We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible traffic noise!”
Review of Swift House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swift House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2007

Loved this old Inn. Actually there are several old buildings that are in this complex. The only thing we didn't like was the room we were in (the Cartmell Room in the Gate House) was next to an intersection that had lots of traffic. It was so noisy that we could not get any sleep. If you can find a room away from the street this would be a great place to stay. There was a terrific restaurant located in one of the buildings.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank potteryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Swift House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2007

I've just spent two glorious days at The Swift House Inn in Middlebury.
Even though it was work related it was a relaxing and wonderful stay---beautiful room that was absolutely immaculate.
Dinner was served at the Inn and if you stay and don't try the eggplant meatballs, you are missing a treat! The star of the show was the Lemon Creme Brulee. How does one lick every morsel from the dish when one is dining with others??? You'll want to!
What a breath of fresh air in the center of a lovely little town.
Dan and Michele couldn't have been more attentive--they are innkeepers extraordinaire.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

Visited Middlebury, VT with my wife for our anniversary. We stayed in the Garden Room. This room has a separate entrance and overlooks the grounds of the inn. The Garden Room has a private deck and feels very secluded from the rest of the inn. The room is decorated very well. The king size bed was cozy. The bathroom felt a little cramped, but was mostly clean, so nothing really to complain about. All in all the room was above average in quality and very well priced.

Food was good. We ate dinner the first night and breakfast each of our mornings. Service was timely and professional. The staff overall was very friendly and helpful.

We definitely would stay again and would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boboloCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights over Labor Day weekend to attend a wedding. Stayed at the Carriage house. Thr room was great, the area peaceful and the lawns were beautiful. Great dinner and the breakfast was excellent. Would love to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benton1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We stay at this Inn frequently, as our son attends Middlebury College, and enjoy it every time. The owner, Michelle, and her husband go over and above to make each guest feel welcome. The rooms are beautifully decorated and maintained. and are quite and comfortable. We especially like the Garden Room, in the back of the main house, as it has a private deck and entrance. We have never stayed in a room at the Carriage House, but prefer to stay in either the main part of the Inn or the Gate House, where the rooms cost a bit less. The grounds are pleasant and shady, with Adirondack chairs to relax and read in on warm days. The Inn is just a short walk from the center of Middlebury, a bit longer to the college. There is a pleasant bar but on the evenings when no bartender is present, the staff is uninformed on how to mix a cocktail. Breakfast at the inn is a real treat. There is always of chioce of eggs, meats, French Toast or pancakes as well as juices, cereals, breads, muffins, and plenty of hot coffee to get you going. Service is great. Our son joins us for breakfast which is a real treat for him before classes. We just love this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2006

If you're looking for a quiet, colonial, classy, super clean lodging, the Swift House is the place.

It's nessled in the quaint town of Middlebury. There are three buildings--the main house (which houses the restaurant and bar), the Victorian gate house down the street, and the renovated barn.

Super clean lodging and great food is what you'll find here. The well-manicured grounds are lush and green. There are plenty of nice benches to sit and spend time throughout the property.

We've stayed at the Swift House last year and this year. You'll absolutely love it!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvtakintrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed November 15, 2003

the swift house is tucked quietly into the periphery of middlebury
vermont; a tranquil watercolor of a town. the grounds at the swift are
beautiful and reflect the rolling hills of new england. upon entering
the inn one gets the feeling that they have made the right holiday
choice. the main building and the carriage house are steeped in charm.
our room, the sherman, was spacious and elegant. all the details were
in place. dining was a joy. the chef uses international influences in a
mixture of textures and tastes that will haunt you. each night samples
are brought to your table (don't pass them up) and the crab
cake/fritter is the best i've tasted. foie gras was perfect! service
was exemplary. our waitress on the first evening was perhaps the best
i've had. gracious and professional without a trace of pretentiousness.
the swift is, in a word, wonderful. if only snow had covered the ground....

phil

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
0.3 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
228 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
188 reviews
15.8 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift House Inn

Address: 25 Stewart Ln, Middlebury, VT 05753-1248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range: $146 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swift House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 20-room former governor's mansion is Middlebury's only classic full service Vermont Country Inn and offers the essence of New England warmth. Surrounded with 4 acres of lawns and gardens, inside, candlelit dinners await you. Large, comfortable rooms offer modern amenities in period decor, some with whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary 24 hour coffee service, cookies, sauna, steam shower, comfortable wine bar and Middlebury's only accommodation where a full breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swift House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swift House Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing