added the interesting touch of breakfast in your room. Fully half of the B&B experience is breakfast so a little disappointed on that front.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We are influenced by the very favorable reviews of the B&B, but were a little disappointed. Here's why. We did not experience the personal touch by the owners that others did, and perhaps more importantly, we realized through this experience that in B&B's, we enjoy meeting others staying in the same B&B around the breakfast table. In this Inn, breakfast is served in one's own room.

We had dinner at the Swift House down the street that evening and found the food very good and the ambiance very pleasant. Maybe next time we will try staying there instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iog71, Owner at Inn on the Green, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for contributing your review to TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have you with us during your recent visit to Middlebury! At The Inn on the Green, we offer a model for breakfast that is pretty special; we call it The Inn on the Green "Breakfast-in-Bed". We offer an expanded continental breakfast, prepared to your order and delivered to your room at a time specified by you. The Inn on the Green breakfast features delicious, fresh baked goods from our local bakery and also includes our own oatmeal with Vermont maple syrup, granola from our local natural foods co-op, cheese, yogurt, fresh seasonal fruit, juice, and hot beverages featuring Burlington's own Speeder and Earl's coffee. Our breakfast model is consistent with the personalized service and privacy that many of our guests prioritize when making travel plans that include us. We certainly recognize that other breakfast models also are wonderful, and we hope that the information provided on our website and offered during phone inquiries accurately describes our breakfast offering, so that visitors can make the best choice to suit their preferences. Thank you again for posting, and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I just spent 2 nights in the Lincoln room. Upon arriving, we were greeted and given all the proper instructions and hints for wifi, etc. Every time we left someone was always there and more than willing to point us in the right direction with a map or make recommendations for where to eat, shop, etc. Every staff member I met was very helpful and friendly.

Upon arrival guests are asked to fill out a card for breakfast options. If you like oatmeal, don't miss theirs. It's the best I've ever had. Also, the muffins are amazing! They are fresh and delicious without being overly sweet.

Room Tip: Make sure you check their site online to choose the perfect room for you needs. You can find the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLastPicasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in the Bristol room- really a suite- located on the first floor at the rear of the main house. Couldn't have been better for us - a family of 4. The Queen bedroom was comfortable for my wife and I and the second bedroom had two twins for the kids. Then there is a large sitting room with a table and chairs where we ate the included breakfast each day. The continental breakfast is great, with some of the finest baked goods we've ever had as well as cereal, fruit, yogurt and cheese as well as coffee/tea and juice. And having it served right in your room is VERY convenient! Top notch amenities: Aveda soaps/shampoo, bottled water, a Keurig in the hall with coffes and hot chocolate, granola bars and cookies and even Cracker Jack! Staff was friendly and the overall vibe is really really nice! Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daves27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

my husband and and I spent the night at Inn on the Green, while making a stop in Middlebury. We stayed in the Ripton room, which was in a separate wing from the main house. It is on the ground street level, which makes it a little less private and there is some street noise. The advantage to this room is the easy access to getting your things from your car, and the great parking if you have concerns about watching your sports car which is a priority of my husband. The breakfast in bed is amazing. The baked goods from Otter Creek bakery--- decadent and embarrassing because you eat everything that is brought to you. The Inn is within walking distance to restaurants, bookstores and the college. The staff is very pleasant to deal with. Great spot!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mc02066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Inn on the Green was fine for our one night stay in Middlebury. Our "room" was really a suite with two bedrooms (one queen, two twins), a huge living room, and a bathroom -- probably way more space than we needed. It was pricey, though, so I guess we paid for it. The beds were comfortable, the suite had AC (which was very welcome on our humid arrival day), and the bathroom was very well stocked with extra towels and nice Aveda toiletries. One oddity, though, was that the living room barely had any furniture despite its size. It wasn't very inviting to actually sit in it. The property itself is nice -- a sprawling lawn with Adirondack chairs, well positioned up a hill with a view of the town and the hills beyond. We appreciated the free water and tea, but the afternoon cookies were inedible, and the snack basket looked like it had been sitting there for years. Breakfast was an assortment of bread, fruit, yogurt, granola, coffee, and juices (we submitted our menu preferences the night before), and we loved that it was delivered to our room. It felt very cozy and relaxed. Now quite sure it is worth as much as we paid, but it was a nice change of pace from chain hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jastraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.1 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
6.9 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
11.3 mi away
Strong House Inn
Strong House Inn
#1 of 3 in Vergennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Green

Property: Inn on the Green
Address: 71 S Pleasant St, Middlebury, VT 05753-1478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Bruce and Brenda Grove welcome you to experience unmatched personal service and comfort at the Inn on the Green.The Inn on the Green offers traditional Vermont ambience, modern amenities including free high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, and luxuries like a custom Continental "breakfast-in-bed" each morning .... just steps away from Middlebury's lively shops and restaurants and 3 blocks from Middlebury College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing