We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vermont hospitality, great breakfast, wonderful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Green

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Green
Ranked #2 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vermont hospitality, great breakfast, wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Middlebury is the nicest of towns and the Inn on the Green is right within walking distance of everything, including the college campus. We were greeted by the owner who made us feel immediately welcome and brought us tea which was much appreciated and so nicely done. Our bed was comfortable, we had turn down service every evening, and the most spectacular breakfast in our room every morning (try the croissants, best ever). Everyone was so thoughtful and friendly with us without ever having that too sweet, saccharine feeling that can be insincere feeling at some B&B's if you know what I mean. When we needed an extra room for our daughter who graduated, they gave us a lovely room for her last minute. If they can help, they will. The best!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    21
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
61
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have not stayed at many B&B properties and was a little apprehensive until I stayed at the Inn on the Green and realized, how if done properly the B&B experience can be amazing.
My stay began by walking into this gorgeous old home to find a coffee station stacked with little snacks, a wide choice in single brew coffees and teas and best of all freshly made chocolate chip cookies.

The service was fantastic. Everyone who worked at the Inn on the Green was friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was beautiful (pictures attached), clean and well appointed. The Inn provides complimentary breakfast with a selection of fruit, fresh pastries, coffee/tea, juices, cereals, yogurt, oatmeal. I made my selection and was pleasantly greeted by a knock on the door in the morning for my breakfast in bed experience.

I spent two nights at the Inn on the Green and then two days after I had checked out came back to Middlebury and stayed for another evening. I would highly recommend the Inn to anyone visiting Vermont who wants to experience a fantastic stay in a beautiful Inn.
Thank you Brenda and Bruce. I hada wonderful time and appreciate the warm hospitality.

Room Tip: I had a room upstairs in the main house which I enjoyed (New Haven Room) as well as a room during my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The owners went out of their way every day to make sure I had everything I needed. They even scraped the ice off my car in the morning. As part of your stay, there is a complimentray continental breakfast delivered to your room every morning. There's a large selection to choose from, and everything comes from a local bakery and it's delicious! The staff also asked if I needed anything every time I saw them. They even offered to turn down the bed every night. Wireless internet and cable TV is also included at no additional charge. I would highly recommend the Inn on the Green to anyone planning to be in Middlebury!

Room Tip: I stayed in the coachhouse next to the main house, and it worked out great. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsteffens223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We found Middlebury and the Inn on the Green by chance five years ago and had a fantastic stay; we returned this year to find Middlebury as nice as we remembered and that the Inn on the Green had new owners but the welcome was as we remembered! Brenda and Bruce were super hosts; tea, coffee and cookies offered at every opportunity, along with great advice on places to eat.

On both of our visits we have chosen to stay in the Orwell room, which is decorated in the traditional New England style and is very clean and comfortable, providing a very relaxing base to explore the Lake Champlain area. A lovely breakfast is served in the room and features fresh baked goods from the local artisinal bakery.

The hotel is located on a quiet residential road overlooking Middlebury green and all of central Middlebury attractions are within short walking distance, including the waterfall, art galleries, library, museum and not to be missed Danforth pewter works. There are nice corporate hotels in the area but if you are looking for a traditional inn experience with a little something special, charm and great service; then the Inn on the Green should be first on your list!

Room Tip: The Orwell and Ripton rooms are on the ground floor and are very easy to access without encountering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just spent four nights at Inn on the Green, and our stay could not have been more pleasant. We had a large family gathering over the weekend and we stayed in the Bristol and Addison suites. Both rooms are bright and large. There were robes in the rooms, Aveda toiletries in the bathrooms. Coffee, tea and water available 24/7, simple, lovely breakfasts (fantastic croissants!), and afternoon oatmeal chocolate chip cookies to die for. Mostly, however, it was the owners and the staff that made Inn on the Green stand out. We had family members coming and going all weekend, and the staff could not have been more accommodating--making up extra beds late in the evening, adding additional breakfasts at the last minute, changing the time of breakfast, etc., and all of this without ever making us feel we were an imposition. While the rooms are somewhat pricey (although akin to other places in the area), the overall experience made it totally worthwhile, and we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiesblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was the highlight of our trip to New Hampshire and Vermont. Outside, it's in an ideal setting in the lovely town of Middlebury. Inside, there is great warmth of welcome, wonderful rooms of comfort and charachter and lovely breakfasts brought to your room exactly when asked for. All this could only be achieved by dedicated staff who always had time for their guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond4341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My family had a wonderful time staying at Bruce and Brenda Grove's Inn on the Green. It is centrally located in Middlebury. The room was tastefully furnished. The breakfast provided was plentiful. Our tray had coffee, hot chocolate, homemade granola, yogurt, fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice and crossants, cinnamon twists and honey buns from the local Otter Creek Bakery. Brenda suggested a wonderful drive into the mountains to take in the Fall Colors. It was a lovely afternoon with spectacular scenery. She also suggested a lovely, serene hike on the Robert Frost Trail that took us over the river and up the mountain and through the meadow. The Grove's are gracious hosts and they are warm and friendly. You feel as if they have invited you into their home and you are part of their family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimmer's_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.1 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
16.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
6.9 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Green

Property: Inn on the Green
Address: 71 S Pleasant St, Middlebury, VT 05753-1478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Bruce and Brenda Grove welcome you to experience unmatched personal service and comfort at the Inn on the Green.The Inn on the Green offers traditional Vermont ambience, modern amenities including free high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, and luxuries like a custom Continental "breakfast-in-bed" each morning .... just steps away from Middlebury's lively shops and restaurants and 3 blocks from Middlebury College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing