We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pictueresque location; quaint; rooms a bit small”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Waybury Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waybury Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pictueresque location; quaint; rooms a bit small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed at this inn for 3 nights, the first two in the nicest suite and the 3rd in a smaller room. the pros: perfect landscaping and appearance on the outside, very helpful and friendly staff, excellent breakfast (order from menu), good location, and hot beverages and cookies upon arrival after a cold day out. The cons: our room was very cold for the first day and a half (front desk controls the heat, no control in rooms), the 3rd night's room bed was very firm and uncomfortable. The main complaint I have is that it is extremely noisy at this inn. The computer was centrally located outside the guest rooms and people gathered there quite early and were loud. Due to the age of this inn, you could hear every shower and door close. The 3rd night's room must have been above the kitchen because we could hear very loud kitchen noises until late into the night. By far, my biggest complaint is not getting to sleep late on my vacation! However, it is a very beautiful inn and we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOmandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
54
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

The location is okay - I had read the reviews about the staff being super friendly - but I don't see that, I mean they were okay but not anything special. I had said we were here for our Anniversary when I made the reservation and noone asked about it or did anything special. The ground were pretty. We eat at the Pub and the fodd was good - we got the Shepard's Pie & Fish & Chips. The breakfast was okay but nothing special. I don't think we will be back, there are many other Inn in the area. One thing I did like was there were a bicycle group and when we left, we saw that the staff had put a small chocolate and a banana on their bike seats.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

My husband and I eloped at the Waybury. The room was comfortable and the inn staff was friendly. We married in the garden (planned well in advance with the inn's owner). However, we would have preferred that the owner not choose that particular day and time to have the grounds sprayed for mosquitoes.

The area is very walkable and the nearby town has some great places to eat. We plan to return someday to celebrate an anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

It was enjoyable and memorable stay we had at the Waybury Inn. They make the people feel like 'royalty' with their 'personal touches' and 'First Class' treatment. The food was outstanding along with the presentation of the food. We ate all of our dinners at the Inn because we know we would get quality food. The Waybury Inn is truly an Inn where we are relaxed regardless of the weather. You must experience this Inn because the owners and staff are so professional and helpful. Incredible gardens and lawn to just sit and relax. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennellville, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed here may 15-16. Got a good deal on the Robert Frost suite/room #9. It cost $175.00 per night. This is a fair price. The breakfast was delicious and easily worth $20.00. The room itself was large but the bathroom was kind of cramped. There is a jacuzzi tub built for jockeysized people, not for me. Don't go looking for lots of antiques decorating the place.(I think I've seen many of the wall hangings and accent pieces at Target.) The restaurant is excellent. John, the bartender was a real pro. This is a nice place that just barely, in my opinion, squeaks by with a rating of 4. I think if I'd have paid more than I did, the value factor would have brought this place down to a 3.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton Mass.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2009

Nice, Nice Inn. Beautiful grounds. Reasonable room rates. Cozy, clean room. Great food in the pub. Great complimentary full breakfast. The owners and staff are very friendly and want to make sure you are enjoying your stay. I would definetly go back again and recommend the Waybury Inn to those seeking a good homey place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpackingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

I stayed at the Waybury Inn for business. The rates in April are lower than during their busy season. The room was small but the bed was very comfortable and it was clean and inviting. It was great having a pub for drinks and a dining facility in site. The staff is very friendly and made my stay much more inviting. I would definitely stay there again and may go back for a vacation to go hiking. No TV in the room was a surprise but it was actually a nice surprise. Gotta get away sometimes even if away on business.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
4.9 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
2.7 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waybury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waybury Inn

Property: Waybury Inn
Address: 457 E Main St, Middlebury, VT 05753-8656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waybury Inn is known not only for its role on the Bob Newhart Show, but also for its extraordinary dining options and beautiful accommodations. The Waybury Inn's thirteen guest rooms are decorated with a little whimsy and provide all of the comforts expected in today’s lodging. It is true that we are over 200 years old, but we have spent the last ten years renovating and decorating to offer the best blends of historic charm and comfortable surroundings. Dog-friendly accommodations, deep claw-foot bathtubs, free wireless internet, a dedicated guest PC, and a full service bar are just some of the amenities we offer. All of our guests also enjoy a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waybury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing