We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Vermont Inn”
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming Vermont Inn”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Swift House Inn when in Middlebury recently for a gathering of friends. It has the charm and warmth one hopes for when staying in a small New England town. Tall, old-fashioned bed, attractive furniture (see their web site), and a modern, private bathroom that included a shower with good pressure. Although the Inn is conveniently located, it provides a very nice hot breakfast for its guests.

Minor quibbles for room 27: the shower stall was a bit small for a normal-sized person, and the TV location made it difficult to see from the bed or one of the chairs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    50
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
156
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Granby
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family of five just came back from a wedding in the Middlebury area. And while we were there we stayed two nights at the Swift House Inn. There is more than one building at the Swift House. We stayed in the main building in rooms 28 and 21. Room 28 was quite large with room to sleep three comfortably; and room 21 was good-sized as well for two. Rooms were very clean.
This inn is the real deal folks. You are stepping back in time when you walk through the front door. There are several rooms on the first floor for dining and relaxing. There are also two outdoor spaces--one, a screened porch overlooking the main street; and the other, a large porch attached to the dining room. We took our cocktails on the former and our breakfast on the latter. Note: the FULLY stocked bar and amiable barkeep are just what the doctor ordered to make your stay a delight.
The breakfast is wonderful-- the morning paper, a variety of juices, coffees or teas; fruit, croissants, cereal, yogurt, eggs any way you want them, French toast, pancakes; and a frittata as the special one day. Michelle, the innkeeper/owner, assists with the service and is happy to help you in any way she can. She is delightful.
They also serve dinner at the Inn but we didn't have chance to try it...maybe next time.
Located conveniently on Rt. 7, the Inn is set back a bit and just beyond the town center. You are a 10 minute walk from the action;i.e., shopping(Made in Vermont), dining(Storm Cafe--eat outdoors), bars. And to top it all off, there is a river, including a sizeable waterfall, that runs right through the center of town. Nice touch.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAMRAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Swift House Inn comprises a number of 19th century properties located in beautiful Middlebury, Vermont. The main house is all that you would expect: wonderful period rooms with all the modern amenities, a classic bar and reading lounge, an enclosed porch, and what seem to be acres of deep green lawns and stately trees lit by the evening sun. The Inn's dining room serves a truly excellent supper. Very friendly and helpful staff, an ideal location just off the town center, and classic New England architecture make this a memorable place to stay and savor all that Vermont has to offer. An ideal place to stay when visiting Middlebury, the College, and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: The Jessica Swift room is excellent due to the side deck off the bathroom, classic decor, and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ex-Buffalonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A great place to stay -- within walking distance of the town center and a short drive or walk to the Middlebury Campus. The carriage house rooms are beautiful and well-appointed. We felt like we were on our honeymoon again! There are plenty of comfortable areas to hang out and a small bar.

Room Tip: The Carriage House rooms were set back from the road and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Swift House Inn as part of our 40th wedding anniversary celebration. We had a lovely room with a fireplace, a whirlpool tub, comfortable appointments, a nice view of the extensive gardens and a luxurious king sized bed that was too inviting to resist for long. It was too hot to venture anywhere by foot for long, so the quiet air conditioned comfort of our room was perfect. Dinner at the Inn's restaurant was also a wonderful experience. Food was well prepared, service was attentive and the wine list was very interesting. Although the Inn could do with a bit of "freshening up", this is a historic mansion of 200 years of age and is wonderfully romantic. Breakfast the following morning was also delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Swift House Inn (actually at the end of April 2013) but have stayed there several times before. It is located in Middlebury, VT and within an easy walk of the downtown area. Dan and Michelle are the Inn Keepers but seem more like family to us. They make everyone feel right at home. The rooms are first class and the food is excellent! Tom, the bar keeper, is a pleasure to sit and chat with.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed at the Swift House Inn and we've enjoyed it both times. Each of the rooms is a little different and both of our rooms were very comfortable. The bathroom is a bit small, but that would be my only quibble. Service is friendly and helpful. The breakfast (included) was delicious! And the inn is located right in Middlebury, so is convenient to anywhere in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drusilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
223 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
187 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
15.8 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Property: Swift House Inn
Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing