We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Christmas”
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our first stay at the Swift House Inn and what a delightful time we had. We stayed in the Carriage House with our service dog. Dan and Michele are gracious, caring hosts. Our room was lovely, the staff was friendly and attentive, and the food was delicious. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishharp705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 286 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

It was by dumb luck that we stayed at the Swift House. We are very glad for our luck. Room was great, staff was awesome, and the breakfast was even better. We were in the main house and everything was prefect. On our next stay we will be there longer.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was our second stay at the Swift House Inn and I am looking forward to our third. It is very clear that the owners care deeply about the comfort and happiness of their guests. We had the Mansfield Room in the carriage house (we brought our dog) and it was huge and very comfortable and nicely decorated. The bed was heavenly and so was the Jacuzzi. Breakfast was great. We had a delicious dinner at Jessica's; I was very impressed with the wine list and the menu had some unusual choices. The staff was pleasant and competent. Every town should have an inn like the Swift House Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scobeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were in town for our nephew's "Feb" graduation from Middlebury College. Many of our relatives and friends had also booked rooms at the Swift House Inn, and it was a wonderful place to serve as our "base" for the weekend's festivities. The beautifully-furnished living room, complete with fireplace, was cozy, inviting and naturally became the gathering area as family members trickled in on Friday evening. We ordered bottles of wine and glasses of beer from the bar just steps away in the next room. And several (all?) of us helped ourselves to the jar of homemade cookies right by the entrance. The restaurant, Jessica's, is on the other side of the living room. It provides beautiful ambiance and there we enjoyed our two delicious breakfasts (part continental, part cooked-to-order egg dishes, pancakes, french toast and daily specials) and a gourmet dinner for the whole group on Saturday night. (There were about 20 of us).

Our room had what I would describe as an ideal B&B feel (not like an institutional cookie-cutter hotel room). It had tall ceilings, floral wallpaper, gas fireplace, VERY comfortable king-size bed, two comfy armchairs, a desk and all the little details that made the stay convenient and fun (plush bathrobes, non-string window blinds that are easy to maneuver, iron & board, switches in the bathroom for several different lights & heat & vent, hairdryer, and whirlpool tub). They managed to fit in a rollaway-bed for our teenage son, which worked out fine for our needs. My only small criticism would be about the armoire... it is a tad shallow so you have to tilt all the hangers sideways to close the doors. But really no biggie.

We would highly recommend the Swift House Inn!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOaChim2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I can't believe I grew up in Middlebury and missed this treasure for so many years! We stayed this past Saturday and had the most pleasant stay. The food was excellent, the staff beyond courteous and our room was just perfect! We will be back many many times in the future. Thank you for the perfect weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

As a Middlebury College alumna and now parent of twin daughters there, we've stayed at the Swift House several dozen times. Each time it is like coming home. A picture perfect historic country inn, the Swift House has comfortable and inviting public rooms, a fantastic wine cellar, a solid dining room with a delicious included cooked-to-order hot breakfast, and charming, comfortable bedrooms. Michelle and Dan, the innkeepers, have a constant presence and bend over backwards to ensure their guests' comfort. Susie at the front desk is always cheerful and helpful. We have stayed in many of the rooms and are partial to the Swift Room (main house, queen bed, fireplace and jacuzzi) and most of the rooms in the deluxe Carriage House, all with fireplaces. The Gate House too is a great option for less expensive but still comfortable and charming rooms. As the rooms are all very different (part of the Inn's charm) and with varying price points, you should express your needs upon booking and will be steered to the right sort of room. The Inn has special little touches like a jar of fresh-baked cookies out in the public spaces, apples, tea and hot chocolate, etc. Having stayed at the Inn in all four seasons it is hard to pick my favorite. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Middlebury.

Room Tip: All very different, and different price points. The ones in the Gate house tend to have a little mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for all the great reviews and telling our story. We are always excited to see reviews which validate what the staff work hard to achieve. As owners we try to keep the Inn fresh, and up to date and responsive to guests needs, while maintaining the feel of a contemporary Country Inn which has a great history. We don't always get it right but all of us keep working to those ends. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Swift House Inn was the perfect getaway for New Years Eve. Fireplaces in the rooms, super comfortable beds and incredibly helpful/accomodating owners. We visited for our anniversary and the owners surprised us with champagne in our room!-;) We had a luscious, amazing dinner at Jessica's, their restaurant ON New Years Eve. Mmmmmm! Everyone at the front desk was beyond helpful. Complimnentary coffee/tea/hot coco & cookies in the lobby. Loved it!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in The Carriage House. The Main House is above the restaurant, Jessica's, which is deliciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caragoldrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
615 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
230 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
192 reviews
15.7 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range: $145 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing