We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of best country inns ever...the place to stay in Middlebury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro NC
Level Contributor
344 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“One of best country inns ever...the place to stay in Middlebury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

We came into Middlebury about 7 p.m. without a reservation, and were having no success finding satisfactory lodging...either the accomodations were looking past their prime or were clearly overpriced/less than welcoming. As we were leaving town two blocks off the attractive city main square, we saw the Swift Inn off to our right, a very impressive and attractive building set on several acres. My wife convinced me to check it out, and what a good decision.

We were graciously and sincerely welcomed by Michele Brown, who owns the inn with her husband Dan. She is a perfect hostess. We learned that the inn is the meticulously restored and clean 1815 residence of a former Vermont governor. The room was absolutely immaculate, with a fireplace (which we enjoyed). Breakfast was included in the reasonable rate; it turned out to be a cooked to order gourmet meal (fresh fruit all around, and I had the Mediterranean omelet). The inn has an elegant lounge and well stocked bar (great single malt selection), but we did not use it during our visit. In the morning we strolled around the appealingnearby city square, and checked out the attractive stores and bridge overlooking the tumbling waterfall. Middlebury College is worth a drive through...it is about a mile out of town. Based on our experience, I would not consider staying anywhere else in the Middlebury area. Middlebury is conveniently located to hiking and fishing, and shopping (including a neat wooden toy factory) and is not far (15-20 miles) from the many artisanal shops between there and Burlington, including Shelburne.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    47
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
149
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed here first week of October in the Gladstone room. We picked this room because it had a King bed and a jacuzzi tub. The check-in process was easy and we were walked to our room and shown around. The room was very big and had a nice couch to sit on, fireplace (which we didn't get to use) and a large bathroom. We settled in for a little while and went into town for dinner.

Upon our return I planned on using the Jacuzzi tub but could not get any hot water. We called the office and found out they were out of heating oil and were getting it replaced. I wasn't happy but the truck had just pulled up so I figured I could wait a little more. They called back a little later and said it wasn't the oil, it was the hot water heater. By now I was frustrated and we let them know. They did promise to have it working that evening and they did in another hour. Once I got to use the tub it was fabulous!

While we were disappointed with having to wait for hot water, the owners were very kind and actually reimbursed us for our room which we told them they didn't have to do (we felt just a discount would have been fine).

Nice touches - leaving umbrellas for us to use the next morning as it was raining hard during breakfast time. I also loved the robes and the extra make-up mirror in the bathroom. There were cookies and coffee in the check-in area.

During foliage season the price is a little steep. It was a special splurge but not sure if I would have spent that much money again. However, it is a great place and I would recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomtoCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Swift House Sept 19-20, 2009. The Inn and its grounds were beautiful. We stayed in the Battell room (corner room) and enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the dining room. It was alittle early for leaf peepers, so we had more room to adventure out. We enjoyed going to the Farmers Market on Saturday morning and brought a cooler with us so we could enjoy some fine cheese at home! The Swift House was a close walk to 'downtown' Middlebury and we enjoyed a pint at the Tavern after dinner. It was a wonderful experience and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed one night in the Clark room which was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Reception/bar was open until 10. The hosts were very friendly and breakfast the next morning was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublin123Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Johnsville NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed with an Australian friend while showing her a bit of Vermont. We had our own rooms in the main house - both were charming, immaculately clean, quiet, with astoundingly comfortable beds! Our very late arrival was handled gracefully without any stress for us or the innkeepers, and made us feel welcome. Michelle, the innkeeper, was a delight to chat with in the morning over a very nice breakfast. The grounds, the staff, the rooms and the prices --- all combine for an ideal inn experience. My Aussie friend is a very experienced traveller, and she was delighted with all. Can't wait to return, this time with my husband!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveshiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

we really liked this place - nice location, beautiful lawn, large clean room with whirlpool and short walk to our favorite restaurant "fire and ice" - we also had a nice breakfast before we headed out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed here for a friend's wedding a few weeks ago and were very pleased. The staff could not have been nicer, the room had a period charm, and it's right in the middle of things.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.0 mi away
Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Property: Swift House Inn
Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing