We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Falmouth, Maine
12
Reviewed June 30, 2005

We stayed here on a Thursday evening after a long day of college tours. Our room was beautiful, clean, and spacious. Fridge in the room -- a nice amenity. Breakfast was included and it was one of the BEST free breakfasts we've ever encountered - eggs, potatoes, muffins, unsweetened yogurt, granola, fruit, cereals, hot oatmeal, etc. Yum. Get there by 4 or so and enjoy their complimentary tea and goodies-- we missed it unfortunately . . . . tarried too long at the college. We will definitely stay here again -- especially since Middlebury College is at the top of our daughter's college list!

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 650 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Kenosha, Wisconsin
13
Reviewed December 27, 2004

In October of this year I spent 4 days at the Middlebury Inn. It was everything the Website said it was and more. I had a very quaint and cozy room as I had requested. Liked the high ceilings and the fact that you can adjust your own heat according to your needs.

Unfortunately 2 highways run right along side of the Inn so traffic noise was constant and all night long but still managed to sleep well after the first night. Enjoyed afternoon tea and sitting on the porch, even though the weather had turned cold. Loved to watch the traffic go by and the visitors across the street in the Park.

Staff went out of their way to please you and were always very friendly. I would not hesitate to visit the Inn again in the future or recommend it to friends.

All in all, I had a very memorable time. Maybe I'll be back next Fall......

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2004

I love the Middlebury Inn! It is so classic with beautiful, lacy duvets and pillow shams on the bed, ancient plumbing fixtures in the bathrooms, and it takes imagination to get to your room.

There are no long, boring corridors to walk. This is a rambling manor house with numerous split levels. You have to go up half flights of stairs and around hidden little corners to find your room.

The staff will patiently answer any questions. The lobby looks like someone's large living room. It feels like home. This is New England hospitality at its finest!

1  Thank Tahoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank MelG0000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Vakantievrouw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
233 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
326 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
291 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range: $124 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing