We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middlebury Inn”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wonderful, beautiful Inn. Everything was GREAT. Room was perfect with a big antique bed and a jacuzzi tub. Dinner was delicious. Stay here if you love old historic buildings filled with antiques but updated with all the modern conviences.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thank you, thank you, thank you - it's wonderful that you discovered all the best of the Middlebury Inn. Please come back and see us (and tell your friends :)

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 638 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

On a 'leaf-peeping' trip to New England, my wife and I were interested in staying in small inns and B&Bs. One of the reasons we chose Middlebury was it was the setting for Bob Newhart's inn in 'Newhart'. We were not disapointed.

The inn has a main house and next door an additional mansion that is part of the complex. (There are also 'motel' style units on the property, but these should be avoided). We stayed in the adjoining mansion, built in 1825 and the rooms were very well appointed. The lobby in the main inn was very nice, the staff quite friendly and cooperative.

Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geewalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

We're happy you enjoyed your visit to Vermont, but in recognition of our neighbor, The Waybury Inn, we were not the location of the Bob Newhart Show. You did stay in the oldest building in our complex, the Porter Mansion, which was converted to an Inn many years after our main Inn opened as the Addison House in 1827. You were here at a beautiful time of the year and we thank you for your nice comments.


Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband & I enjoyed our short vacation at the Middlebury Inn. It's very well located for enjoying the charm of Middlebury and the foliage in the area. We were upgraded to a small suite which was quite comfortable and very clean. We didn't mind climbing the one flight of stairs, but there was an elevator for those who can't manage stairs. We enjoyed breakfast in the breakfast room, and we also enjoyed the complimentary afternoon coffee. The Wifi signal though adequate in the lobby is not strong enough in the guest rooms, but that was our only complaint. We also had a nice dinner in Morgan's Tavern with an excellent server, Gloria.

Room Tip: Pay for your breakfast in advance; it's a nice savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WordlyTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

We always try to upgrade as many guests as we can through our H.U.G. (Hotel UpGrade) program. It doesn't cost us anything and always makes an impression. I'm sorry you had some trouble with the WiFi signal - in a 186 year old building it's somewhat of a challenge to reach all the nooks and cranny's. And I'll be sure to pass along your appreciation to Gloria, our evening supervisor - she'll be pleased. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very good first contact on the phone for my reservation . Could not get exactly what I wanted so they offered me a little upgrade,very nice attention.
At the reception desk , again ,the staff was very kind and warm. We got there for the afternoon tea. It was great. Over six kind of tea ,delicious cookies and scones. Great start.
Our room was in the Porter House. The room was large with a small bathroom with all the necessities
All very clean. There was a small fridge in the room.
Middlebury is a nice little place and the Middlebury Inn is right in the middle of it.
I would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AventureMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Looks like you came to Vermont right at the peak of our lovely foliage this year. I'm happy that you ended up in a room that you were comfortable in and enjoyed our complimentary afternoon tea. Thanks for your kind words and by all means come back and see us again.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The inn is in a great, central location, easy walking distance to the Middlebury campus and other parts of town. The main inn building is a charming historic building and the breakfasts were very good. We stayed on the ground floor in the motel annex, though, and the rooms would have fit right in at any cheap motel on any back road in America. Minimal decor, in need of paint and carpet from sometime in the last quarter century, unframed glass mirror on the bathroom wall, toilet intermittently running all night, lumpy mattresses -- you get the picture. Not sure how to compare them with rooms in the main inn but the contrast with the main inn common spaces is stark.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

You're correct in stating that we have a great location, just steps from downtown shopping and a short walk to the College. We like to think we offer quite a lot more, but sometimes our annex rooms don't fit the bill. Of our 71 rooms, 50 are in our two historic buildings and of course, all guests are welcome to enjoy a meal or our complimentary afternoon tea in our Main Lobby and Morgan's Tavern. I appreciate your comments however and hope to see you back at a future date in a room more to your liking.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We first stayed at the Middlebury Inn in April 2012 when we visited the college campus. Now, our son is in his 2nd year and we are here at the beginning and end of each academic year, sometimes in between too. Although we have stayed at the main inn and even the Porter Mansion, our preference is the annex. Yes, the rooms are a bit older and can use updating, but we feel the convenience is worth it.

Chantal is fantastic! She has worked her magic on numerous occasions and found us exactly what needed.

And Patricia is so sweet... she greets me by name and makes me feel like a very special guest every time we have stayed here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We appreciate your loyalty and I'm pleased that Chantal and Patricia, two of our many dedicated long term employees, have made you feel welcome. I hear often that the rooms in the annex, although not of the historic nature of the main buildings, provide a convenient and comfortable option for many of our guests. You don't need to read far to see that some of our guests don't see it that way, so I'm thrilled to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time to send your comments to Trip Advisor.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

we have stayed here before. this time we stayed in the annex- part 1- (several nights)-. the part with two stories, on the second floor. this is where to stay. the rooms are always clean, they are large, they are comfortable. they could use updating- like more outlets, and better lighting. the last time we stayed it was in the annex- in the single story section. our toilet backed up. this time, another couple we traveled with stayed there-because they had a dog- and their toilet backed up as did their neighbors. obviously there is a history there. so while they do accept dogs out there, the plumbing is not reliable, the rooms are dark. the buffet breakfasts on the weekend are fabulous. fresh fruit, and wonderful granola and yogurt were my favorites. the afternoon tea is a treat, and one can walk anywhere in town from the Inn. a great plus. this is not specific to the middlebury inn- but what is it with motels/hotels that they can't figure out that two people sleeping together might want to read in bed together- and therefore need two lights? or over the bed lighting? this stay was up a notch for us from the last stay. though not for our friends across the way. the shower needs updating too. twice i banged my head on the
hand rail in the shower- white like the walls, vertical not horizontal, small, shower head could use an update as well.

Room Tip: second floor of the annex if you can do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtski48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

I'm sorry your friends stay was marred by a plumbing problem - I'm aware of the problem and believe it was fixed promptly, however that's no excuse and doesn't help your perception following your own stay previously. There is no history of this being more than an occasional unfortunate occurrence. Your other comments on your room were constructive and well thought out and I appreciate them. I also appreciate your kind words about our dining facilities and location. Thank you for using Trip Advisor.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
232 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
290 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range: $118 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing