We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2007

Where do I start. The breakfasts were superb, the beds were out of this world in terms of comfort, the innkeepers were so friendly and helpful with directions and the guests were lots of fun to talk to while waiting for my teenage daughter to get out of bed. The Swift House is located on a quiet side street very close to the main part of Middlebury and it is a beautiful property. The rooms are very pretty (I think ours was the Seymour - twin beds) and clean and the sheets were crisp and clean. The bed itself was like sleeping on a cloud. Loved it - will definitely go back. And they had wonderful original art displayed from local artists which I regret not buying. Will probably contact them to purchase. Don't miss this Inn!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank red728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    47
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
149
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

We were really looking forward to staying at the Swift House Inn and we'd booked the Turret Room in the Gate House as we were taken with its unsual shape. The Gate House is a little walk away from the main Inn complex (main house and Carriage House), which was not in itself a problem, although I would agree with the previous review that the main road is quite noisy.

We were slightly disappointed, mainly due to the condition of the room. The public rooms downstairs in the Gate House, which comprised a large lounge and coffee area are charming and well furnished, but I got the impression that the bedroom could do with a bit of renovation. The wall paper was loose in a couple of places, the bathroom was by far the most basic and old fashioned (not in a quaint way) of our holiday and it was impossible to open the windows to air the room (they were sealed shut and there was a layer of rigid plastic sheeting on the outside), with the result that it got quite stuffy. The outside of the building looked a bit tired as well, with loose roof tiles and rough looking paintwork on the timbers.

The main house, where we took breakfast and dinner, seemed in much better decorative order, although I haven't seen any of the bedrooms to compare with ours. I have to say that breakfasts and our one evening meal were excellent, although when we turned up for dinner, we stood around waiting at the entrance to the restaurant and were ignored by two waiting staff.

The best thing about the Swift House was Michelle the owner, who was always friendly and happy to help. If we were to return we would may be try a room in the main house or Carriage house.

  • Liked — Michelle the owner
  • Disliked — Tired decor in our bedroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toodlepippus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2007

Loved this old Inn. Actually there are several old buildings that are in this complex. The only thing we didn't like was the room we were in (the Cartmell Room in the Gate House) was next to an intersection that had lots of traffic. It was so noisy that we could not get any sleep. If you can find a room away from the street this would be a great place to stay. There was a terrific restaurant located in one of the buildings.

  • Liked — Old house charm.
  • Disliked — Traffic noise.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank potteryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

I've just spent two glorious days at The Swift House Inn in Middlebury.
Even though it was work related it was a relaxing and wonderful stay---beautiful room that was absolutely immaculate.
Dinner was served at the Inn and if you stay and don't try the eggplant meatballs, you are missing a treat! The star of the show was the Lemon Creme Brulee. How does one lick every morsel from the dish when one is dining with others??? You'll want to!
What a breath of fresh air in the center of a lovely little town.
Dan and Michele couldn't have been more attentive--they are innkeepers extraordinaire.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2007

Visited Middlebury, VT with my wife for our anniversary. We stayed in the Garden Room. This room has a separate entrance and overlooks the grounds of the inn. The Garden Room has a private deck and feels very secluded from the rest of the inn. The room is decorated very well. The king size bed was cozy. The bathroom felt a little cramped, but was mostly clean, so nothing really to complain about. All in all the room was above average in quality and very well priced.

Food was good. We ate dinner the first night and breakfast each of our mornings. Service was timely and professional. The staff overall was very friendly and helpful.

We definitely would stay again and would recommend to our friends.

  • Liked — Room, service and food
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boboloCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsippany, nj
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights over Labor Day weekend to attend a wedding. Stayed at the Carriage house. Thr room was great, the area peaceful and the lawns were beautiful. Great dinner and the breakfast was excellent. Would love to return sometime in the future.

  • Liked — comfy bed
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benton1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
440 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2006

We stay at this Inn frequently, as our son attends Middlebury College, and enjoy it every time. The owner, Michelle, and her husband go over and above to make each guest feel welcome. The rooms are beautifully decorated and maintained. and are quite and comfortable. We especially like the Garden Room, in the back of the main house, as it has a private deck and entrance. We have never stayed in a room at the Carriage House, but prefer to stay in either the main part of the Inn or the Gate House, where the rooms cost a bit less. The grounds are pleasant and shady, with Adirondack chairs to relax and read in on warm days. The Inn is just a short walk from the center of Middlebury, a bit longer to the college. There is a pleasant bar but on the evenings when no bartender is present, the staff is uninformed on how to mix a cocktail. Breakfast at the inn is a real treat. There is always of chioce of eggs, meats, French Toast or pancakes as well as juices, cereals, breads, muffins, and plenty of hot coffee to get you going. Service is great. Our son joins us for breakfast which is a real treat for him before classes. We just love this place!!

  • Liked — Room decor, location, staff and breakfast
  • Disliked — Difficult to reserve a room on Autumn weekends
  • Tips/Secrets — For Autumn weekends, book early
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.0 mi away
Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Property: Swift House Inn
Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing