We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but be advised!”
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a gorgeous property consisting of three different buildings, two of which are adjacent and the other is down at the end of the block, a bit of a walk. If you stay here, get a room in the main house, which is where dining room is located. Food is fabulous, both breakfast and dinner, (pumpkin french toast for breakfast was the best ever) and service in restaurant is good.
However, front desk staff were not readily helpful and not all were familiar with the locale and thus could not recommend hiking nor give directions. However, owner, Michelle, knows what to do and where to go, and if she is not too busy, is a good resource. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable, but depending upon the room, bathroom can be tiny. Be sure to take a walk on the Trail Around Middlebury.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont25, Owner at Swift House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We always appreciate reviews that give us a better perspective on how the guests perceive our customer services. The single person front desk position is very busy, particularly in the morning, and they are not always the best source of information for active outdoor guests. Every morning Michele, Owner/Innkeeper, and/or Julie, Innkeeper, assist with breakfast and attempt to greet and talk with every guest. They help guests plan their day and give directions. They are the Concierge and resident experts, particularly for outdoor activities and day trips away from the Inn. For our bicycling and fishing guests, Dan, Owner, is available for area and route planning and any technical advice. We have discussed this review with the staff and will be better at having the right staff member assist the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had the garden room...very clean and bedding was wonderful...loved the sheets. The granola for breakfast was delicious and had several choices for hot meal. The breakfast area was warm with a beautiful view of the garden and front lawn with fall folliage. Had a cute bar area. Wished we could have been there on day the restaurant was open at night....had great reviews....

Room Tip: Garden room has a very small,sink area. Could not put toiletries in bathroom...heater unit in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyDBrooksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Great location in Middlebury VT. Great breakfast with with many food choices. Owner is present and aims to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms are a little pricey but warrant a special occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeah09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Swift House Inn for three nights. The inn is full of character. The staff was charming, knowledgeable and friendly. All parts of the hotel were tastefully decorated. Our room was spotless, and our bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was great. We also had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant. The food was delicious! Highly recommended. Middlebury is a great little town, and was very convenient as a base to see different parts of Vermont.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Loved our stay at the Swift House Inn! We stayed in the turret room in the gate house. It was described as the smallest room at the inn so we were surprised that it had plenty of space, storage, and room for luggage without feeling cramped. The room was lovely...nicely decorated with touches like ice bucket, glasses, flowers. The bathroom had fluffy towels & amenities. We liked the fact that the inn is "green" and does things like recycling and has dispensers in the bathroom instead of individual bottles.

The gate house was a gorgeous old building with beautiful architecture. There is a big wrap around porch with rocking chairs. Other nice touches include homemade cookies every afternoon and a coffee and water station available to guests.

Breakfast is in the main house, which was about a 2 minute walk. Umbrellas are provided in case it's raining. The breakfasts are delicious with a choice of 4 different items each morning. You can eat in the library or out on the deck. The servers were very nice. The owner was often around chatting with guests and giving recommendations for shopping, dining, etc.

The inn is about a 5 minute walk from town.

Room Tip: The gate house is on a main street, which didn't bother us, but if you are more sensitive to noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I did a solo bicycle trip from Boston across the White Mountains and up through Middlebury to the Northeast Kingdom. My longest day ended at the Swift House Inn, and I arrived hot, sweaty, and no-doubt unpleasantly scented. As the well-heeled guests came and went, I slunk to the front desk, ashamed, but I was greeted warmly and offered a cold-glass of "anything you want"--I chose water (4 glasses of it).
From that first moment, throughout the rest of my time there, the staff went out of their way to make me comfortable, seating me early for dinner in a quiet sunroom, filling my water bottles with cold water, and storing my bike in a special bike shed.
My room was very comfortable, with a clawfoot tub and shower (well appreciated) and air-conditioning, as well as wifi. I would address the cleanliness, the luxury, the charm, but there is no point in using words to add to their perfect execution.
The owner, Dan Brown, told me stories of his own cross-country bike trip, which may explain their gracious welcome to sweaty bikers.
This inn is a standard to which all such establishments should be held. I doubt many would measure up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RC-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had another nice stay in a pretty Vermont town. The Inn manger gave us very warm welcome and walk around the property. We stayed in the garden room, small but nice. We had dinner in their restaurant. Food was very good and they have an excellent wine list. Staffs again were very friendly and helpful. Another spot to go back to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
232 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
194 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
31 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range: $140 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing